Pacheco Wins Columbus PBR Touring Pro Event

PUEBLO, Colo. – Kaique Pacheco (Itatiba, Brazil) narrowly edged out Tyler Harr (Slovak, Arkansas) to earn the victory at the Professional Bull Riders Touring Pro Division (TPD) event in Columbus, Georgia, on Jan. 2. Thanks to Pacheco’s last bull of the evening, he was able to post a two-round ride score of 174.0 points as Harr finished in second place with 173.5 points.

Pacheco was one of 25 qualified rides in Round 1 as he finished the round tied for third place with 86.5 points. Harr had the second-highest score of the round with 87 points. In the championship round Harr rode his bull for 86.5 points and looked to be the round leader until Pacheco put up 87.5 points on his ride to take the win.

The win is Pacheco’s second in 2015 after he was victorious in Ontario, California, on Nov. 15. In Columbus, Pacheco took home $4,776.33 while Harr earned a paycheck of $3,955.39.

Michael Lane (North Tazewell, Virginia) was in third place with 172 points taking home $2,015.01, and Scottie Knapp (Albuquerque, New Mexico) captured fourth with 167.5 points for $1,156.76.

The Touring Pro Division schedule will be a busy one this weekend with four events on tap. On Jan. 9-10 the PBR will stop in Bossier City, Louisiana, at the Century Link Center. Zane Cook (Fort Gibson, Oklahoma), Neil Holmes (Houston, Texas), and Derek Kolbaba (Walla Walla, Washington) will be some of the riders competing.

Also on Jan. 9-10 at the Coliseum at Alliant Energy Center in Madison, Wisconsin, such riders as Skyler Sims (Peculiar, Missouri), Cody Tesch (Berthoud, Colorado) and Clint Johnson (Baker City, Oregon) will compete.

The Rainsville, Alabama, Bull Bash will be held Jan. 9-10 at the North East Alabama AG Center. Brian Canter (Randleman, North Carolina), Chad VanAmburg (Archdale, North Carolina) and Eli Vastbinder (Statesville, North Carolina) will highlight the riders competing.

On Jan. 10 at Cowboys Dancehall in San Antonio, Weberson Duarte (Tioga, Texas) and Rocky McDonald (Chihuahua, Mexico) are two of the riders that will be there.

In BlueDEF Velocity Tour (BDVT) news, the tour will continue in Laredo, Texas, on Jan. 10 at the Laredo Energy Arena. Holmes, Cook and Tanner Learmont (Grandview, Texas) are just some of the riders scheduled to compete.

Winners of each 2015 BDVT will be guaranteed a minimum of one opportunity to compete at a BFTS regular season event in an attempt to win enough points to rank among the Top 35 and earn a spot on the elite tour.

On Jan. 12, 13 and 14, the Touring Pro Division will have its finals in Denver at the Denver Coliseum. The three-day event will have several Built Ford Tough Series riders competing to earn points toward the world standings. The TPD event is followed immediately by another TPD event in Pueblo, Colorado.

Among the top riders competing in Denver are current World Champion Silvano Alves (Pilar do Sul, Brazil), 2004 World Champion Mike Lee (Decatur, Texas) and Reese Cates (El Dorado, Arkansas), winner of the first BFTS event of 2015, the Baltimore Invitational.

Professional Bull Riders Touring Pro Series Event Results:
Jan. 2 at TPD event in Columbus, Georgia

Final Results (Round 1-Round 2-Total Ride Score-Earnings)

1. Kaique Pacheco, 86.5-87.5-174.0 points-$4,77.33

2. Tyler Harr, 87-86.5-173.5 points-$3,955.39

3. Michael Lane, 86-86-172.0 points-$2,015.01

4. Scottie Knapp, 84.5-83-167.5 points-$1,156.76

5. Douglas Lino de Souza, 83.5-83-166.5 points-$738.83

© 2015 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.