Game Notes: Des Moines

Guilherme Marchi is currently the No. 1 ranked rider in the world. Photo by Andy Watson /

SEVENTH HEAVEN – The PBR’s Built Ford Tough Series bucks into Iowa for the seventh year in a row as the Wells Fargo Arena hosts the Des Moines Invitational, presented by Cooper Tires. Competition begins at 8 p.m. on Saturday, April 26, and 2:50 p.m. on Sunday, April 27.

UP NEXT – The Built Ford Tough Rumble in the Rockies will take place May 2-4 at the World Arena as the PBR makes its way home to Colorado. The event will take place in Colorado Springs on Friday, May 2, at 8 p.m., Saturday, May 3, at 6:50 p.m. and Sunday, May 4 at 1:50 p.m.

PAST DES MOINES EVENT WINNERS – Three current BFTS riders have won previously while in Iowa, including 2013 Rookie of the Year Joao Ricardo Vieira, 2004 World Champion Mike Lee and 2008 World Champion Guilherme Marchi. Here is a complete list of previous winners in Des Moines:

2013    Joao Ricardo Vieira
2012    Robson Palermo
2011    Chris Shivers
2010    Mike Lee
2009    Travis Briscoe
2008    Guilherme Marchi

FORMAT – This weekend, the Top 35 bull riders on the BFTS will compete in Round 1 on Saturday and Round 2 on Sunday, facing one bull in each round. The riders with the Top 15 scores after two rounds will advance to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round on Sunday for an additional ride and a chance at the $30,000 event title.


Jan. 25 in Oklahoma City, Okla. ~ Marco Eguchi won with a 90.75-point ride on Rango

Feb. 8 in Anaheim, Calif. ~ Joao Ricardo Vieira won with a 90.75-point ride on Shepherd Hills Stockman

March 28 in Fresno, Calif. ~ Silvano Alves won with an 89.5-point ride onRango

April 4 in Boise, Idaho ~ Fabiano Vieira won with an 89.25-point ride onCowtown Slinger

April 11 in Billings, Mont. ~ Gage Gay won with a 91.50-point ride onPercolator

May 3 in Colorado Springs, Colo., will air on CBS May 4 at 2 pm ET

POSSIBLE POINTS – There are 900 possible points available in Des Moines as the winner of the event will receive 300 points and each of the three round wins is worth 100 points plus the ride score.

PROVIDING PROTECTION – The Dickies® Bullfighters this weekend are Jesse Byrne of Okotoks, Alberta; Shorty Gorham of Cotulla, Texas; and Lyndel Runyan of Sulphur, Okla.

TELEVISION BROADCAST – PBR LIVE will broadcast the Des Moines Invitational at 9 p.m. ET on Saturday, April 26, and at 3:50 p.m. ET on Sunday, April 27.

Round 2 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round will be broadcast on CBS Sports Network Sunday, April 27, at 4 p.m. ET

The broadcast will have Craig Hummer providing play-by-play, color commentary from J.W. Hart and dirt-level interviews will be handled by Leah Garcia.

Sunday will be a PURE PBR broadcast that will also include commentary from Dickies® Bullfighter Shorty Gorham. The PURE PBR broadcasts provide a new approach, including everything from candid moments between rides to various opportunities for the broadcasters to not only explain, but also visually illustrate the point they’re trying to make. Expect Hummer, Hart and Gorham to take viewers inside the world of the PBR, spending one-on-one time with riders before their respective rides and giving viewers a chance to listen in on the one-of-a-kind conversation.

BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR by David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer and creative lead.

Get the rest of this weekend’s game notes HERE


© 2014 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.