Alves’ Record Streak Comes to an End

OKLAHOMA CITY – The all-time consecutive ride record for the Professional Bull Riders (PBR) has been set at 24.

During Friday’s Round 1 of the PBR’s Express Employment Professionals Invitational, three-time reigning PBR World Champion Silvano Alves attempted to ride Big Dip (Brewer Bucking Bulls/Shane Ludemann) hoping to record his 25th consecutive ride and extend his record-setting streak, but  after only 2.65 seconds Alves found himself on the ground. It was Big Dip’s first career Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS) out and proved to be a notable one.

Although Alves challenged that the bull hipped himself inside the bucking chute, the three-time World Champion was denied a re-ride. It was the first time Alves had been bucked off in BFTS competition since October 2014.

2013 PBR World Champion J.B. Mauney, and No. 2 ranked Matt Triplett continued their early- season momentum, tying for the Round 1 win, each recording an 89-point ride.

Mauney covered Uncle Tink (Jared Allen’s Pro Bull Team) and was then matched on the very next out by Triplett, who rode Spin Machine (Philpott Bucking Bulls). The riders both earned 80 event points for their first place tie in the round.

The pair was followed by 2010 World Champion Renato Nunes, who rode Brass Rain (TLW Bucking Bulls/Mike White) for 88.25 points. It was an important ride for Nunes, who had been bucked off in his previous six outs, and came into Oklahoma City ranked 41st in the PBR world standings. He earned 50 event points for finishing in third place.

Harve Stewart made the first qualified ride of the round with 87.50 points on Chantilly Lace (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Clay Stuve). Stewart earned 40 event points for his fourth place finish.

Stetson Lawrence rounded out the Top 5 with an 87-point ride on Destination Unknown (Lachlan/Schaaf/Bob Schaaf/Gene Baker), to earn 30 event points toward the world standings.

Round 1 of the Express Employment Professionals Invitational was also a Classic competition for the young bulls of the American Bucking Bull Incorporated (ABBI). The ABBI conducts development programs and holds events showcasing the world’s finest bucking bull stock at select BFTS and Touring Pro Division events.

Round 2 of the Express Employment Professionals Invitational takes place Saturday, Jan. 24 at 7 p.m. CT. Tickets can be purchased at all Ticketmaster outlets, or by calling 800 745 3000.

CBS Sports Network will carry all of the action of Round 2 at 10 p.m. ET on Saturday.

Fans can also watch every ride live online at

Oklahoma City – Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Round 4-Event Aggregate-Event Points)
1. Matt Triplett, 89-0-0-0-89.00-80 Points.
(tie). J. B. Mauney, 89-0-0-0-89.00-80 Points.
3. Renato Nunes, 88.25-0-0-0-88.25-50 Points.
4. Harve Stewart, 87.5-0-0-0-87.50-40 Points.
5. Stetson Lawrence, 87-0-0-0-87.00-30 Points.
6. Douglas Duncan, 86.5-0-0-0-86.50
7. Ben Jones, 85.75-0-0-0-85.75
8. Valdiron de Oliveira, 84-0-0-0-84.00
(tie). Eduardo Aparecido, 84-0-0-0-84.00
10. Nathan Schaper, 83.5-0-0-0-83.50
11. Cody Nance, 81-0-0-0-81.00
12. Stormy Wing, 79.75-0-0-0-79.75
13. Fabiano Vieira, 67.75-0-0-0-67.75
Silvano Alves, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Reese T. Cates, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Guilherme Marchi, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Chase Outlaw, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Shane Proctor, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Kasey Hayes, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Mike Lee, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0-0-0-0.00
J.W. Harris, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Bonner Bolton, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Jordan Hupp, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Tanner Byrne, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Sean Willingham, 0-0-0-0-0.00
L.J. Jenkins, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Robson Palermo, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Brady Sims, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Josh Faircloth, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Jason Malone, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Zane Lambert, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Marco Eguchi, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Gage Gay, 0-0-0-0-0.00

© 2015 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.