Oliveira wins Round 1 of Chicago Invitational

By: Jordan Marie Johnson January 10, 2015@ 10:00:00 PM

CHICAGO – In front of a crowd of nearly 9,000 fans, Valdiron de Oliveira won Round 1 of the Chicago Invitational with an 89-point performance on RMEF Big Bull at Allstate Arena on Saturday night.

2013 PBR World Champion J.B. Mauney finished second in the round, covering Jared Allen’s Diesel for 88.75 points, while the Cherokee Kid Ryan Dirteater placed third with 87.75 points atop Off The Grid. Diesel is owned by Allen, a Chicago Bears defensive end.

Skeeter Kingsolver, who earned his spot on the BFTS this weekend with his BlueDEF Velocity Tour win in San Diego, California, on Nov. 8, rode Pretty Reckless for 86.50 points and a fourth place finish. Matt Triplett rounded out the Top 5 during Round 1 with an 86.25-point ride on Justified.

Three-time reigning PBR World Champion Silvano Alves may not have placed in the Top 5 Saturday night, but he was successful in breaking and setting a new consecutive ride streak record of 17 rides, after making the 8-second mark on Redbone for 85 points. This was a record Mauney previously broke and set at 16 rides during Round 1 of the Chicago Invitational last season.

Round 2 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round of the Chicago Invitational take place Sunday, Jan. 11 at 2 p.m. CT. Tickets can be purchased at all Ticketmaster outlets, or by calling 800 745 3000.

CBS Sports Network will carry all of the action of both rounds starting at 8 p.m. ET on Sunday.

Fans can also watch every ride live online at

2015 Professional Bull Riders – Chicago Invitational
Chicago – Allstate Arena
Event Leaders (Round 1-Event Aggregate-Event Points)
1. Valdiron de Oliveira, 89.00-89.00-100 points.
2. J. B. Mauney, 88.75-88.75-60 points.
3. Ryan Dirteater, 87.75-87.75-50 points.
4. Skeeter Kingsolver, 86.50-86.50-40 points.
5. Matt Triplett, 86.25-86.25-30 points.
6. Silvano Alves, 85.00-85.00-0 points.
J.W. Harris, 85.00-85.00-0 points.
8. Jordan Hupp, 84.75-84.75-0 points.
9. Guilherme Marchi, 84.50-84.50-0 points.
10. Chase Outlaw, 84.25-84.25-0 points.
11. Shane Proctor, 84.00-84.00-0 points.
12. Cody Nance, 83.25-83.25-0 points.
13. Zane Lambert, 82.25-82.25-0 points.
14. Marco Eguchi, 81.75-81.75-0 points.
15. Harve Stewart, 78.75-78.75-0 points.
16. Eduardo Aparecido, 77.00-77.00-0 points.
17. Nathan Schaper, 74.50-74.50-0 points.
18. Brady Sims, 74.00-74.00-0 points.

© 2015 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.