Mauney Wins Round 1 in Thackerville

THACKERVILLE, Okla. – J.B. Mauney scored his third 90-point ride of the PBR (Professional Bull Riders) 2015 Built Ford Tough Series season on his way to winning Round 1 of the WinStar World Casino and Resort Invitational, brought to you locally by Sonic, on Friday.

Despite suffering a left ankle injury in Nashville two weeks ago, Mauney did not appear to suffer any lingering effects of the injury as he rode Red Moon (Holmes/Jackson/Flying S) for 90.5 points to capture his 10th round win of the season.

With the win, the 2013 PBR World Champion inched closer to No. 1 Joao Ricardo Vieira in the PBR world standings. The first-place finish awarded Mauney 100 world standings points and pulled him to within 67.5 points of the No. 1 position.

With an 89.25-point ride on Brutus (Bob & Jeri Adams/D&H Cattle Co./Buck Cattle Co.), Cody Nance took second place in the round and earned 60 world standings points.

Ryan Dirteater put up 88.5 points on Savage Moves (D&H Cattle Co./Bob & Jeri Adams) for third place and 50 world standings points, while Neil Holmes and Mason Lowe tied with 87.75 points each on Stone Cold Crazy (Hodges Bucking Bulls/ 01 Cattle Co.) and Buck Autism (D&H Cattle Co/ Bay Farms), respectively.

Holmes and Lowe each added 35 points to their world standings totals.

Round 1 was also an ABBI (American Bucking Bull, Inc.) Classic event, a competition for 3- and 4-year old bucking bulls. Bruiser won the Classic with 90.25 points and currently leads the ABBI Classic standings with more than $60,000 in earnings.

Big Tex Wishes (Twisted Creek) placed second with 89.75 points. Red Moon took third with 89.25 points.

More than $37,000 was paid out to the 3 and 4-year-old Classic athletes on Friday. In October, the 2015 ABBI World Finals, presented by South Point, will take place in Las Vegas, Nevada, and pay out $200,000 to the animal that wins the event title.

Round 2 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round of the WinStar World Casino and Resort Invitational takes place Saturday, Sept. 5, at 8 p.m. CT.  All of the action will air Sunday, Sept. 6, at 8 p.m. ET on CBS Sports Network. Fans can also watch each round of competition live on PBR LIVE via PBR LIVE is now available at no charge to all fans and media and can be found by visiting

Thackerville is the 22nd stop on the 2015 Built Ford Tough Series. With only four regular-season events left until the end of the 2015 BFTS, the riders will be hanging tough to qualify for the $2.3 million 2015 Built Ford Tough World Finals. This season culminating event takes place Oct. 21-25 in Las Vegas at the Thomas & Mack Center. A $1 million dollar bonus and the coveted PBR World Champion’s belt buckle await the man who earns the most world standings points in 2015. Tickets are on sale now at

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network – the home of the PBR – and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

2015 Professional Bull Riders – WinStar World Casino and Resort Invitational
Thackerville, Oklahoma – WinStar World Casino and Resort
Event Leaders (Round 1-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. J.B. Mauney, 90.5-90.50-100 Points.
2. Cody Nance, 89.25-89.25-60 Points.
3. Ryan Dirteater, 88.5-88.50-50 Points.
4. Mason Lowe, 87.75-87.75-35 Points.
(tie). Neil Holmes, 87.75-87.75-35 Points.
6. Eduardo Aparecido, 87.25-87.25
7. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 86.5-86.50
8. Brady Sims, 86.25-86.25
9. Fabiano Vieira, 85.75-85.75
10. Ben Jones, 85.5-85.50
11. Gage Gay, 84.75-84.75
12. Renato Nunes, 83-83.00
13. Kaique Pacheco, 71.5-71.50
Matt Triplett, 0-0.00
Nathan Schaper, 0-0.00
Guilherme Marchi, 0-0-0.00
Stetson Lawrence, 0-0.00
Reese Cates, 0-0.00
Silvano Alves, 0-0.00
J.W. Harris, 0-0.00
Mike Lee, 0-0.00
Shane Proctor, 0-0.00
Robson Aragao, 0-0.00
Tanner Byrne, 0-0.00
Cooper Davis, 0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0.00
Aaron Roy, 0-0.00
Kasey Hayes, 0-0.00
Stormy Wing, 0-0.00
Michael Lane, 0-0.00
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0.00
Dave Mason, 0-0.00
Robson Palermo, 0-0.00
Tyler Harr, 0-0.00
Alexandre Cardozo, 0-0.00
Douglas Duncan, 0-0.00
Luis Blanco, 0-0.00
Justin Paton, 0-0.00
Emilio Resende, 0-0.00

© 2015 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.