Outlaw Takes Early Lead in Allentown

ALLENTOWN, Pa. – With an 89.25-point effort on Stay Thirsty, Chase Outlaw earned the opening-round win Friday at the Cooper Tires Take the Money and Ride in Allentown, Pennsylvania, while the Top 3 riders in the world standings each posted a qualified ride.

World No. 3 Fabiano Vieira, second-ranked Silvano Alves and top-ranked Joao Ricardo Vieira posted back-to-back-to-back scores toward the conclusion of the event. In all, 19 qualified rides were recorded at the PPL Center on Friday.

Fabiano Vieira, who would end up finishing second in the round, posted 87.5 points on Cash Ya Out, followed by a 60.75-point effort by Alves on Alcatraz. Joao Ricardo Vieira then put up 81.5 points on Spotted Juice.

Outlaw, who entered the weekend ranked 13th in the world, will face Big Sky on Round 2, as he looks to win his second BFTS event of the second half. The Arkansas native won in Nashville, Tennessee, on Sept. 6.

Stetson Lawrence (86.75 points), Ty Pozzobon (86.75 points) and Kody Lostroh (86 points) rounded out the Top 5.

Lostroh suffered a broken left ankle upon dismounting his Round 1 bull,Pain & Suffering. According to Dr. Tandy Freeman, Lostroh is out of competition for the remainder of the weekend, will require surgery, and is questionable for the PBR World Finals, which will take place Oct. 22-26 in Las Vegas.

The Cooper Tires Take the Money and Ride will conclude Saturday with Round 2 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round. The action begins at 7 p.m. ET and can be viewed LIVE on PBR LIVE at The final rounds can also be seen Sunday on CBS Sports Network at 8 p.m. ET.

Cooper Tires Take the Money and Ride
PPL Center
Allentown, Pa.
Event Leaders (Round 1-Event Points)…
1. Chase Outlaw, 89.25-89.25 points.
2. Fabiano Vieira, 87.5-87.50 points.
3. Stetson Lawrence, 86.75-86.75 points.
(tie). Ty Pozzobon, 86.75-86.75 points.
5. Kody Lostroh, 86-86.00 points.
6. Eduardo Aparecido, 85.5-85.50 points.
(tie). Sean Willingham, 85.5-85.50 points.
8. L.J. Jenkins, 84.5-84.50 points.
9. Robson Palermo, 83.5-83.50 points.
10. Valdiron de Oliveira, 83.25-83.25 points.
11. Nathan Schaper, 82.75-82.75 points.
12. Jordan Hupp, 82.5-82.50 points.
13. Jason Malone, 82-82.00 points.
14. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 81.5-81.50 points.
15. Josh Faircloth, 80.75-80.75 points.
16. Bonner Bolton, 80-80.00 points.
17. Matt Triplett, 76.25-76.25 points.
18. Harve Stewart, 72.75-72.75 points.
19. Silvano Alves, 60.75-60.75 points.
Billy Robinson, 0-0.00 points.
Brady Sims, 0-0.00 points.
Claudio Crisostomo, 0-0.00 points.
Cody Nance, 0-0.00 points.
Emilio Resende, 0-0.00 points.
Gage Gay, 0-0.00 points.
Guilherme Marchi, 0-0.00 points.
J.B. Mauney, 0-0.00 points.
J.W. Harris, 0-0.00 points.
Kasey Hayes, 0-0.00 points.
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0.00 points.
Marco Eguchi, 0-0.00 points.
Mike Lee, 0-0.00 points.
Neil Holmes, 0-0.00 points.
Renato Nunes, 0-0.00 points.
Stormy Wing, 0-0.00 points.
Tanner Byrne, 0-0.00 points.

© 2014 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.