Casper Wins Monster Energy Tour Event in Ottawa

By: Kacie Albert
June 09, 2017

Cody Casper earned his first PBR Canada Monster Energy Tour victory in Ottawa. Photo: Covy Moore

OTTAWA – Cody Casper (Pacific, Washington) earned his first PBR victory in Canada’s capital as he was the only rider to earn a qualified ride in the championship round at the PBR Canada Monster Energy Tour’s second stop of the 2017 season.

Casper bucked off Little Anthony (Cornwell Bucking Bulls) in 7.6 seconds during Round 1, but he stayed on long enough to earn himself a spot in the championship round after there were only four qualified rides in Round 1.

With the pressure on, the 24-year-old then rode Captain (Mike Miller/Torres Bros) for 88 points in the championship round before Justin Lloyd, Zane Lambert, Cole Young and Brock Radford all bucked off their final bulls of the evening.

The win is Casper’s first victory in the PBR and earned him $5,945.93 and 450 points toward the PBR Canada National Standings. He is now fourth in the Canadian standings, just 325 points back from fellow Washington native and PBR Canada No.1 Derek Kolbaba (Walla Walla, Washington).

Casper also earned 80 points toward the world standings and moves up to No. 69 in the world rankings.

Lloyd (Tisdale, Saskatchewan) was the event’s highest-finishing Canadian with his second-place finish. Lloyd, who double entered, bucked off his first bull of the event Devil Dog (Mike Miller Bucking Bulls) in 1.2 seconds. With his second draw of the round, Lloyd rode Wild Mexican (Rafter P) for 85 points and the Round 1 win.

The 29-year-old’s Round 1 performance earned him a spot in the championship round, where he bucked off Pneu-Dart’s Doomsday (Mike Miller Bucking Bulls).

The finish was Lloyd’s best so far in the 2017, and it earned him $3,611.91 and 240 points toward the PBR Canada National Standings – where he is now ranked No. 14. Lloyd earned 50 world points and is now the third-highest ranked Canadian at No. 57.

Zane Lambert (Ponoka, Alberta), who also double entered, tied for third place with Young. In the third out of the night, the 2013 PBR Canada champion combined with Pneu-Dart’s Southern Style (Mike Miller Bucking Bulls) for 84.5 points.

Despite bucking off his second draw of the night, Kill Switch (Rafter P), Lambert’s 7.17 seconds aboard the bull was enough to earn him a second spot in the championship round.

In the championship round, after bucking off Roman (Bar D / Rawhide Rodeo), he earned a re-ride aboard his second draw, but instead of riding a new bull, he elected to attempt the same bull, Drifter (Mike Miller/Torres Bros), once again. Lambert, however, did not make a qualified ride.

Lambert earned $2,007.26 and 135 points toward the Canadian standings, where he rose from No. 11 to No. 7. He also earned 25 world points and is tied at No. 94 in the world standings.

Tied for third with Lambert was Young (Fairview, Alberta). Young rode True Grit (Mike Miller Bucking Bulls) for 84.5 points in Round 1, but he bucked off Sarge (Mike Miller Bucking Bulls) in the championship round.

Young’s finish also earned him $2,007.26 and 135 points toward the Canadian standings, where he now ranks No. 20.

Rounding out the Top 5 was Brock Radford (Dewinton, Alberta). Radford rode Colt .45 (Mike Miller Bucking Bulls) for 84 points in Round 1, but he didn’t make the 8 seconds aboard Funky Junk (Mike Miller/Torres Bros) in the championship round.

Radford now ranks No. 8 in the PBR Canada National Standings after earning $1,015.30 and 85 points toward the world standings.

PBR Canada’s Monster Energy Tour makes its next stop June 24 in Toronto.

Professional Bull Riders
Ottawa Monster Energy Tour
(Round 1-Round 2-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Cody Casper, 0-88-88.00-80 Points – $5,945.93
2. Justin Lloyd  [2], 85-0-85.00-50 Points – $3,611.91
3. Zane Lambert  [1], 84.5-0-84.50-25 Points – $2,007.26
(tie). Cole Young  [1], 84.5-0-84.50-25 Points – $2,007.26
5. Brock Radford  [1], 84-0-84.00-15 Points – $1,015.30
Dakota Buttar, 0-0-0.00
Josh Faircloth, 0-0-0.00
Michael Lane, 0-0-0.00
Justin Lloyd  [1], 0-0-0.00
Brock Radford  [2], 0-0-0.00
Thor Hoefer II  [1], 0-0-0.00
Thor Hoefer II  [2], 0-0-0.00
Zane Lambert  [2], 0-0-0.00
Jackson Scott, 0-0-0.00
Jake Gardner, 0-0-0.00
Wacey Finkbeiner, 0-0-0.00
Nick Goncalves, 0-0-0.00
Emerson Moulton, 0-0-0.00
Dusty McMullen  [1], 0-0-0.00
A.J. Vaal, 0-0-0.00
Todd Chotowetz  [1], 0-0-0.00
Casey Berg, 0-0-0.00
Cawl Braithwaite, 0-0-0.00
Coleton Matheson, 0-0-0.00
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0-0.00
Cole Young  [2], 0-0-0.00
Will Loomis, 0-0-0.00
Cody Heal, 0-0-0.00
Todd Chotowetz  [2], 0-0-0.00
Dusty McMullen  [2], 0-0-0.00

To learn more about PBR Canada, check out

© 2017 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.