Mauney Wins 15/15 Bucking Battle in St. Louis

By: Heather Croze
February 13, 2016

J.B. Mauney rides Sheep Creek for 90.25 points. Photo by Andy Watson /

J.B. Mauney rides Sheep Creek for 90.25 points. Photo by Andy Watson /

ST. LOUIS – In front of more than 10,600 fans at Scottrade Center on Saturday, reigning PBR World Champion J.B. Mauney covered Cowboy Phil (Jenkins Cattle Co,/Bar 3D Bucking Bulls) for 87 points to win Round 2 of the Bass Pro Chute Out, presented by Cooper Tires.

Not more than an hour later, Mauney turned in a 90.25-point performance atop Sheep Creek (J.A.R.S. Bucking Bulls/Gene Owen) during the 15/15 Bucking Battle to win his first Bucking Battle title of his career. With the 100 world standings points for the Round 2 win and 150 points for the Bucking Battle win, Mauney moved from fifth to second place in the PBR world standings.

2015 Rookie of the Year Kaique Pacheco was the only other rider to cover his bull during the 15/15 Bucking Battle with an 88.5-point ride on Little Red Jacket (J.A.R.S. Bucking Bulls/Gene Owen). Pacheco earned 90 world standings points for the second-place finish.

In his first action since coming out of retirement, 2012 PBR World Champion Bull Asteroid launched Joao Ricardo Vieira in quick fashion, sending the 2013 PBR Rookie of the Year to the ground in 2.9 seconds. Asteroid earned a score of 45.75 points, the highest bull score on the weekend to date. He currently leads the competition for the Salem NationaLease High-marked Bull award in St. Louis.

The 15/15 Bucking Battle, which features the Top 15 PBR bull riders facing off with the top PBR bulls, will air on CBS Television Network at noon ET on Sunday.

In Round 2 action, Stetson Lawrence collected his second qualified ride of the weekend and finished in second place behind Mauney with his 86.75-point ride on Redbone (Chad Berger/Clay Struve/PBR Rock Bar). He earned 60 points toward the world standings. Wallace de Oliveira placed third in the round with 85.75 points on King Buck (BMC Bucking Bulls/Jeff Robinson) for 50 world standings points.

Rookie sensation Derek Kolbaba continues to make a name for himself with an 85.5-point ride on Hy Test (Jared Allen’s Pro Bull Team) to finish in fourth place, earning 40 world standings points. Rounding out the Top 7 were Paulo Lima, Kaique Pacheco and Shane Proctor. Lima earned 30 world standings points with his 84.25-point ride on Gotta Go Joe (J.A.R.S. Bucking Bulls/Gene Owen); Pacheco picked up 15 world standings points with an 83-point effort aboard Reverand Mr. Black (J.A.R.S. Bucking Bulls/Gene Owen) and Proctor earned five world standings points after covering Mr. Hobbs (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Clay Struve/H&C Bucking Bulls) for 81 points.

Heading into Championship Sunday of the Bass Pro Chute Out, Lawrence leads the aggregate with a total aggregate score of 171.75 points, as one of just four riders to record two qualified rides in the event. As a three-day event, the winner of the aggregate will receive 500 world standings points.

Round 3 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round of the Bass Pro Chute Out, presented by Cooper Tires, take place at 1:50 p.m. CT, Sunday, Feb. 14. All of the action airs on CBS Sports Network at 8 p.m. ET on Sunday.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

Professional Bull Riders
Bass Pro Chute Out Presented by Cooper Tires
St. Louis, Missouri
Event Leaders (Round 1- Round 2 – Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. J.B. Mauney, 0-87-87.00-100 Points.
(tie). Nevada Newman, 88.25-0-88.25-100 Points.
3. Stetson Lawrence, 85-86.75-171.75-61.66 Points.
4. Gage Gay, 87.75-0-87.75-60 Points.
5. Shane Proctor, 87-81-168.00-55 Points.
6. Wallace Vieira de Oliveira, 82-85.75-167.75-50 Points.
7. Derek Kolbaba, 0-85.5-85.50-40 Points.
8. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 85.75-0-85.75-35 Points.
(tie). Cooper Davis, 85.75-0-85.75-35 Points.
10. Paulo Ferreira Lima, 0-84.25-84.25-30 Points.
11. Kaique Pacheco, 0-83-83.00-15 Points.
(tie). Cody Nance, 85.25-0-85.25-15 Points.
13. Eduardo Aparecido, 85-0-85.00-1.66 Points.
(tie). Silvano Alves, 85-0-85.00-1.66 Points.
15. Fabiano Vieira, 84.25-80.25-164.50
16. Stormy Wing, 84.5-0-84.50
17. Ben Jones, 84-0-84.00
18. Guilherme Marchi, 81.25-0-81.25
19. Rubens Barbosa, 74.75-0-74.75
20. Lindomar Lino, 73.5-0-73.50
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0-0.00
Mason Lowe, 0-0-0.00
Mike Lee, 0-0-0.00
Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-0-0.00
Kasey Hayes, 0-0-0.00
Aaron Roy, 0-0-0.00
Cody Heffernan, 0-0-0.00
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0-0.00
Douglas Duncan, 0-0-0.00
Tyler Harr, 0-0-0.00
Justin Paton, 0-0-0.00
Nathan Schaper, 0-0-0.00
Robson Aragao, 0-0-0.00
Claudio Crisostomo, 0-0-0.00
Reese Cates, 0-0-0.00

Professional Bull Riders
Bass Pro Chute Out Presented by Cooper Tires
15/15 Bucking Battle
St. Louis, Missouri

1. J.B. Mauney, 90.25-90.25-150 Points.
2. Kaique Pacheco, 88.5-88.50-90 Points.
Paulo Ferreira Lima, 0-0.00
Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0.00
Fabiano Vieira, 0-0.00
Wallace Vieira de Oliveira, 0-0.00
Derek Kolbaba, 0-0.00
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0.00
Mason Lowe, 0-0.00
Mike Lee, 0-0.00
Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-0.00
Gage Gay, 0-0.00
Eduardo Aparecido, 0-0.00
Kasey Hayes, 0-0.00
Aaron Roy, 0-0.00

© 2016 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.