Oliveira Wins Round 1 of Bad Boy Mowdown

By: Denise Abbott
April 09, 2016

Wallace de Oliveira now has five round wins this season. Photo: Andy Watson/

Wallace de Oliveira now has five round wins this season. Photo: Andy Watson/

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – With an 88.5-point ride on Sketchy Bob (D&H Cattle Co./Flinn), Wallace de Oliveira claimed Round 1 of the PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Bad Boy Mowdown, the 13th event of the 2016 Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS).

It was de Oliveira’s fifth BFTS round win of the season and moved him to No. 6 in the PBR world standings.

“He was a good bull.” Oliveira said through translation from fellow Brazilian rider Robson Palermo. “When I draw good bulls, I try hard to ride them because I know if I do I will win.”

Oliveira received 100 PBR world standings points for the win.

After missing the BFTS’ event in Sioux Falls last weekend with an injury,Tanner Byrne returned to form and competition at Verizon Arena Saturday, landing in second place with an 87.75-point trip on Roll of the Dice(Halpain Bucking Bulls), picking up 60 world standings points.

North Carolina’s Gage Gay sat atop the leaderboard for most of the evening, but ended the round in third place with his score of 87.5 points on Glory Days (Plummer/ Hart Cattle Co.). Gay received 50 world standings points.

Rookie Derek Kolbaba captured fourth place, collecting 40 world standings points.

2004 PBR World Champion Mike Lee moved one ride closer to becoming only the second man in PBR history to reach 500 career qualified rides. He received 30 world standings points for finishing in fifth place and currently sits at 498 rides. Lee turned in an 85.5-point ride on Black Cat (RU Rockin).

Lee could possibly reach 500 career qualified rides on Sunday in North Little Rock if he covers his bulls in Round 2 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round.

Rounding out the Top 7 were Douglas Duncan, a last-minute replacement for Lindomar Lino, in sixth place and Ryan Dirteater in seventh. Duncan and Dirteater received 15 and 5 world standings points, respectively.

Round 1 of the Bad Boy Mowdown was also a Classic competition for the younger bulls of the PBR’s sister organization American Bucking Bull Inc. (ABBI). Over $31,000 was paid out to the 3 and 4-year-old bulls who competed in this round.

After Midnight from 01/Hodges/Shuler won his second ABBI Classic in a row by scoring an 88.5. He bucked off PBR star Cooper Davis in 2 seconds, who counts ABBI among his sponsors.

Organized Crime (OK Corralis/ Gordan/D&H) placed second with 88.25 points, followed by Born in the USA (Plummer/Hart) with an 88.

For complete ABBI bull scores and results visit

Round 2 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round of the PBR’s Bad Boy Mowdown will take place Sunday, April 10, beginning at 2 p.m. CT.  CBS Sports Network will air all of the action at 5 p.m. ET. Fans can also watch all of the action in real time on PBR LIVE online at, or via the PBR LIVE app, which is available for download now on Google Play and iTunes.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

PBR Digital Editor Kristian Limas contributed to this report. 

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
Bad Boy Mowdown
Verizon Arena, North Little Rock, Arkansas
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Wallace Vieira de Oliveira, 88.5-0-0-88.50-100 Points.
2. Tanner Byrne, 87.75-0-0-87.75-60 Points.
3. Gage Gay, 87.5-0-0-87.50-50 Points.
4. Derek Kolbaba, 86.5-0-0-86.50-40 Points.
5. Mike Lee, 85.5-0-0-85.50-30 Points.
6. Douglas Duncan, 84.75-0-0-84.75-15 Points.
7. Ryan Dirteater, 84-0-0-84.00-5 Points.
8. Kaique Pacheco, 83.75-0-0-83.75
9. Kasey Hayes, 83.5-0-0-83.50
(tie). Silvano Alves, 83.5-0-0-83.50
11. Lachlan Richardson, 82.5-0-0-82.50
12. J.B. Mauney, 75-0-0-75.00
13. Justin Paton, 72.5-0-0-72.50
Fabiano Vieira, 0-0-0-0.00
Paulo Ferreira Lima, 0-0-0-0.00
Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0-0-0.00
Shane Proctor, 0-0-0-0.00
Eduardo Aparecido, 0-0-0-0.00
Robson Palermo, 0-0-0-0.00
Cooper Davis, 0-0-0-0.00
Stetson Lawrence, 0-0-0-0.00
Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-0-0-0.00
Nevada Newman, 0-0-0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0.00
Jess Lockwood, 0-0-0-0.00
Guilherme Marchi, 0-0-0-0.00
Stormy Wing, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Nance, 0-0-0-0.00
Tyler Harr, 0-0-0-0.00
Fraser Babbington, 0-0-0-0.00
Juliano Antonio Da Silva, 0-0-0-0.00
Kurt Shephard, 0-0-0-0.00
Reese Cates, 0-0-0-0.00
Jorge Valdiviezo, 0-0-0-0.00
Josh Faircloth, 0-0-0-0.00

© 2016 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.