Mauney Wins Round 1 of Ty Murray Invitational

By: Staff Reports
March 18, 2016

J.B. Mauney had been 1-for-3 in his last three outs coming into The Pit. Photo: Andy Watson/

J.B. Mauney had been 1-for-3 in his last three outs coming into The Pit. Photo: Andy Watson/

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – Reigning PBR (Professional Bull Riders) World Champion J.B. Mauney won Round 1 of the Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS) Ty Murray Invitational, presented by Sandia Resort and Casino, Friday night at WisePies Arena, aka The Pit.

Mauney covered Oklahoma Bandit (Martinez Bucking Bulls) for 87.5 points to earn 100 points in the world standings and cut current world No. 1 Paulo Lima’s lead to just 50 points.

The 20th anniversary of the Ty Murray Invitational, the PBR’s second-longest regular-season event, featured 10 qualified rides in Round 1 overall.

2004 PBR World Champion Mike Lee finished in Round 1 after riding Cowtown Slinger (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Clay Struve) for 87.25 points. His finish earned him 60 world standings points.

Last week’s Duluth Invitational winner, Tanner Byrne, continued his hot streak by placing third to pick up 50 points towards the world standings. Byrne made the 8-second mark on Red Cloud (Martinez Bucking Bulls) for 86.5 points.

2008 World Champion Guilherme Marchi finished fourth, earning 40 world standings points, with an 86-point ride on Glory Days (Plummer/Hart Cattle Co.), while rookie Nevada Newman finished fifth after covering Lain Man (Casper Baca Rodeo Co.) for 85.5 points, picking up 30 world standings points in the process.

Stetson Lawrence earned 85 points aboard Strictly Business (Martinez Bucking Bulls) to pick up sixth place and 15 world points while defending Ty Murray Invitational champion Ben Jones turned in an 83.25-point effort atop American Sniper (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Julie Rosen/Clay Struve) for five points towards the world standings to round out the Top 7.

Round 2 of the Ty Murray Invitational will take place at 7 p.m. on Saturday, March 19. Fans can watch all of the action in real time on PBR LIVE online at, or via the PBR LIVE app, which is available for download now on Google Play and iTunes.

The Ty Murray Invitational is the 11th stop on the 2016 Built Ford Tough Series schedule. The season kicked off Jan. 9-10 in Rosemont, Illinois, and will conclude at the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Nov. 2-6, taking place at the new T-Mobile Arena. After five days of competition, the 2016 PBR World Champion, the bull rider who has earned the most PBR world standings points during the 2016 season, will be crowned and receive the coveted $10,000 World Championship belt buckle and a $1 million bonus.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network – the home of the PBR – and networks around the world. Television ratings for PBR on CBS are up more than 20% this season compared to last year at the same time, according to Nielsen. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
Ty Murray Invitational presented by Sandia Resort and Casino
WisePies Arena aka The Pit, Albuquerque, New Mexico
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Round 4-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. J.B. Mauney, 87.5-0-0-0-87.50-100 Points.
2. Mike Lee, 87.25-0-0-0-87.25-60 Points.
3. Tanner Byrne, 86.5-0-0-0-86.50-50 Points.
4. Guilherme Marchi, 86-0-0-0-86.00-40 Points.
5. Nevada Newman, 85.5-0-0-0-85.50-30 Points.
6. Stetson Lawrence, 85-0-0-0-85.00-15 Points.
7. Ben Jones, 83.25-0-0-0-83.25-5 Points.
8. Mason Lowe, 79.25-0-0-0-79.25
9. Eduardo Aparecido, 76.75-0-0-0-76.75
10. Juliano Antonio Da Silva, 75.5-0-0-0-75.50
Paulo Ferreira Lima, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Shane Proctor, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Fabiano Vieira, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Wallace Vieira de Oliveira, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Robson Palermo, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Derek Kolbaba, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Cooper Davis, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Gage Gay, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Aaron Roy, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Stormy Wing, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Kasey Hayes, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Justin Paton, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Fraser Babbington, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Silvano Alves, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Lindomar Lino, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Robson Aragao, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Matt Triplett, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Reese Cates, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Brady Sims, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Alexandre Cardozo, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Spud Jones, 0-0-0-0-0.00

© 2016 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.