Pozzobon Wins Round 1 in Tucson

By: Mandi McCary
October 22, 2016

Ty Pozzobon is leading the BFTS event in Tucson, Ariz. Photo: Andy Watson /

Ty Pozzobon is leading the BFTS event in Tucson, Ariz. Photo: Andy Watson /

Tucson, Ariz. Ty Pozzobon (Merritt, Canada) continued his second-half push by winning Round 1 of the PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Cooper Tires Take the Money and Ride, presented by the Ak-Chin Indian Community, with an 87.25-point ride on Old Crow (Jenkins Cattle Co.) Saturday night at the Tucson Convention Center.

Pozzobon earned 100 points toward the PBR world standings and is currently ranked No. 32 in the world standings.

Tucson is the final regular-season Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS) event before the PBR Built Ford Tour World Finals in Las Vegas on Nov. 2-6.

Arkansas native Chase Outlaw (Hamburg, Arkansas) built on his late-season surge by taking second place in the round after an 86.5-point ride on Pistol Pete (JD Nix Rodeo Co.). Outlaw earned 60 world points and is holding steady at No. 29 in the world standings.

Young gun Nevada Newman (Melstone, Montana) finished tied for third place in Round 1, earning 45 points toward the world standings after an 86-point ride aboard Back in Black (Currey Creek Bucking Bulls & Cattle Co.).

Mason Lowe (Exeter, Missouri) earned 45-points toward the world standings after also finishing third in Round 1. Lowe rode Redneck (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Clay Struve) for 86-points. He is sitting at No. 18 in the world standings.

2009 PBR Rookie of the Year Cody Nance (Paris, Tennessee) rounded out the Top 5 after an 85.25-point ride on Yesterday’s Wine (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Clay Struve). Nance picked up 30 points toward the world standings.

The Top 35 bull riders in the world will return Sunday afternoon for the conclusion of the Cooper Tires Take the Money and Ride event at the Tucson Convention Center. Each rider will face one more bull in Round 2 before the Top 15 in the event move on to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round, where the winner will be crowned.

The Cooper Tires Take the Money and Ride event is the final stop on the 2016 PBR BFTS tour before the Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Nov. 2-6 at T-Mobile Arena. After five days of competition, the bull rider who has earned the most PBR world standings points during the 2016 season will be crowned the 2016 PBR World Champion. The winner will receive the coveted $10,000 World Championship belt buckle and a $1 million bonus.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network – the home of the PBR – and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
Cooper Tires Take the Money and Ride presented by the Ak-Chin Indian Community
Tucson Convention Center, Tucson, Arizona
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Ty Pozzobon, 87.25-0-0-87.25-100 Points.
2. Chase Outlaw, 86.5-0-0-86.50-60 Points.
3. Mason Lowe, 86-0-0-86.00-45 Points.
(tie). Nevada Newman, 86-0-0-86.00-45 Points.
5. Cody Nance, 85.25-0-0-85.25-30 Points.
6. Fabiano Vieira, 85-0-0-85.00-15 Points.
7. Aaron Roy, 84.5-0-0-84.50-5 Points.
8. Paulo Ferreira Lima, 84.25-0-0-84.25
(tie). Guilherme Marchi, 84.25-0-0-84.25
10. Jorge Valdiviezo, 83.5-0-0-83.50
11. Stetson Lawrence, 82.5-0-0-82.50
(tie). Silvano Alves, 82.5-0-0-82.50
13. Tanner Byrne, 81.75-0-0-81.75
14. Kaique Pacheco, 81.5-0-0-81.50
15. Eduardo Aparecido, 70-0-0-70.00
Cooper Davis, 0-0-0-0.00
J.B. Mauney, 0-0-0-0.00
Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0-0-0.00
Jess Lockwood, 0-0-0-0.00
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0-0-0.00
Mike Lee, 0-0-0-0.00
Shane Proctor, 0-0-0-0.00
Wallace Vieira de Oliveira, 0-0-0-0.00
Derek Kolbaba, 0-0-0-0.00
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0-0-0.00
Gage Gay, 0-0-0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0.00
Stormy Wing, 0-0-0-0.00
Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-0-0-0.00
Marco Antonio Eguchi, 0-0-0-0.00
Tyler Harr, 0-0-0-0.00
Kasey Hayes, 0-0-0-0.00
Reese Cates, 0-0-0-0.00
Matt Triplett, 0-0-0-0.00

© 2016 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.