Lee Takes Round 1 in Springfield

By: Jordan Johnson
September 09, 2016

Mike Lee picked up 100 points toward the world standings after his Round 1 win Friday. Photo: Andy Watson /

Mike Lee picked up 100 points toward the world standings after his Round 1 win Friday. Photo: Andy Watson /

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. – SPRINGFIELD, Mo. – 2004 PBR World Champion Mike Lee displayed his championship pedigree as he won Round 1 of the Invitational, presented by Bass Pro Shops, and brought to fans locally by Sonic, with an 87.5-point ride on Organized Crime (OK Corralis/Gordan/D&H Cattle Co.) Friday night at JQH Arena.

It was the second event in a row that Lee opened his weekend with a qualified ride, and it earned him 100 points toward the world standings. He later took on in a $5,000 bounty match but was bucked off in 2.97 seconds.

J.B. Mauney also returned to form on Friday night, finishing in second place in Round 1 after an 86.5-point trip aboard Flat Top Pete (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger). Mauney missed last weekend’s event in Thackerville, Oklahoma, with an injury, but quickly threw himself back into the World Championship race by picking up 60 points toward the world standings. He now trails current world standings leader Cooper Davis by 640 points.

Davis tied for third place in Round 1 alongside Ryan Dirteater. The pair turned in matching 84.5-point rides, with Davis on Cool Hand Luke (Lukas Banning Bucking Bulls) and Dirteater on Gear Jammer (Let’R Buck – Long Ranch). They each earned 45 points toward the world standings.

Davis’ performance increased his lead over world No. 2 Kaique Pacheco to 64.67 points. Pacheco did not earn a score in Round 1 after being disqualified for a slap while attempting Swamp Wreck (01 Cattle Co./D&H Cattle Co.).

Cody Nance rounded out the Top 5 with an 83.75-point ride on Pale Rider (New Frontier Rodeo). Nance earned 15 points toward the world standings for his effort.

The stars of the PBR will return to JQH Arena Saturday night for Round 2 of the Invitational, presented by Bass Pro Shops, and brought to fans locally by Sonic. Following Round 2, the Top 15 bull riders and Top 15 bulls will square off in the 15/15 Bucking Battle, which will offer bonus prize money and critical extra world standings points.

CBS Sports will broadcast the PBR 15/15 Bucking Battle on Sunday, Sept. 11 at either 3 p.m. or 5 p.m. ET, check your local listings.

Fans can also watch all of the action via the PBR LIVE app, available for download now on Google Play and iTunes. PBR LIVE is available at no charge to all fans and media. Visit to view.

Springfield is the 20th stop on the 2016 BFTS schedule. The season will conclude at the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Nov. 2-6 at Las Vegas’ new T-Mobile Arena where the 2016 PBR World Champion, the bull rider who earns the most points during the 2016 season, will be crowned and receive the coveted World Championship belt buckle and a $1 million bonus.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. Television ratings for PBR on CBS are up more than 33 percent this season compared to last year at this time, according to Nielsen. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

PBR Digtial Editor Kristian Limas contributed to this report. 

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series Invitational, presented by Bass Pro Shops
JQH Arena, Springfield, Missouri
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Round 4-Round 5-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Mike Lee, 87.5-0-0-0-0-87.50-100 Points.
2. J.B. Mauney, 86.5-0-0-0-0-86.50-60 Points.
3. Cooper Davis, 84.5-0-0-0-0-84.50-45 Points.
(tie). Ryan Dirteater, 84.5-0-0-0-0-84.50-45 Points.
5. Eduardo Aparecido, 84-0-0-0-0-84.00-30 Points.
6. Cody Nance, 83.75-0-0-0-0-83.75-15 Points.
7. Fabiano Vieira, 82.75-0-0-0-0-82.75-5 Points.
8. Gage Gay, 82-0-0-0-0-82.00
9. Jorge Valdiviezo, 81.25-0-0-0-0-81.25
10. Mason Lowe, 79.5-0-0-0-0-79.50
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Paulo Ferreira Lima, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Shane Proctor, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Jess Lockwood, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Wallace Vieira de Oliveira, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Derek Kolbaba, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Tanner Byrne, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Guilherme Marchi, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Stetson Lawrence, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Stormy Wing, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Silvano Alves, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Tyler Harr, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Nevada Newman, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Kasey Hayes, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Nathan Schaper, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Cody Heffernan, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Marco Antonio Eguchi, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Aaron Roy, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Fraser Babbington, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Brant Atwood, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Luis Blanco, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00
Zane Cook, 0-0-0-0-0-0.00

© 2016 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.