Pacheco Leads the Aggregate of the PBR Monster Energy Buck Off at the Garden

By: Denise M. Abbott
January 16, 2016

Kaique Pacheco leads the event by riding Mac-Nett's Southern Wine for 84 points. Photo By: Andy Watson/

Kaique Pacheco leads the event by riding Mac-Nett’s Southern Wine for 84 points. Photo By: Andy Watson/

NEW YORK – More than 10,700 fans filled Madison Square Garden Saturday and witnessed 2015 Rookie of the Year Kaique Pacheco successfully ride his second bull of the weekend to take the lead in the aggregate at the PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Monster Energy Buck Off at the Garden. Pacheco added an 84-point ride aboard Mac-Nett’s Southern Wine (Jeff Robinson Bucking Bulls) to his 84.5-point performance on Friday to top the event standings with an aggregate score of 168.5 points.

Kasey Hayes captured the Round 2 win Saturday with an 87-point ride aboard Micro Man (Mike Miller Bucking Bulls). Hayes’ ride led the round from the beginning of the night and yielded 125 PBR world standings points for the Liberal, Kansas, bull rider.

With an 86.25-point effort on Big Dan (Cornwell Bucking Bulls), Tyler Harr rode into second place for the round to earn 75 world standings points. Ben Jones opted for a re-ride bull, and bested Mustard Seed (BMC Bucking Bulls/Jeff Robinson) for 86 points to finish third on the night and earn 60 world standings points.

Tying for fourth place were Fabiano Vieira, Shane Proctor and Cody Heffenan. Each man received a score of 85 points for their rides and added 37 points to their world standings totals.

Per the recently expanded points system, Aaron Roy received 10 points for his seventh-place finish, after recording an 84.5-point ride on Circle City (Cornwell Bucking Bulls).

After winning Round 1 and the 15/15 Bucking Battle on Friday, J.W. Harris took a 2.19-second high-flying trip to the dirt and was nearly trampled by Mike Miller Bucking Bulls’ Mishap in Round 2.

Conversely, three-time PBR World Champion Silvano Alves recovered from a helmet-crushing wreck on Friday to put up 82.5 points on Percolator (Jeff Robinson Bucking Bulls) in Round 2, adding his name to the conversation of event winner, which will be determined Sunday.

Round 3 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round of the Monster Energy Buck Off at the Garden takes place at 1:50 p.m. ET Sunday, Jan. 17. All of the action airs on CBS Sports Network at 8:30 p.m. ET following the “Inside the PBR Majors presented by B&W Trailer Hitches” pre-show at 8 p.m. ET.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

Professional Bull Riders – Monster Energy Buck Off at the Garden – New York, NY, 2016  

Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Round 4-Event Aggregate-Event Points) …

1. Kasey Hayes, 0-87-0-0-87.00-125 Points.

2. J.W. Harris, 87-0-0-0-87.00-100 Points.

(tie). Robson Palermo, 87-72-0-0-159.00-100 Points.

4. Tyler Harr, 0-86.25-0-0-86.25-75 Points.

5. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 86.25-0-0-0-86.25-60 Points.

(tie). Ben Jones, 0-86-0-0-86.00-60 Points.

7. Lachlan Richardson, 85.75-0-0-0-85.75-50 Points.

8. Mason Lowe, 85.5-0-0-0-85.50-40 Points.

9. Cody Heffernan, 0-85-0-0-85.00-36.66 Points.

(tie). Shane Proctor, 80.75-85-0-0-165.75-36.66 Points.

(tie). Fabiano Vieira, 82.75-85-0-0-167.75-36.66 Points.

12. J.B. Mauney, 85-0-0-0-85.00-10 Points.

(tie). Ryan Dirteater, 85-0-0-0-85.00-10 Points.

(tie). Robson Aragao, 85-78.75-0-0-163.75-10 Points.

(tie). Aaron Roy, 0-84.5-0-0-84.50-10 Points.

16. Kaique Pacheco, 84.5-84-0-0-168.50

17. Paulo Ferreira Lima, 84.5-81.5-0-0-166.00

18. Silvano Alves, 82.75-82.5-0-0-165.25

19. Wallace Vieira de Oliveira, 84.75-0-0-0-84.75

20. Tanner Byrne, 84.5-0-0-0-84.50

21. Mike Lee, 84.25-0-0-0-84.25

22. Brady Sims, 82.75-0-0-0-82.75

23. Nathan Schaper, 0-82.25-0-0-82.25

24. Emilio Resende, 81.75-0-0-0-81.75

(tie). Eduardo Aparecido, 81.75-0-0-0-81.75

26. Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-81.25-0-0-81.25

27. Cody Nance, 78.25-0-0-0-78.25

28. Reese Cates, 0-78-0-0-78.00

29. Michael Lane, 75.5-0-0-0-75.50

Justin Paton, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Douglas Duncan, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Gage Gay, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Markus Mariluch, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Stetson Lawrence, 0-0-0-0-0.00

Stormy Wing, 0-0-0-0-0.00

© 2016 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.