Looking at the Leaderboard

Rank rides and fast times are what every cowboy strives for, but only the highest scores and quickest runs make the leaderboard.

As ProRodeo’s athletes grow, their scores and times tend to improve, so here’s a comparison between the leaderboard as of April 13 and the leaderboard as it stood one year ago on April 15, 2017.

The top bareback ride of the 2018 season so far belongs to Devan Reilly with his 93-point ride on Beutler & Son Rodeo’s Killer Bee in Tucson, Ariz. One year ago, the top score was 91.5 points, set by Tyler Nelson on Frontier Rodeo’s Full Baggage in San Antonio and Chad Rutherford on Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Painted River in San Angelo, Texas.

The top saddle bronc ride of the 2018 season so far belongs to Brody Cress with his 90.5-point ride on Frontier Rodeo’s Maple Leaf in Montgomery, Ala. The top score on April 15, 2017, belonged to Jesse Wright with his 90.5-point ride on Bar T Rodeo’s Bitter Dan at the RAM Wilderness Circuit Finals Rodeo in Heber City, Utah.

Bull rider Trey Benton III has the highest score of the 2018 season so far with 92 points on Beutler & Son Rodeo’s Lumberjack. One year ago, the top bull riding score was 91.5 points from Scott Schiffner on Outlaw Buckers’ Nickle Passage in Red Deer, Alberta.

The fastest steer wrestling time for the 2018 season is 2.7 seconds, made by Ty Erickson in Okeechobee, Fla. A year ago, Damian Padilla had the fastest time of the season at that point in 2.9 seconds in Fort Mohave, Ariz.

Team ropers Jake Cooper and Cody Doescher are at the top of the 2018 leaderboard with their 3.5-second run made in Tulsa, Okla. The leaderboard at this time in 2017 also had a 3.5-second time at the top, made by Cody Snow and Dugan Kelly in Waco, Texas.

The fastest tie-down roping run so far this season is 6.8 seconds, made by Marty Yates in Denver. A year ago, the fastest tie-down roping time at that point in the season was 6.6 seconds, made by Hunter Herrin in San Antonio.

Steer roper Brent Lewis has the fastest time of the 2018 season with the 8.8-second run he made in Odessa, Texas. A year ago, the fastest time was 8.3 seconds, made by Guy Allen in Mulvane, Kan.

Courtesy of PRCA