New RFD-TV Series Features PBR Heroes and Legends

By: Heather Croze June 02, 2014@ 12:00:00 PM

Justin McBride is one rider being featured on RFD-TV’s Heroes and Legends. Photo by Andy Watson /

PUEBLO, Colo. ― Starting on June 4, RFD-TV will begin airing PBR Heroes & Legends, a weekly series of 30-minute specials, highlighting some of the greatest bull riders and bovine heroes ever to grace the PBR stage. The show will air at 8:30 p.m. ET each Wednesday through August.

The 12-week series begins with a 60-minute special, featuring back-to-back 30-minute profiles chronicling the illustrious careers of Justin McBride and Mossy Oak Mudslinger. McBride was a two-time PBR World Champion (2005 and 2007) who earned more than $5 million in the course of his career, the most of any Western sports athlete. Mossy Oak Mudslinger finished his career with 94 outs in the PBR – 93 of which came on the Built Ford Tough Series – with a career average bull score of over 45.88 points per out. He was ridden 27 times, 15 of which resulted in a round win for a rider. Riders that made the 8-second mark aboard Mossy Oak Mudslinger finished with an average score of 91.87 points.

Two-time PBR World Champion, Chris Shivers, will be featured on June 11. Shivers has 22 career BFTS wins and was the first PBR bull rider to reach the $1 million mark (2001), the $2 million mark (2003) and the $3 million mark (2006). He is also known for attempting to ride the infamous bull, Little Yellow Jacket for $1 million in 2003.

Little Yellow Jacket is the second bull that will be featured during Heroes & Legends. He thwarted Shivers’ quest for $1 million in less than three seconds and his three consecutive World Champion Bull titles are unmatched by any bull in the history of the PBR. His bronze likeness stands guard outside PBR headquarters in Pueblo, Colo.

Ty Murray, the “King of Cowboys,” is a nine-time World Champion after splitting his career between the PRCA and the PBR. He is also one of the PBR’s co-founders and serves as a board advisor.

Red Wolf had one of the longest careers of any high-level bucking bull and eventually retired at 12 years old following the 2000 World Finals. He had a career buckoff percentage of 57.78 in the BFTS and was ridden just 19 times in 45 outs. Red Wolf placed second in 1997 for PBR Bull of the Finals and World Champion Bull title.

Adriano Moraes and Blueberry Wine are the next rider and bull to be featured. Moraes was the first PBR World Champion (1994), the first to win two World Championship titles (2001) and the only bull rider to date to win three PBR World Championships (1994, 2001, 2006). He was one of the most popular PBR riders during his time and was voted by the fans to have his likeness replicated in a bronze statue in mid-ride atop Little Yellow Jacket which stands outside the PBR headquarters in Pueblo. Blueberry Wine was one of the PBR’s highest scoring bulls of all time as riders received an average score of 91.6 points aboard him. He was one of the smaller bulls, but he was fast and cunning. He was a multiple World Finals qualifier as well as the PBR “Bull of the Finals”.

Jim Sharp was one of the greatest bull riders of his time. He earned his place in history by becoming the first bull rider in National Finals Rodeo history to ride each of his 10 bulls during the championship-crowing event. He rode professionally for 16 years and was a founding member of the PBR.

Dillinger was the 2012 recipient of the PBR’s Brand of Honor, which is presented each year to a bull of exemplary performance. He was the first back-to-back and two-time PBR World Champion Bull in 2000 and 2001 and one of the most recognizable as the black and white bull with only one horn.

Bushwacker, the superstar among bucking bulls, was the 2013 and 2011 PBR World Champion Bull.

He’s been ridden only two times in 60 outs since arriving on the Built Ford Tough Series in 2009.

The chocolate brown bull is considered the greatest bull that the PBR has ever known and racked up a record buckoff streak of 42 consecutive BFTS cowboys before his rival J.B. Mauney conquered him in 2013.

Mauney, the only man to ride Bushwacker in four years after his debut on the BFTS in 2009, earned one of the highest scores in the PBR with 95.25 points on the famed bull. He is well known for being the only rider to ride Shepherd Hills Tested, Asteroid and Bushwacker. In 2013, Mauney used a historic second half surge, which included winning five of the last nine events and covering 6-out-of-6 bulls to win the 2013 PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals, to win the PBR World Championship. He is only the second man to win both titles in the same year and is the only man to cover all of his bulls at the World Finals, which he has done twice.

The 12 events will air in the following order:

June 4: Justin McBride and Mossy Oak Mudslinger
June 11: Chris Shivers
June 18: Little Yellow Jacket
June 25: Ty Murray
July 2: Red Wolf
July 9: Adriano Moraes
July 16: Blueberry Wine
July 23: Jim Sharp
July 30: Dillinger
Aug. 6: Bushwacker
Aug. 13: J.B. Mauney

© 2014 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.