Barrel Racer Steals the Show at Caldwell Night Rodeo

CALDWELL, Idaho –Aug. 14, 2014 – The Caldwell Night Rodeo might not be Nancy Hunter’s favorite but it definitely is for her 14-year-old gelding Fuzz.
Hunter from Neola, Utah won this rodeo three consecutive years starting in 2010. She had some success here last year until a five-second penalty in the final round took her out of contention for a fourth title.

Hunter and Fuzz are having the best year of their career and are currently ranked fourth in the Women’s Professional Rodeo Association world standings and headed to their first Wrangler National Finals Rodeo (NFR). They placed fifth in the first round earning nearly $1,000.

They came back here Thursday night and had the fastest run of the rodeo so far at 17.07 seconds, nearly besting the arena record of 17.01 seconds set by Mary Aller in 1998. Hunter is now leading the second round and the overall standings. Her 34.47 is nearly a half-second ahead of Carmel Wright from Roy, Utah who has a total time of 34.92 on two runs.

Cody DeMoss from Heflin, La., had a solid effort in the saddle bronc riding — critical for the man who is in 17th place in the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association world standings and needs to move into the top 15 to qualify for his 10th NFR.

DeMoss rode New West Rodeo’s High Lonesome for a score of 81 putting him in second place in the round. The top 12 will qualify for Saturday night’s championship finals and DeMoss is now in good position to compete for his first Caldwell Night Rodeo championship.
Bulls were victorious once again Thursday with no qualified rides. There have just been two men who have made it to the eight-second mark here so far. Fourteen more will be here Friday attempting to change the statistics.

Rodeo competition continues here on Friday with the fourth performance beginning at 8 p.m.

CALDWELL, Idaho – The following are unofficial results from the Caldwell Night Rodeo, Thursday, August 14, 2014.

Third Performance —

Bareback Riding: 1, Will Lowe, Canyon, Texas, 77 points. 2,(tie) Jared Smith, Eastland, Texas, and Richmond Champion, The Woodlands, Texas, 74 each. 3, Kaycee Feild, Spanish Fork, Utah, 73.

Steer Wrestling: 1, Clayton Hass, Terrell, Texas, 4.8 seconds. 2, Stan Branco, Chowchilla, Calif., 5.9. 3, Nick Guy, Sparta, Wisc., 6.0. 4, Cody Kroul, Solon, Iowa, 9.6.

Team Roping: (one time) Travis Tryan, Billings, Mont., and Dugan Kelly, Paso Robles, Calif., 7.7 seconds.

Saddle Bronc Riding: 1, Cody DeMoss, Helfin, La., 81 points on New West Rodeo’s High Lonesome. 2, Jake Wright, Milford, Utah, 78. 3, (tie) Jesse Wright, Milford, Utah and Allen Boore, Axtell, Utah, 73.

Tie-Down Roping: (two times) 1, Catfish Brown, Collinsville, Texas, 18.4 seconds. 2, Lane Santos – Karney, Creston, Calif., 18.5.

Barrel Racing: 1, Nancy Hunter, Neola, Utah, 17.07 seconds. 2, Carlee Pierce, Stephenville, Texas, 17.16. 3, Brittany Kelly, Paso Robles, Calif., 17.45. 4, Pam Ross, Hilmar, Calif., 17.47.

Bull Riding: no rides

The following are current Leaders —

Bareback Riding: (first round) 1, Brian Bain, Powell Butte, Ore., 86 points on Burch Rodeo’s Jim Dandy. 2, Luke Creasy, Lubbock, Texas, 85. 3, (tie) Caleb Bennett, Tremonton, Utah, and Winn Ratliff, Leesville, La., 84. 5, Joel Schlegel, Burns, Colo., and Steven Peebles, Redmond, Ore., 79. 7, (tie) Clint Laye, Cadogan, Alberta; Orin Larsen, Inglis, Manitoba; Kash Wilson, Gooding, Idaho; Jessy Davis, Power, Mont.; and Will Lowe, Canyon, Texas; 77.

