Outlaw Wins Round 1 in Little Rock

By: Heather Croze
March 10, 2017

Chase Outlaw won his fourth BFTS round of the season Friday night. Photo: Andy Watson /

NORTH LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – An Arkansas cowboy brought the Little Rock crowd to their feet Friday night when Chase Outlaw dazzled the home state crowd enroute to the Round 1 victory in the PBR’s (Professional Bull Riders) Bad Boy Mowdown at Verizon Arena.

The Hamburg native rode Lebanon Levi (Spring Creek Ranch/Burkhardt Cattle Co.) for 87.5 points to win his fourth Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS) round, tying him for the league lead. With the victory, Outlaw netted 100 world points and $3,632. Outlaw, who currently sits at No. 5 in the PBR world standings, trails No. 1 Eduardo Aparecido (Gouvelandia, Brazil) by 1,394.85 points heading into the final day of competition. Aparecido did not record a ride in Round 1.

Fabiano Vieira (Perola Parana, Brazil) reached 8 seconds aboard Call the Law (Cord McCoy/K Bar C Bucking Bulls) for 86.25 points to finish second in the round. Vieira, who held the lead most of the night, opened the event with a qualified ride for the third consecutive time, securing him 60 points toward the world standings along with $2,802.

2016 PBR World Champion Cooper Davis (Bula, Texas) tied for third place after riding Sketchy Bob (D&H Cattle Co.) for 86 points. Davis’ ride was his first since Round 2 in Kansas City, and it helped him pick up 45 points toward the world standings along with a $1,702 paycheck.

Canadian Dakota Buttar (Kindersley, Saskatchewan) tied with Davis for second place after his own 86-point ride on One Boot (Lornie & Amy Austin). It was the second weekend in a row that Buttar earned points in the opening round as he netted 45 points and $1,702 after splitting with Davis.

Joao Ricardo Vieira (Itatina, Brazil) turned in an 85.5-point trip aboard Wired Crazy (D&H Cattle Co.) to round out the Top 5 Friday night. Vieira returned to competition this weekend after suffering an injury in St. Louis, and the ride was his first since Round 1 at Iron Cowboy in Arlington, Texas.

Vieira pocketed 30 world points and $902 for the finish.

Friday night also featured a American Bucking Bull Inc. (ABBI) Big Tex Classic event in conjunction with the PBR’s Round 1. GT Bucking Bull’s Smooth Over scored 89.75 points to win first and take home $10,440. In second with an 88.25-point score was Floyd’s 345 (Floyd/Berger), worth $6,480. In third place was 60-3 Inferno from Barthold/D&H, posting a score of 87.75 and adding $4,500 to his coffers to maintain his lead in the season standings with over $25,000 won in 2017 already. Splitting fourth place with scores of 87.5 were 20A High Test (D&H Cattle Co.) and Wild Sky’s (Wyatt/Owens) who each earned a check for $3,240. ABBI paid out $36,000 to the Top 9 finishers.

The best bull riders in the world will return to Verizon Arena one more time for the conclusion of the Bad Boy Mowdown on Saturday night. Each rider will face one more bull in Round 2 before the Top 15 move on to the Build Ford Tough Championship Round where the winner be crowned.

The action will start at 7:30 p.m. ET on PBR LIVE and the PBR LIVE app. CBS Sports Network will also broadcast Round 2 and the championship round on Sunday Mar. 12 at 8 p.m. ET.

PBR Digital Editor Kristian Limas contributed to this report.

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
Bad Boy Mowdown
Verizon Arena, Little Rock, Arkansas
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Chase Outlaw, 87.5-0-0-87.50-100 Points.
2. Fabiano Vieira, 86.25-0-0-86.25-60 Points.
3. Cooper Davis, 86-0-0-86.00-45 Points.
(tie). Dakota Buttar, 86-0-0-86.00-45 Points.
5. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 85.5-0-0-85.50-30 Points.
6. Koal Livingston, 83.25-0-0-83.25-15 Points.
7. Silvano Alves, 82.5-0-0-82.50-5 Points.
Eduardo Aparecido, 0-0-0-0.00
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0-0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0.00
Mason Lowe, 0-0-0-0.00
J.B. Mauney, 0-0-0-0.00
Shane Proctor, 0-0-0-0.00
Derek Kolbaba, 0-0-0-0.00
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0-0-0.00
Claudio Montanha Jr., 0-0-0-0.00
Dener Barbosa, 0-0-0-0.00
Guilherme Marchi, 0-0-0-0.00
Mike Lee, 0-0-0-0.00
Luciano De Castro, 0-0-0-0.00
Brady Sims, 0-0-0-0.00
Reese Cates, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Rodeo Tyler, 0-0-0-0.00
Luis Blanco, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Nance, 0-0-0-0.00
Jake Gowdy, 0-0-0-0.00
Stormy Wing, 0-0-0-0.00
Stetson Lawrence, 0-0-0-0.00
Emilio Resende, 0-0-0-0.00
Troy Wilkinson, 0-0-0-0.00
Sonny Schafferius, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Ford, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Teel, 0-0-0-0.00
Jay Miller, 0-0-0-0.00
Fraser Babbington, 0-0-0-0.00
Paulo Ferreira Lima, 0-0-0-0.00

© 2017 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.