Nance Wins Des Moines 15/15 Bucking Battle

DES MOINES, Iowa – The first bull rider out and the only rider to make a qualified ride in the Professional Bull Riders (PBR) 15/15 Bucking Battle, Cody Nance won the sixth 15/15 Bucking Battle of the 2015 Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS).

Nance, whose decision to turn down a  re-ride and keep his 76.5-point ride score atop Yo Yo (Rocking M) was enough for the win, earned 150 PBR world standings points and a $21,000 paycheck.

It was the second time Nance had faced Yo Yo in his career. In 2011, the two met in Milwaukee with Yo Yo coming out on top, tossing Nance in 3.25 seconds.

The 15/15 Bucking Battles feature the Top 15 bull riders in the world competing against the 15 highest-ranked bulls at the event for an additional purse of $21,000 and valuable bonus points toward the PBR world standings. The bulls are randomly assigned a position from 1-15 and the riders are then matched with their bulls based upon their current rankings in the BFTS standings.

All of the action of the Des Moines Invitational 15/15 Bucking Battle will air on CBS Television Network on Sunday, April 26, at 2 p.m. ET.

Round 1 of the two-day Des Moines Invitational, presented by Cooper Tires, also took place Saturday at Wells Fargo Arena with Nathan Schaper posting 86.25 points on Air Bender (Cornwell Bucking Bulls), to capture first place in the round and earn 100 event points for the finish.

Prior to being bucked off by David’s Dream (Cantankerous LLC) in the 15/15 Bucking Battle, Schaper had recorded six consecutive rides, which included going 5-for-5 last weekend in Billings, Montana. The six-consecutive rides was a BFTS career-high for Schaper.

2013 World Champion J.B. Mauney returned to competition in Des Moines after a month and a half hiatus during which he rehabbed a knee injury suffered in Fresno, California. Mauney finished in second place Saturday with his 86-point ride on Celling Bioscience’s Jukebox Hero (Dan & Koben Puckett) for 60 points toward the world standings.

Brazilian Rubens Barbosa received 85 points on Booger Red (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Clay Struve) for third place in Round 1. Barbosa received 50 event points for the finish.

Mason Lowe picked up 40 event points for his fourth-place finish after an 84-point ride on Jill’s Deal (Cornwell Bucking Bulls). Robson Aragao finished in fifth place with 83.75 points on Flip Out (Rocking I Rodeo Co.) to receive 30 world points.

Round 2 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round of the Des Moines Invitational will take place Sunday at 2 p.m. CT. CBS Sports Network will broadcast both rounds of competition beginning at 8 p.m. ET. Fans can also watch each round of bull riding in real-time on PBR LIVE at

Des Moines is the 16th of 27 stops on the 2015 PBR Built Ford Tough Series schedule. The season will culminate with the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 21-25 when the 2015 PBR World Champion, the bull rider who earns the most points during the 2015 season, will receive the coveted World Championship belt buckle and a $1 million bonus.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network ule. The season will culminate with the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 21-25 when the 2015 PBR World Champion, the bull ridions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

2015 Professional Bull Riders Des Moines Invitational
Des Moines
Wells Fargo Arena
Event Leaders (Round 1-Event Aggregate-Event Points)
1. Nathan Schaper, 86.25-86.25-100 Points.
2. J.B. Mauney, 86-86.00-60 Points.
3. Rubens Barbosa, 85-85.00-50 Points.
4. Mason Lowe, 84-84.00-40 Points.
5. Robson Aragao, 83.75-83.75-30 Points.
6. Fabiano Vieira, 81.25-81.25
Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0.00
Matt Triplett, 0-0.00
Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-0.00
Guilherme Marchi, 0-0.00
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0.00
Reese Cates, 0-0.00
Mike Lee, 0-0.00
Shane Proctor, 0-0.00
Cody Nance, 0-0.00
Stetson Lawrence, 0-0.00
Tanner Byrne, 0-0.00
Kasey Hayes, 0-0.00
Renato Nunes, 0-0.00
Eduardo Aparecido, 0-0.00
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0.00
Cooper Davis, 0-0.00
Gage Gay, 0-0.00
Stormy Wing, 0-0.00
Brady Sims, 0-0.00
Bonner Bolton, 0-0.00
Douglas Duncan, 0-0.00
Dave Mason, 0-0.00
Robson Palermo, 0-0.00
Aaron Roy, 0-0.00
Claudio Crisostomo, 0-0.00
Bryan Titman, 0-0.00
Tyler Harr, 0-0.00
Alexandre Cardozo, 0-0.00
Jorge Valdiviezo, 0-0.00
Markus Mariluch, 0-0.00

© 2015 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.