Oregon Cowboy Rides to $9,200 Victory at Fort Worth’s Bulls’ Night Out

by Johna Cravens
for the Fort Worth Stock Show & Rodeo

FORT WORTH, Texas (Jan. 22, 2015) Oregon cowboy Cain Smith made the most of his opportunities during Bulls’ Night Out at the Fort Worth Stock Show and Rode, earning his first major win in his three-year career in pro rodeo.

Smith, one of 42 cowboys to compete Wednesday night, competed in the second section of bull riders, but his bull, Morris of 4L and Diamond S Rodeo, stumbled as he left the chute and the judge’s awarded Smith a re-ride.

The Pendleton, Ore., cowboy had to wait until all the other riders had competed before trying his luck on the reride – United Pro Rodeo’s Bird in a Glass. The bull spun to the left and Smith stayed with him for a score of 84.5 points. That tied Guthrie Murray of Miami, Okla., on Smith, Harper & Morgan Rodeo’s Highball for the highest score of the round.

“I just made the best of my reride,” Smith said, adding that his first major win in his career “feels really good.”

The Oregonian began riding sheep when he was just two and a half and continued on through rodeo’s junior, high school and college ranks. A two-time qualifier at the College National Finals Rodeo, Smith earned associate degrees in animal science and agricultural business at Walla Walla Community College. He’s now on the rodeo trail fulltime, since his graduation in December.

Wednesday’s riders were competing against the 42 cowboys who rode in Tuesday night’s performance. Scores from both nights are tallied to determine the winners. The event is part of the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association (PRCA) Xtreme Bulls Tour.

Ten riders each night compete in the short round, composed of the ten highest scores from the night’s long round. If less than ten qualified rides are made, a random draw from all those who bucked off fills the remaining slots.

None of Tuesday night’s cowboys made a qualified ride in the short round, which left a big opportunity for Wednesday’s riders. The short round starts with the 10th place qualifier and continues down to the first-place qualifier.

Dylan Vick of Escalon, Calif., one of two random replacements, became the first cowboy to ride a short round bull during the 2015 edition of Bulls’ Night Out with an 87-point effort on Hurst Pro Rodeo’s Cactus Jungle. The next seven riders bit the dust until Smith, the final rider of the night, took another turn on a bull that spun to the left.

He rode United Pro Rodeo’s Texas Chrome until the eight-second buzzer, winning the championship as the only cowboy to make a qualified ride in both the long and short rounds. That feat earned Smith first place in the aggregate and $5,386. He also earned $512 by tying for fifth through eighth place in the long round with three other cowboys. His second place in the short round was good for $3,303 and he left Bulls’ Night Out with earnings of more than $9,200.

Ricky Aguiar of Stephenville, Texas, who competed on Tuesday night, won the long round and second in the aggregate for total winnings of $7,361. Vick, who won the short round, earned $3,878.

Thursday night at 7:30 p.m., the Fort Worth Stock Show & Rodeo hosts he second annual Fort Worth Super Shootout®, presented by Cinch Jeans & Shirts. Limited tickets remain for this unique tournament-style rodeo that features winners from eight of North America’s biggest rodeos competing in five events for bragging rights and $10,000 to each event winner.

The World’s Original Indoor Rodeo takes the arena at Will Rogers Coliseum beginning Friday, January 23, and continues for 29 performances over 16 days.

The following are unofficial results from Wednesday night’s performance of Bulls’ Night Out at the Fort Worth Stock Show and Rodeo, January 21, 2015.

Second Performance: (eight rides) 1, (tie) Guthrie Murray, Miami, Okla., on Smith, Harper & Morgan’s High Ball and, Cain Smith, Pendleton, Ore. on Four L & Diamond S Rodeo’s Morris, 84.5 points. 3, (tie) Corey Atwell, Moravian Falls, N.C., and Tyler Willis, Wheatland, Wyo. 84. 5, Joe Bertus, Avon, S.D., 83. 6, Brock Russell, Rye, Colo., 83. 7, Jeff Bertus, Avon, S.D., 78. 8, Sam Wyatt, Fittstown, Okla., 76.5.

Overall: Long Round 1, Ricky Aguiar, Stephenville, Texas, 87.5 points, $3,232. 2, Reid Barker, Comfort, Texas, 86. $2.478. 3, Nile Lebaron, Weatherford, Texas, 86, $1,831. 4, Shane Proctor, Grand Coulee, Wash., 85.5, $1185. 5, Brett Stall, Detroit Lakes, Minn., Cody Teel, Kountze, Texas, Guthrie Murray, Miami, Okla., and Cain Smith, Pendleton, Ore., 84.5, $512 each.

Overall: Short Round (two rides) 1, Dylan Vick, Escalon, Calif., 87 points on Hurst Pro Rodeo’s Cactus Jungle, $3,878. 2, Cain Smith, Pendleton, Ore., 67, $3,304.

Overall: Aggregate (total on two) 1, Cain Smith, Pendleton, Ore., 151.5 points, $5,386. 2, Ricky Aguiar, Stephenville, Texas, 87.5, $4,129. 3, Reid Barker, Comfort, Texas, 86.5, $3,052, 4, Nile Lebaron, Weatherford, Texas, 86, $1,975, 6, Shane Proctor, Grand Coulee, Wash., 85.5, $1,257.

Courtesy of PRCA