Nashville Riders and Bracket Matchups Revealed

PUEBLO, Colo. – The PBR competition department announced the 36 riders and the official bracket for this weekend’s Jack Daniel’s Music City Knockout in Nashville.

The event at Bridgestone Arena on Friday and Saturday is the last PBR Major of the 2015 season and will strongly impact the 2015 world title race.

The 36 riders will compete head-to-head in the bracket-style event until one rider is remaining.

Seedings are based upon the current 2015 world standings and the riders have been assigned to compete in one of three different regions.

The fourth region has been deemed a Second Chance Bracket. This region will be based upon the Top 8 individual ride scores or buckoff times from the riders eliminated through the first four rounds of competition.

The eight eliminated riders will have a second opportunity to work through Second Chance Bracket to earn a spot in the Final Four with the three riders who win Regions 1-3.

*Riders may be seeded higher than their actual world ranking because of injuries to Valdiron de Oliveira and Bonner Bolton, as well as the retirement of L.J. Jenkins.

The Top 12 riders in the world standings competing in the event have received a first-round bye for the 36-man tournament.

A complete bracket for the event will be unveiled once the bull roster is set.

At the end of this article is a breakdown of how world standings points will be awarded in Nashville.

Round 1 matchups are listed below:


No. 24 Mason Lowe vs. No. 25 Chase Outlaw
No. 15 Shane Proctor vs. No. 34 Alexandre Cardozo
No. 19 Rubens Barbosa vs. No. 30 Michael Lane
No. 18 Robson Aragao vs. No. 31 Dave Mason


No. 1 Joao Ricardo Vieira (Scheduled to face winner of Lowe vs. Outlaw in Round 2)
No. 12 Mike Lee (Scheduled to face winner of Proctor vs. Cardozo in Round 2)
No. 6 Guilherme Marchi (Scheduled to face winner of Barbosa vs. Lane in Round 2)
No. 7 Fabiano Vieira (Scheduled to face winner of Aragao vs. Mason in Round 2)


No. 23 Gage Gay vs. No. 26 Kasey Hayes
No. 14 Ben Jones vs. No. 35 Douglas Duncan
No. 20 Renato Nunes vs. No. 29 Brady Sims
No. 17 Cooper Davis vs. No. 32 Robson Palermo


No. 2 J.B. Mauney (Scheduled to face winner of Gay vs. Hayes in Round 2)
No. 11 Stetson Lawrence (Scheduled to face winner of Jones vs. Duncan in Round 2)
No. 5 Nathan Schaper (Scheduled to face winner of Nunes vs. Sims in Round 2)
No. 8 Reese Cates (Scheduled to face winner of Davis vs. Palermo in Round 2)


No. 22 Eduardo Aparecido vs. No. 27 Ryan Dirteater
No. 13 Cody Nance vs. No. 36 Emilio Resende
No. 21 Aaron Roy vs. No. 28 Stormy Wing
No. 16 Tanner Byrne vs. No. 33 Tyler Harr


No. 3 Matt Triplett (Scheduled to face winner of Aparecido vs. Dirteater in Round 2)
No. 10 J.W. Harris (Scheduled to face winner of Nance vs. Resende in Round 2)
No. 4 Kaique Pacheco (Scheduled to face winner of Roy vs. Wing in Round 2)
No. 9 Silvano Alves (Scheduled to face winner of Byrne vs. Harr in Round 2)

World Standings Points

Event Champion:  The Head-to-Head Bracket Winner (400 points).  The rider who advances through the bracket system and defeats his opponent in the final head-to-head match.

Ride Score Champion:  The rider with the highest cumulative ride score (240 points)  The rider with the highest aggregate ride score total from all rounds of competition, regardless of the number of bulls faced, will be named the Ride Score Champion (The Ride Score Champion can also be the Head-to-Head Bracket Winner).

Event Runner Up:  The Head-to-Head Runner Up (180 points).  The rider who loses in the final head-to-head match.

Final Four Qualifiers (150 points each):  Each of the four riders advancing to the Final Four (150 points each).

Elite Eight Qualifiers (100 points each):  The six riders advancing to the Elite Eight in the competition brackets.

*Riders who advance through the Second Chance Bracket will not receive points or money unless they reach the Final Four as outlined above.

Follow Justin Felisko on Twitter @jfelisko

© 2015 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.