Mauney Wins Des Moines Invitational

DES MOINES, Iowa – 2013 PBR World Champion J.B. Mauney capped his return to the Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS) from injury with a victory at the Professional Bull Riders (PBR) Des Moines Invitational, presented by Cooper Tires, on Sunday, April 26, at Wells Fargo Arena.

Mauney went 2-for-3 on the weekend, earning a paycheck of $37,037.71.

The win was Mauney’s first since his victory in Phoenix in March 2014 and this weekend marked his first competition since injuring his knee in Fresno, California, nearly seven weeks ago. Mauney finished second in Round 1 and captured first in Round 2, earning 560 world points for his performance. He vaults from No. 12 to No. 8 in the PBR world standings.

“I feel good,” Mauney said. “This is the first time in my career I actually did the rehab that was suggested and it made a difference. My knee is a little sore, but I can manage it. It definitely felt good to come here, get on some bulls and realize that my knee was going to be okay.”

Cooper Davis finished in second place – a career-best – by also covering two out of three bulls. He earned 320 points toward the world standings. Davis was the only cowboy to ride his bull in the championship round. He declined to take a re-ride and kept his 71.5-point score he earned atop Jack Daniel’s Tennessee Honey (Cantankerous LLC), moving him from third to second in the event standings.

Recording his highest career-finish on the BFTS, Robson Aragao came in third place, followed by Nathan Schaper and Aaron Roy. They each picked up 300, 205 and 125 points, respectively, toward the world standings.

With a bull score of 45.25 out of 50 points, Air Time (Jared Allen’s Pro Bull Team) and Boot Jack (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Jerry Brown) tied as the Salem NationaLease High-marked Bull in Des Moines. Air Time dispatched Mauney in 3.52 seconds, while Boot Jack bucked off Kaique Pacheo in 2.10 seconds. Both buckoffs came during the 15/15 Bucking Battle on Saturday night.

Des Moines was the 16th of 27 stops on the 2015 PBR Built Ford Tough Series schedule.

The BFTS will be back in action next weekend at the Built Ford Tough Rumble in the Rockies, brought to you by your local Ford store and Sonic. The event will take place at the Broadmoor World Arena on Saturday, May 2, at 7 p.m. and Sunday, May 3, at 1:50 p.m.

Colorado Springs is the penultimate stop in the first half of the 2015 BFTS. On May 22-24, the PBR will visit Las Vegas, Nevada for the Last Cowboy Standing which will take place at MGM Resorts Village during the first PBR Cowboy Spring Break.  Three days of bull riding, concerts, pool parties, and fun in the sun “cowboy style’ will be on tap with the PBR during Memorial Day Weekend in Las Vegas.  Visit for more details.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network – the home of the PBR – and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

2015 Professional Bull Riders – Des Moines Invitational
Des Moines – Wells Fargo Arena
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Event Aggregate-Event Points)
1. J.B. Mauney, 86-89.5-0-175.50-560 Points.
2. Cooper Davis, 0-84.5-71.5-156.00-320 Points.
3. Robson Aragao, 83.75-84.25-0-168.00-300 Points.
4. Nathan Schaper, 86.25-0-0-86.25-205 Points.
5. Aaron Roy, 0-85.75-0-85.75-125 Points.
6. Rubens Barbosa, 85-0-0-85.00-95 Points.
7. Stormy Wing, 0-84.75-0-84.75-70 Points.
8. Mason Lowe, 84-0-0-84.00-55 Points.
9. Fabiano Vieira, 81.25-0-0-81.25-10 Points.
(tie). Shane Proctor, 0-83-0-83.00-10 Points.
(tie). Claudio Crisostomo, 0-83.75-0-83.75-10 Points.
Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0-0-0.00
Matt Triplett, 0-0-0-0.00
Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-0-0-0.00
Guilherme Marchi, 0-0-0-0.00
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0-0-0.00
Reese Cates, 0-0-0-0.00
Mike Lee, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Nance, 0-0-0-0.00
Stetson Lawrence, 0-0-0-0.00
Tanner Byrne, 0-0-0-0.00
Kasey Hayes, 0-0-0-0.00
Renato Nunes, 0-0-0-0.00
Eduardo Aparecido, 0-0-0-0.00
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0-0-0.00
Gage Gay, 0-0-0-0.00
Brady Sims, 0-0-0-0.00
Bonner Bolton, 0-0-0-0.00
Douglas Duncan, 0-0-0-0.00
Dave Mason, 0-0-0-0.00
Robson Palermo, 0-0-0-0.00
Bryan Titman, 0-0-0-0.00
Tyler Harr, 0-0-0-0.00
Alexandre Cardozo, 0-0-0-0.00
Jorge Valdiviezo, 0-0-0-0.00
Markus Mariluch, 0-0-0-0.00

© 2015 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.