Game notes: Albuquerque

By: Jordan Marie Johnson March 20, 2014@ 02:00:00 PM

L.J. Jenkins won the Ty Murray Invitational in 2011 and 2008. Photo by Andy Watson /

18 STRAIGHT – New Mexico welcomes back the Built Ford Tough Series for the 18th year in a row as the Ty Murray Invitational takes place at The Pit this weekend. Competition will begin at 8 p.m. on Friday, March 21, 7:50 p.m. on Saturday, March 22, and 1:50 p.m. on Sunday, March 23.

UP NEXT – The BFTS makes its third stop in California this season next week for the Table Mountain Casino Invitational. Save Mart Center in Fresno will buck bulls on Friday, March 28, at 8 p.m. and Saturday, March 29, at 6:50 p.m.

PAST ALBUQUERQUE EVENT WINNERS – Four former Rookie of the Year recipients have won the Ty Murray Invitational while in Albuquerque, including 1994 Rookie of the Year J.W. Hart, 1999 Rookie of the Year Mike White – who won the event three consecutive years (2002-2004) – and 2006 Rookie of the Year J.B. Mauney. Reigning Albuquerque event champion Joao Ricardo Vieira is the only Rookie of the Year to win this event in the same year as earning the rookie title.

2013    Joao Ricardo Vieira
2012    J.B. Mauney
2011    L.J. Jenkins
2010    Austin Meier
2009    Zack Brown
2008    L.J. Jenkins
2007    Adriano Moraes
2006    Colby Yates
2005    Justin McBride and Jake McIntyre
2004    Mike White
2003    Mike White
2002    Mike White
2001    Justin McBride
2000    Owen Washburn
1999    Cody Hart
1998    J.W. Hart
1997    Norman Curry

FORMAT – This weekend, the Top 35 bull riders on the BFTS will compete in Round 1 on Friday night, Round 2 on Saturday night and Round 3 on Sunday afternoon, facing one bull in each round. The riders with the Top 15 scores after three rounds will advance to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round on Sunday for an additional ride and a chance at the $30,000 event title.

POSSIBLE POINTS – There are 1,200 possible points available in Albuquerque, as the winner of the event will receive 400 points and each of the four round wins is worth 100 points plus the ride score.

PROVIDING PROTECTION – The Dickies® Bullfighters this weekend are Jesse Byrne of Okotoks, Alberta; Shorty Gorham of Cotulla, Texas; and Lyndel Runyan of Sulphur, Okla.

TELEVISION BROADCAST – PBR LIVE will broadcast the Ty Murray Invitational at 10 p.m. ET on Friday, March 21, 9:50 p.m. ET on Saturday, March 22, and 3:50 p.m. ET on Sunday, March 23.

The Ty Murray Invitational will be broadcast on CBS Sports Network Saturday, March 22, at 11 p.m. ET and live on Sunday, March 23, at 4 p.m. ET. The broadcast will have Craig Hummer providing play-by-play, color commentary from Ty Murray and dirt-level interviews will be handled by Leah Garcia.

Both Saturday and Sunday will be PURE PBR broadcasts that will also include commentary from Dickies® Bullfighter Shorty Gorham. The PURE PBR broadcasts provide a new approach, including everything from candid moments between rides to various opportunities for the broadcasters to not only explain, but also visually illustrate whatever point they’re trying to make. Expect Hummer, Hart and Gorham to take viewers inside the world of the PBR, spending one-on-one time with riders before their respective rides and giving viewers a chance to listen in on the one-of-a-kind conversation.


© 2014 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.