Game Notes: Springfield


SPRING BACK INTO MISSOURI – The Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series heads back to Missouri this weekend for the sixth annual Invitational presented by Bass Pro. The competition will take place at JQH Arena beginning at 8 p.m. on Friday, Sept. 12, 7 p.m. on Saturday, Sept. 13, and 4:50 p.m. on Sunday, Sept. 14.

UP NEXT – The Desert Showdown presented by Cooper Tires is up next, as the PBR revisits Laughlin, Nevada, for the first time in 10 years. The event will take place at the Laughlin Event Center on Friday, Sept. 19, at 8 p.m. and Saturday, Sept. 20, at 7 p.m.

PAST SPRINGFIELD EVENT WINNERS – Three past PBR World Champions have won while in Springfield, including defending World Champion J.B. Mauney. Last year, then-rookie Claudio Crisostomo competed in and won his first event ever on the Built Ford Tough Series.

2013 Claudio Crisostomo

2012 Cody Johnson

2011 Silvano Alves

2010 J.B. Mauney

2009 Guilherme Marchi

FORMAT – This weekend, the Top 35 bull riders on the BFTS will compete in Round 1 on Friday night, Round 2 on Saturday night and Round 3 on Sunday night, facing one bull in each round. The riders with the Top 15 scores after three rounds will advance to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round on Sunday for an additional ride and a chance at the $30,000 event title.

POSSIBLE POINTS – There are a maximum of 1,200 possible points available during the Invitational. The winner of each round will receive 100 points plus their ride score with a maximum of three rounds. The event winner will receive 400 points.

PROVIDING PROTECTION – The Dickies® Bullfighters this weekend are Jesse Byrne of Okotoks, Alberta; Shorty Gorham of Cotulla, Texas; and Frank Newsom of Paoli, Okla.

TELEVISION BROADCAST – PBR LIVE on will broadcast the Invitational presented by Bass Pro at 9 p.m. ET on Friday, Sept. 12, at 8 p.m. ET on Saturday, Sept. 13, and 5:50 p.m. on Sunday, September 14.

CBS Sports Network will carry Round 3 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round on Sunday, Sept. 14 at 6 p.m. ET. The broadcast will feature Craig Hummer providing play-by-play, color commentary from two-time PBR World Champion Justin McBride, while dirt-level interviews will be handled by Leah Garcia.

BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR by David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer and creative lead.


© 2014 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.