Albuquerque Game Notes

By: Heather Croze
March 17, 2016

Ben Jones is the defending Ty Murray Invitational champion. Photo: Andy Watson/

Ben Jones is the defending Ty Murray Invitational champion. Photo: Andy Watson/

LAND OF ENCHANTMENT – The PBR bucks into New Mexico for its second longest-running event with the Ty Murray Invitational presented by Sandia Resort and Casino. In 20 years at the University of New Mexico’s “The Pit,” the PBR has seen 16 athletes win the event. Ben Jones took the victory last season after going 2-for-3 on the weekend. The Ty Murray Invitational will start at 8 p.m. MT on Saturday, March 18, 7 p.m. MT on Saturday, March 19 and 4 p.m. MT on Sunday, March 20.

NEXT UP One of the most anticipated events on the 2016 Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS) schedule is coming to Sioux Falls, South Dakota for a three-day event, April 1-3. In the PBR’s first visit to the Denny Sanford PREMIER Center last year, the event sold out in record time. Mike Lee was the inaugural winner in Sioux Falls.

PAST ALBUQUERQUE EVENT WINNERS – Five former PBR World Champions have won the Ty Murray Invitational in Albuquerque, including 1996 World Champion Owen Washburn, 1999 World Champion Cody Hart, two-time World Champion Justin McBride, three-time World Champion Adriano Moraes and two-time and reigning World Champion J.B. Mauney.

2015    Ben Jones
2014    Cody Nance
2013    Joao Ricardo Vieira
2012    J.B. Mauney
2011    L.J. Jenkins
2010    Austin Meier
2009    Zack Brown
2008    L.J. Jenkins
2007    Adriano Moraes
2006    Colby Yates
2005    Justin McBride-Jake McIntyre
2004    Mike White
2003    Mike White
2002    Mike White
2001    Justin McBride
2000    Owen Washburn
1999    Cody Hart
1998    J.W. Hart
1997    Norman Curry

FORMAT – During Round 1 on Friday, Round 2 on Saturday and Round 3 on Sunday, the bull riders will face one bull each. Following Round 3 on Sunday, the Top 15 riders with the highest cumulative scores after the three rounds will advance to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round for one more ride and a chance at the event title.

POSSIBLE POINTS – There are 900 possible points available this weekend in Albuquerque, as the winner of the event will receive 500 points and each of the three round wins is worth 100 points.

TELEVISION BROADCAST – Round 3 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round of the Ty Murray Invitational will air on CBS Sports Network on Sunday at 7 p.m. ET.

PBR LIVE will also stream the entire event in real time starting on Friday at 9:30 p.m. ET, Saturday at 8:30 p.m. ET and on Sunday at 3:20 p.m. ET. PBR LIVE is now available at no charge to all fans and media. Visit to view. Fans can also watch all of the action live via the PBR LIVE app, available for download now on Google Play and iTunes.

© 2016 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.