Mauney Wins Round 2; Retakes World No.1

By: Staff Reports
March 19, 2016

J.B. Mauney's Round 2 win was his BFTS-leading eighth of the season. Photo: Andy Watson/

J.B. Mauney’s Round 2 win was his BFTS-leading eighth of the season. Photo: Andy Watson/

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – Reigning PBR (Professional Bull Riders) World Champion J.B. Mauney picked up his second round win of the Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS) Ty Murray Invitational, presented by Sandia Resort and Casino, Saturday night at WisePies Arena, aka The Pit in front of more than 10,200 fans.

Mauney rode Shelley’s Gangster (Ron Alsbaugh) for 88.25-points for his BFTS-leading eighth round win of the season, earning him 100 points toward the world standings and a return to the world No. 1 ranking.

The Mooresville, North Carolina, cowboy won Round 1 on Friday night and is leading the event average with a perfect 2-for-2 performance.

Cooper Davis finished Round 2 in second place after an 87.25-point effort aboard High Tinsle (D&H Cattle/Craig Moore) that earned him 60 world points.

2004 World Champion Mike Lee finished third in Round 2 after riding on Come On Baby (J.A.R.S. Bucking Bulls/Gene Owen) for 87 points to collect 50 world standings points, while taking the No. 2 spot in the aggregate after two rounds.

Mason Lowe covered his second bull of the weekend when he rode Movin On Up (D&H Cattle Co./Futrell) for 86.75 points on his way to a fourth-place finish. Lowe earned 40 world points for his effort.

Stetson Lawrence finished in fifth place after an 85.25-point ride on Lil Brute (D&H Cattle Co.) for 30 points toward the world standings while placing third in the aggregate leading into Round 3.

Joao Ricardo Vieira broke his nose when he was bucked off by Wipeout in Round 1, but returned to the arena Saturday to earn himself 85 points aboard The Marlin (J.A.R.S. Bucking Bulls/Gene Owen) for a sixth-place finish and 15 world standings points.

Robson Aragao rounded out the Top 7 with an 82-point ride on Slash (D&H Cattle Co./Buck Cattle Co.). Aragao earned five points towards the world standings for placing in the round.

Round 3 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round of the Ty Murray Invitational, presented by Sandia Resort & Casino, take place at 1:50 p.m. MT, Sunday, March 20. All of the action airs on CBS Sports Network at 8 p.m. ET on Sunday.

The Ty Murray Invitational is the 11th stop on the 2016 Built Ford Tough Series schedule. The season kicked off Jan. 9-10 in Rosemont, Illinois, and will conclude at the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Nov. 2-6, taking place at the new T-Mobile Arena. After five days of competition, the 2016 PBR World Champion, the bull rider who has earned the most PBR world standings points during the 2016 season, will be crowned and receive the coveted $10,000 World Championship belt buckle and a $1 million bonus.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network – the home of the PBR – and networks around the world. Television ratings for PBR on CBS are up more than 20% this season compared to last year at the same time, according to Nielsen. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
Ty Murray Invitational presented by Sandia Resort and Casino
WisePies Arena aka The Pit, Albuquerque, New Mexico
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. J.B. Mauney, 87.5-88.25-175.75-200 Points.
2. Mike Lee, 87.25-87-174.25-110 Points.
3. Cooper Davis, 0-87.25-87.25-60 Points.
4. Tanner Byrne, 86.5-0-86.50-50 Points.
5. Stetson Lawrence, 85-85.25-170.25-45 Points.
6. Mason Lowe, 79.25-86.75-166-40 Points.
(tie). Guilherme Marchi, 86-0-86-40 Points.
8. Nevada Newman, 85.5-0-85.50-30 Points.
9. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-85-85-15 Points.
10. Ben Jones, 83.25-0-83.25-5 Points.
(tie). Robson Aragao, 0-82-82-5 Points.
12. Eduardo Aparecido, 76.75-0-76.75
13. Juliano Antonio Da Silva, 75.5-0-75.50
14. Fabiano Vieira, 0-75.25-75.25
Paulo Ferreira Lima, 0-0-0
Shane Proctor, 0-0-0
Wallace Vieira de Oliveira, 0-0-0
Robson Palermo, 0-0-0
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0-0
Derek Kolbaba, 0-0-0
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0-0
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0-0
Gage Gay, 0-0-0
Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-0-0
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0
Aaron Roy, 0-0-0
Stormy Wing, 0-0-0
Kasey Hayes, 0-0-0
Justin Paton, 0-0-0
Fraser Babbington, 0-0-0
Silvano Alves, 0-0-0
Lindomar Lino, 0-0-0
Matt Triplett, 0-0-0
Reese Cates, 0-0-0
Brady Sims, 0-0-0
Alexandre Cardozo, 0-0-0
Spud Jones, 0-0-0

About the PBR (Professional Bull Riders)
The world’s premier bull riding organization began as a dream of 20 bull riders 23 years ago and is now a global sports phenomenon. PBR broadcasts reach more than half a billion households in 40 nations and territories around the world, and more than 3 million fans attend live events each year. On its elite Built Ford Tough Series, the PBR features the Top 35 bull riders in the world and the top bulls in the business. The televised Built Ford Tough Series, the BlueDEF Tour, the Touring Pro Division and the PBR’s international circuits in Australia, Brazil, Canada and Mexico have paid more than $150 million in earnings to its athletes. Twenty-eight men have earned more than $1 million, including two-time PBR World Champion J.B. Mauney who, with his 2015 PBR World Championship, became bull riding’s first $6 million man and the richest athlete in Western sports history at $6.7 million in career earnings. In May 2015, PBR was acquired by WME | IMG, the global leader in sports, entertainment, media and fashion. For more information on the PBR, go to, or follow on Facebook at, Twitter at, and YouTube at

© 2016 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.