Steer Wrestling: (second round) 1, Billy Bugenig, Ferndale, Calif., 4.0. 2, Trygve Pugh, Ponoka, Alberta, 4.1. 3, Jule Hazen, Ashland, Kan., 4.2. 4, (tie) Beau Clark, Belgrade, Mont.; Andy Weldon, Greenleaf, Idaho; Rowdy Parrott, Mamou, La.; and Riley Duvall, Checotah, Okla.; 4.7 each. (total on two) 1, K.C. Jones, Decatur, Texas, 8.9. 2, Billy Bugenig, Ferndale, Calif., 9.1. 3, Dakota Eldridge, Elko, Nev., 9.5. 4, Stan Branco, Chowchilla, Calif., 10.4. 5, Blake Knowles, Heppner, Ore., 10.7. 6, (tie) Clayton Hass, Terrell, Texas, and Wyatt Smith, Rexburg, Idaho, 10.9 each. 8, Dru Melvin, Hebron, Neb., 11.1.

Team Roping: (second round) 1, Rhen Richard, Roosevelt, Utah and Jeremy Buhler, Arrowwood, Alberta, 4.3 seconds. 2, (tie) Billy Bob Brown, Stephenville, Texas, and Cesar de la Cruz, Tucson, Ariz.; and Chace Thompson, Munday, Texas, and Jett Hillman, Jones, Okla.; 4.4. 4, Spencer Mitchell, Colusa, Calif., and Russell Cardoza, Terrebonne, Ore., 4.5. (total on two) 1, Brandon Beers, Powell Butte, Ore., and Jim Ross Cooper, Monument, N.M., 9.8. 2, (tie) Rob and Dan Webb, Wendell, Idaho; and Chace Thompson, Munday, Texas, and Jett Hillman, Jones, Okla.; 10.0. 4, Charly Crawford, Prineville, Ore., and Shay Carroll, La Junta, Colo., 11.1. 5, Drew Horner, Plano, Texas, and Buddy Hawins II, Columbus, Kan., 11.2. 6,(tie) Lane Santos Karney, Creston, Calif., and Jordan Ketscher, Squaw Valley, Calif.; and Travis Tryan, Billings, Mont., and Dugan Kelly, Paso Robles, Calkif., 12.5 each. 8, Blake Knowles, Heppner, Ore., and Tex Sutfin, Homedale, Idaho, 12.7.

Saddle Bronc Riding: (first round)1, Taos Muncy, Corona, N.M., 84 points on Burch Rodeo’s Family Tradition. 2, (tie) Jacobs Crawley, Stephenville, Texas, and Cody DeMoss, Heflin, La., 81 each. 4, (tie) Jeremy Ray Melancon, Huntsville, Texas, and Joaquin Real, Woody, Calif., 79. 6, Jake Wright, Milford, Utah, 78. 7, (tie) Cody Taton, Corona, N.M.; Cody Wright, Milford, Utah; and Dusty Hasauer, Dickinson, N.D., 77.

Tie-Down Roping: (second round) 1, Cimarron Boardman, Stephenville, Texas, 7.8 seconds. 2, Tuf Cooper, Decatur, Texas, 7.9. 3, Roger Nonella, Klamath Falls, Ore., 8.3. 4, (tie) Timber Moore, Aubrey, Texas, and Trent Creager, Stillwater, Okla., 8.4 each. (total on two) 1, Tuf Cooper, Decatur, Texas, 16.6. 2, Ryan Jarrett, Comanche, Okla., 17.0. 3, J.C. Malone, Hooper, Utah, 17.3. 4, Clif Cooper, Decatur, Texas, 18.1. 5, (tie) Timber Moore, Aubrey, Texas, and Nate Baldwin, Blackfoot, Idaho, 18.4 each. 7, Marshall Leonard, Shongaloo, La., 18.5. 8, Roger Nonella, Klamath Falls, Ore., 18.9.

Barrel Racing: (second round) 1, Nancy Hunter, Neola, Utah, 17.07 seconds. 2, Carlee Pierce, Stephenville, Texas, 17.16. 3, Jody Sheffield, Ogden, Utah, 17.24. 4, Brenda Mays, Terrebonne, Ore., 17.36. (total on two) 1, Nancy Hunter, Neola, Utah, 34.47. 2, Carmel Wright, Roy, Utah, 34.92. 3, Brenda Mays, Terrebonne, Ore., 35.03. 4, Pamela Capper, Cheney, Wash., 35.05. 5, Jody Sheffield, Ogden, Utah, 34.92. 6, Carley Richardson, Pampa, Texas, 35.10. 7, Jessi Fish, Franklin, Tenn., 35.27. 8, Pam Ross, Hilmar, Calif., 35.29.

Bull Riding: (first round – two rides) 1, Reid Barker, Comfort, Texas, 83 points on Powder River Rodeo’s Jugs. 2, Tyler Smith, Fruita, Colo., 76.

Courtesy of PRCA