Colorado Native Represents Texas College at College National Finals Rodeo Well

CASPER, Wyo. (June 16, 2015) – After three years of competing in the breakaway roping for Western Texas College (Snyder), Tamara Tunink from Fowler, Colo., finally qualified for her first College National Finals Rodeo (CNFR).

She came into the Casper Events Center with renewed confidence after being reserve champion in the Southwest Region of the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association. That confidence has served her well as she took the early lead in her signature event with a total time of 9.1 seconds on three head. Her fastest of three runs here was in the first round last Sunday where she stopped the clock in 2.6 seconds. That tied her for eighth place.

She came back during slack competition with a 3.1. Then on Tuesday night, she had a 3.4. Last year, a total time of 9.1 qualified for the finals here in fourth place, so Tunink is looking good for a championship round qualification this year.

“She is the kind of student athlete that you want,” her coach Greg Rhodes said. “She works as hard in the classroom as she does in the arena. She’s on-time, dedicated and willing to do anything. She throws a perfect loop and I’m pleased to see her confident and doing well here.”

Tunink is majoring in ag business and plans to transfer to Texas Tech University next fall to complete her education. She has one year of eligibility left and will be hoping for a second CNFR qualification next year.

Clark Adcock from the University of Tennessee – Martin is having a great CNFR. Adcock who just received his Bachelor’s degree is leading the overall standings in the tie-down roping with a total time of 33.6 seconds. He was also successful in two rounds of team roping. He has his third team roping run on Friday and is in great shape to make the finals in two events. Adcock also leads the men’s all-around standings with 175 points so far.

Competition continues here on Wednesday with the second performance beginning at 7 p.m.

CASPER, Wyo.–The following are results from Tuesday slack at the College National Finals Rodeo, June 16, 2015, courtesy of the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association. Complete results are available at

Bareback Riding: (second round winners) 1, Tim O’Connell, Missouri Valley College, 82. 2, Blake Smith, Dickinson State University, 77. 3, Deven Reilly, Tarleton State University, 76. 4, (tie) Justin Pollmiller, Southwestern Oklahoma State University, and Austin Graham, Fort Scott Community College, 75.5 each. 6, Dylan Wahlert, Casper College, 75.0. 7, Neil Williams, III, Casper College, 73.5. 8, Cole Picton, Missouri Valley College, 73.0.

Steer wrestling: (second round winners) 1, Nic Nyman, Walla Walla Community College, 4.7. 2, (tie) Calder Johnston, South Dakota State University; Cade Goodman, Wharton County Junior College; and Benjamin Cox, Southern Arkansas University, 4.8 each. 5, Jacob Edler, Western Oklahoma State College, 5.0. 6, Clayton Hansen, Blue Mountain Community College, 5.4. 7, Cody Wadsworth, Utah State University, 5.8. 8, Jace Melvin, Tarleton State University, 6.1.

Breakaway Roping: (second round winners) 1, (tie) Cheyenne Sherwood, Central Arizona College, and Kory McCuiston, Three Rivers College, 2.3 each. 3, (tie) Rylee Dick, Odessa College, and Macy Fuller, Central Arizona College, 2.4. 5, (tie) KeAnn Kelber, Southwestern Oklahoma State University, and Cheree Cooper, University of West Alabama, 2.5. 7, (tie) Kylee Streeter, Walla Walla Community College and Kimberlyn Fitch, Idaho State University, 2.6.

Saddle Bronc Riding: (second round winners) 1. Philip Shields, University of Montana – Western, 74.5 points. 2, Rusty Wright, College of Southern Idaho, 70.5. 3, Hawkins Boyce, Odessa College, 69.0. 4, Clay Elliott, Panhandle State University, 68.5. 5, (tie) Carson Hamilton, College of Southern Idaho, and Kendall Green, Montana State University, 67.5. 7, (tie) Shade Etbauer, Panhandle State University, and Cole Hatfield, Hill College, 67.

Tie-Down Roping: (second round winners) 1, Blane Cox, Hill College, 7.9 seconds. 2, Colton Farquer, Cal Poly State University – San Luis Obispo, 8.9. 3, Landon Williams, Tarleton State University, 9.1. 4, (tie) Jared Parke, Blue Mountain Community College, and Taylor Santos – Karney, Cal Poly State University – San Luis Obispo, 9.2 each. 6, Jordan Tye, Blue Mountain Community College, 9.7. 7, (tie) Marshal Peterson, South Dakota State University, and Luke Malcomb, University of Nevada – Las Vegas, 9.9.

Team Roping: (second round winners) 1, Tristan Ruffoni and Dalton Pearce, Cuesta College, 5.4. 2, Forrest Fisher, Hill College, and Trace Porter, McNeese State University, 5.5. 3, (tie) Jacob Dagenhart and Zack Mabry, University of Tennessee – Martin; and Clark Adcock and Lane Mitchell, University of Tennessee – Martin, 5.8 seconds each. 5, Jordan Tye and Austin Thompson, Blue Mountain Community College, 6.5. 6, (tie) Kolton Schmidt, Southeastern Oklahoma State University and Sawyer Barham, Coffeyville College; Hunter Munsell and Douglas Rich, Western Oklahoma State College; Jim Dalton, Treasure Valley Community College and Tucker Hill, Walla Walla Community College, 6.7 each.

Barrel Racing: (second round winners) 1, Ari-Anna Flynn, Southeastern Oklahoma State University, 13.79 seconds. 2, Danyelle Williams, Blue Mountain Community College, 13.90. 3, Callahan Crossley, Blue Mountain Community College, 13.95. 4, Randi Buchanan, Panhandle State University, 13.98. 5, Nealey Dalton, University of Tennessee – Martin, 14.03. 6, Kaitlyn Prentice, Sam Houston State University, 14.13. 8, Abby Persifull, Texas A & M University – Commerce, 14.14.

Goat Tying: (second round winners) 1, Loni Pearce, Southern Arkansas University, 6.2 seconds. 2, Bailey Bidwell, Feather River College, 6.3. 3, (tie) Kirsten Smith, McNeese State University and Paxton Segelke, Northeastern Junior College, 6.4 each. 5, Justinn Marshall, University of Montana – Western , 6.5. 6, (tie) K.L. Spratt, Sam Houston State University; Hayden Todd, Eastern New Mexico State University, 6.6. 8, (tie) Lauren Barnes, Northwestern Oklahoma State University and Makayla Boots, Cochise College, 6.7.

Bull Riding: (second round winners – six rides) 1, Winston Cheek, Eastern Mississippi Community College, 76.5 points. 2, Gray Essary, Ranger College, 75.5. 3, Trasen Jones, College of Southern Idaho, 73.0. 4, Drew Antone, Casper College, 71.5. 5, Josh Frost, Panhandle State University, 66.5. 6, Joe Frost, Panhandle State University, 65.5.