Miller Wins Velocity Tour Event in Dayton

By: Heather Croze
February 19, 2017

Jay Miller claimed his first Velocity Tour event victory of 2017 Saturday night. Photo: Christopher Thompson /

DAYTON, Ohio – Jay Miller (Liberty, South Carolina) earned his first PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Real Time Pain Relief Velocity Tour (RVT) win of 2017, taking the victory at the Dayton Chute Out at the Nutter Center in Dayton, Ohio on Saturday night.

Miller used an 86.5-point ride in Round 1 aboard Magic Mike (Buckin’ B Cattle Co.) to secure the victory. He earned 80 points towards the PBR world standings along with $6,475.

Winners of each RVT event in 2017 will be guaranteed at least one opportunity to compete at a PBR Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS) regular-season event. With his victory in Dayton, Miller will compete at the Bad Boy Mowdown, in Little Rock, Arkansas, Mar. 10-11 at the Verizon Arena.

Alex Aparecido Marcillio (Macaubal, Brazil) finished in second place after he reached 8 seconds aboard Hex (Smith/Harper/Scott Buruss) for 86 points in Round 1. He earned 50 points toward the world standings along with a paycheck of $4,775.

Three riders tied for third place with exact 85 point scores in Round 1. Josh Faircloth (Randleman, North Carolina) rode UR Welcome (Jim Bollinger), Cody Campbell (Summerville, Oregon) rode Full Draw (New Frontier Rodeo) and Eneias Barbosa (Sales, Brazil) covered Get Blitzed (Cornwell Bucking Bulls). For their efforts, each rider earned 21.7 points towards the PBR World Standings along with paychecks worth $2,121.67.

Brant Atwood (Pampa, Texas) earned 10 points towards the world standings along with $935 with his 84.5 point ride on Another Black (Buckin’ B Cattle Co.).

Texas Twist (Smith/Harper/Scott Burruss) was the high-marked bull of the event with a score of 44 points when he bucked off John Mincey in 1.40 in the championship round.

An hour-long highlight show of the RVT event in Dayton will air on Wednesday, Feb. 22.  Visit PBR LIVE to watch all the action from the Velocity events.

The Real Time Pain Relief Velocity Tour will next head to Worcester, Massachusetts for the Worcester Challenge, on Feb. 25 at the DCU Center.

The 2017 Velocity Tour will culminate with the Velocity Tour Finals at South Point Arena in Las Vegas on Oct. 28-30, leading into the PBR’s 2017 Built Ford Tough World Finals.

Dayton Real Time Pain Relief Velocity Tour Event Results
Name, Round 1-Round 2-Aggr. Score-Total Points-Money Earned

1. Jay Miller, 86.5-0-86.5-80-$6,475
2. Alex Aparecido Marcillio, 86-0-86.0-50-$4,775
3. Josh Faircloth, 85-0-85.0-21.7-$2,121.67
Cody Campbell, 85-0-85.0-21.7-$2,121.67
Eneias Barbosa, 85-0-85.0-21.7-$2,121.67
6. Brant Atwood, 84.5-0-84.5-10-$935

© 2017 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.