Corley, Polhamus, Brooks to Share WNFR Announcing Duties

by | Sep 16, 2014

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Randy Corley, Boyd Polhamus and Wayne Brooks, the winners of the last three Announcer of the Year Awards – the PRCA’s own Dream Team – will again share time on the microphone at the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo this December.

They were among the contract personnel selected Sept. 15 by the 14-member National Finals Rodeo Committee to work the Wrangler NFR in Las Vegas Dec. 4-13 and the Clem McSpadden National Finals Steer Roping in Mulvane, Kan., Nov. 7-8.

The announcers bring to bear a resume that has a combined 17 Announcer of the Year awards – including a record 10 for Corley – and 36 Wrangler NFR appearances. Polhamus has worked the WNFR 18 times, including the last 15 in a row.

Charlie Throckmorton will return for his 13th consecutive stint as an announcer for the NFSR, being joined this year by Jody Carper, who also partnered with him in 2008.
The full list of selections follows, apart from the bullfighters, barrelman and pickup men, who will be announced next month when a separate voting procedure has been completed.

2014 Wrangler National Finals Rodeo
Announcers – Boyd Polhamus, Randy Corley and Wayne Brooks
Office Manager – Vickie Shireman
Secretary – Sunni Deb Backstrom
Assistant Secretary – Jackie Higlin
Timers – Sherry Rice-Gibson, Tammy Braden and Jessi Franzen
Chute Bosses – Tony Amaral and Tom Neuens
Livestock Superintendent – John Barnes
Assistant Livestock Superintendent – Ryan Brown

2014 National Finals Steer Roping
Announcers – Jody Carper and Charlie Throckmorton
Secretary – Sandy Gwatney
Timers – TiAda Wise and Shawna Ray
Pick-Up Man – Butch Braden
Chute Boss – John Gwatney

Courtesy of PRCA