Outlaw wins Round 2 with career-high 90.75 points

By: Denise M. Abbott March 22, 2014@ 11:40:00 PM

Chase Outlaw rides Western Hauler for 90.75 points on Saturday night. Photo by Andy Watson /

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. ― Chase Outlaw brought the crowd of more than 11,400 fans to its feet with the first ride of Round 2 of the Professional Bull Riders Ty Murray Invitational, presented by Sandia Resort & Casino, Saturday night as he rode Western Hauler (Jeff Robinson/Bar 3D Bucking Bulls) for 90.75 points ― the highest ride of the weekend to date and the first 90-point ride of the 21-year-old’s three-year PBR career.

Outlaw, the 2013 PBR Touring Pro Division Champion, had to wait through 33 more rides before he could celebrate as the Round 2 winner. Outlaw currently sits in third place for the event behind a man who is very familiar with being in the No. 1 position, Silvano Alves.

Alves covered Scooter (Corder Bucking Bulls) for 71.50 points and turned down his option for a re-ride to become one of only two men who have covered both of their bulls so far this weekend.  His 158.50 total points has him in first place.

Kansas’s Kasey Hayes is the other man with two successful rides under his belt. Hays rode Blue On Black for 70.75 points and also declined his re-ride option. He is in second place with 156.50 points.

Marco Eguchi sits in fourth place after riding Muddy Kat (Hart Cattle Company) in Round 2 for 88.25 points.

Douglas Duncan, who shared the Round 1 win with Alves, was unable to handle Oscar P (Boyd/Floyd Bull Company) in Round 2, but his Round 1 score of 87 points is enough for him to round out the Top 5 in the overall event average.

Round 3 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round of the Ty Murray Invitational will take place Sunday at 1:50 p.m. CBS Sports Network will carry all the coverage live starting at 4 p.m. ET.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

Albuquerque is the 12th stop of 27 on the 2014 PBR Built Ford Tough Series schedule. The season kicked off Jan. 3-5 at Madison Square Garden in New York and will conclude at the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 22-26 when the 2014 PBR World Champion, the bull rider who earns the most points during the 2014 season, will receive the coveted World Championship belt buckle and a $1 million bonus.

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
Ty Murray Invitational
The Pit in Albuquerque, N.M.
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Event Points)

1. Silvano Alves, 87-71.5-158.50 points.
2. Kasey Hayes, 85.75-70.75-156.50 points.
3. Chase Outlaw, 0-90.75-90.75 points.
4. Marco Eguchi, 0-88.25-88.25 points.
5. Douglas Duncan, 87-0-87.00 points.
6. Matt Triplett, 0-86.75-86.75 points.
7. Ryan Dirteater, 0-86.25-86.25 points.
8. Billy Robinson, 86-0-86.00 points.
9. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-85.5-85.50 points.
(tie). L.J. Jenkins, 0-85.5-85.50 points.
11. Brady Sims, 0-85-85.00 points.
12. Fabiano Vieira, 0-84.5-84.50 points.
13. Emilio Resende, 0-83.25-83.25 points.
14. Eduardo Aparecido, 76.5-0-76.50 points.
Ben Jones, 0-0-0.00 points.
Brant Atwood, 0-0-0.00 points.
Cody Nance, 0-0-0.00 points.
David Scott Mason, 0-0-0.00 points.
Gage Gay, 0-0-0.00 points.
Guilherme Marchi, 0-0-0.00 points.
Guytin Tsosie, 0-0-0.00 points.
Harve Stewart, 0-0-0.00 points.
Jason Malone, 0-0-0.00 points.
Jordan Hupp, 0-0-0.00 points.
Jory Markiss, 0-0-0.00 points.
Josh Birks, 0-0-0.00 points.
Justin Robards, 0-0-0.00 points.
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0-0.00 points.
Markus Mariluch, 0-0-0.00 points.
Renato Nunes, 0-0-0.00 points.
Sean Willingham, 0-0-0.00 points.
Stormy Wing, 0-0-0.00 points.
Tanner Byrne, 0-0-0.00 points.
Ty Pozzobon, 0-0-0.00 points.
Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-0-0.00 points.
Zane Lambert, 0-0-0.00 points.


© 2014 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.