Gay wins Round 2 of Stanley Performance in Action Invitational

By: Jordan Marie Johnson April 13, 2014@ 12:05:00 AM

Gage Gay is tied for eighth in the Billings, Mont., event average. Photo by Andy Watson /

BILLINGS, Mont. ― Rookie Gage Gay extended his success at Rimrock Auto Arena Saturday with the highest score of the night, 87 points on Good News (Silver Creek Pro Rodeo), during Round 2 of the Stanley Performance in Action Invitational, part of the 2014 Built Ford Tough Series..

“It felt really good to win the 15/15 Bucking Battle last night and have that success carry over to tonight with a round win,” said Gay.

Veteran Kasey Hayes leads the event after two rounds of competition in Billings with 171.5 points, including an 86.25-point effort on Shark Bait (Franklin Rodeo Stock).

Montana native Matt Triplett is currently in second place (169.75 points overall) with his third qualified ride on the weekend after earning 84 points on his re-ride bull Get Smacked (Red Knection). Triplett is 2-for-2 in the event average and had previously rode Mr. Bull for 90.5 points on Friday night during the 15/15 Bucking Battle.

Cody Nance sits in third place with165.5 points after notching 78.75 points on HIGH Steaks (Jeff Robinson/Cappello) and turning down his re-ride option.

Two-time PBR World Champion Silvano Alves rode Crystal Pistol (Wolf Creek Cattle Co./Lost Creek Ranch) for 84 points and is in fourth place.Jordan Hupp, who is trying to battle his way back into the Top 30 of the world standings, rounds out the Top 5 after riding Red Bird (Red Eye Rodeo) for 75.75 points. Like Nance, Hupp turned down his re-ride option to keep the points.

Round 3 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round of the Stanley Performance in Action Invitational will take place Sunday  beginning at 1:50 p.m. CBS Sports Network will broadcast both rounds live, beginning at 3:50 p.m. ET.

The Rimrock Auto Arena is the 15th stop of 27 on the 2014 PBR Built Ford Tough Series schedule. The season kicked off Jan. 3-5 at Madison Square Garden in New York and will conclude at the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 22-26, when the 2014 PBR World Champion, the bull rider who earns the most points during the 2014 season, will receive the coveted World Championship belt buckle and $1 million bonus.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
Stanley Performance in Action Invitational
Rimrock Auto Arena in Billings, Mont.
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Event Points)

1. Kasey Hayes, 85.25-86.25-171.50 points.
2. Matt Triplett, 85.75-84-169.75 points.
3. Cody Nance, 86.75-78.75-165.50 points.
4. Silvano Alves, 81-84-165.00 points.
5. Jordan Hupp, 81.75-75.75-157.50 points.
6. Guytin Tsosie, 88-0-88.00 points.
(tie). Harve Stewart, 88-0-88.00 points.
8. Gage Gay, 0-87-87.00 points.
(tie). J.W. Harris, 87-0-87.00 points.
10. Markus Mariluch, 0-86.5-86.50 points.
11. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 86-0-86.00 points.
12. Eduardo Aparecido, 85-0-85.00 points.
13. Emilio Resende, 84.5-0-84.50 points.
14. Dakota Louis, 84.25-0-84.25 points.
15. Sean Willingham, 84-0-84.00 points.
16. Ryan Dirteater, 0-83.5-83.50 points.
17. Kody Lostroh, 83-0-83.00 points.
18. Guilherme Marchi, 0-82.5-82.50 points.
(tie). L.J. Jenkins, 0-82.5-82.50 points.
20. Ty Pozzobon, 81.5-0-81.50 points.
21. Tanner Learmont, 81.25-0-81.25 points.
22. Tanner Byrne, 81-0-81.00 points.
Brady Sims, 0-0-0.00 points.
Claudio Crisostomo, 0-0-0.00 points.
Douglas Duncan, 0-0-0.00 points.
Fabiano Vieira, 0-0-0.00 points.
Mike Lee, 0-0-0.00 points.
Nick Volden, 0-0-0.00 points.
Pistol Robinson, 0-0-0.00 points.
Renato Nunes, 0-0-0.00 points.
Robson Palermo, 0-0-0.00 points.
Shay Marks, 0-0-0.00 points.
Stormy Wing, 0-0-0.00 points.
Travis Briscoe, 0-0-0.00 points.
Tyler Harr, 0-0-0.00 points.
Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-0-0.00 points.
Zane Lambert, 0-0-0.00 points.


© 2014 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.