Lane, Gay Split Round 1 at Last Cowboy Standing

LAS VEGAS – Professional Bull Riders (PBR) sophomore Gage Gay and Michael Lane, who notched his first ride on the Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS) on Friday night, split Round 1 of Last Cowboy Standing at MGM Resorts Village.

Last Cowboy Standing is the second PBR Major of the season, which includes 1.5 times more PBR world points than at a regular BFTS event and an increase in prize money with $180,000 guaranteed to the winner, including the $100,000 Bad Boy Mowers Bonus.

Gay and Lane both posted 88-point efforts atop Recovery Time (Paige Stout Bucking Bulls) and Gentleman Jim (J.A.R.S. Bucking Bulls/Gene Owen), respectively, to receive 120 world points apiece.

Current No. 1 bull rider in the PBR world standings Joao Ricardo Vieira earned 87.5 points on KISS Animalize (Jeff Robinson/B&M Bucking Bulls) to tie rookie Cooper Davis who covered Heavy Dose (Bar 3D Bucking Bulls) for third place. Each rider earned 67.5 points towards the world standings.

Current No. 2 rider in the world Matt Triplett picked up 87 points after making the 8-second whistle on LL Cool J (Tugger X Bucking Bulls/LL Cool J) to round out the Top 5 on the night for 45 world points.

Round 2 of Last Cowboy Standing will start at 6 p.m. PT on Saturday, May 23.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. The final rounds will be aired during a two-hour broadcast on CBS Television Network on Sunday at 1 p.m. ET.

Last Cowboy Standing is the headlining event of the PBR’s three-day Cowboy Spring Break celebration, which kicks off Memorial Day weekend on Friday, May 22, and runs through Sunday, May 24. Surrounded by concerts, pools, water entertainment, volleyball fun, VIP parties and more, Last Cowboy Standing is the central activity taking place within the Monster Energy Cowboy Festival, located in MGM Resorts Village.

Las Vegas is the 18th of 27 stops on the 2015 PBR Built Ford Tough Series schedule. The season will culminate with the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 21-25 when the 2015 PBR World Champion, the bull rider who earns the most points during the 2015 season, will receive the coveted World Championship belt buckle and a $1 million bonus.

BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

2015 Professional Bull Riders – Last Cowboy Standing
Las Vegas – MGM Resorts Village
Event Leaders (Round 1-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Gage Gay, 88-88-120 Points.
(tie). Michael Lane, 88-88-120 Points.
3. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 87.5-87.50-67.5 Points.
(tie). Cooper Davis, 87.5-87.50-67.5 Points.
5. Matt Triplett, 87-87-45 Points.
6. Reese Cates, 86.25-86.25
(tie). Cody Heffernan, 86.25-86.25
8. Shane Proctor, 86-86
(tie). Neil Holmes, 86-86
10. Tyler Harr, 85.25-85.25
(tie). Dakota Louis, 85.25-85.25
12. Billy Robinson, 85-85
13. Bryan Titman, 84.75-84.75
14. Jordan Hupp, 84.25-84.25
15. Marco Eguchi, 84-84
16. Fabiano Vieira, 83.5-83.50
17. Cody Nance, 83-83
18. Tanner Byrne, 82.75-82.75
19. Nathan Schaper, 82.25-82.25
20. Kaique Pacheco, 82-82
(tie). J.B. Mauney, 82-82
22. Stetson Lawrence, 81.75-81.75
(tie). Dallee Mason, 81.75-81.75
24. Guthrie Long, 80.5-80.50
Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-0
Guilherme Marchi, 0-0
Ben Jones, 0-0
Mike Lee, 0-0
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0
Mason Lowe, 0-0
Robson Aragao, 0-0
Stormy Wing, 0-0
Bonner Bolton, 0-0
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0
Aaron Roy, 0-0
Brady Sims, 0-0
Douglas Duncan, 0-0
Dave Mason, 0-0
Alexandre Cardozo, 0-0
Cody Tyler White, 0-0
Robson Palermo, 0-0
Luis Blanco, 0-0
Justin Paton, 0-0
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0
Troy Wilkinson, 0-0
Jay Miller, 0-0
Roy Dunn, 0-0
Thad Newell, 0-0
Cody Rodeo Tyler, 0-0
Roscoe Jarboe, 0-0

© 2015 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.