Resistol Hosts Celebration for 2016 Rookies of the Year

Rookies receiving their awards at the Southpoint Casino. Photo Courtesy of Resistol

Rookies receiving their awards at the Southpoint Casino. Photo Courtesy of Resistol

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA – While many of the top PRCA competitors have multiple chances throughout their career to win gold buckles and titles in the events they compete in, there is one award that a competitor has only one shot at, the coveted Resistol Rookie of the Year. This award is given out to first year card members who are the high money winner of their event at the end of the season including WNFR. Resistol, one of the original sponsors of the PRCA and official hat of the WNFR, celebrated the 2016 Resistol Rookies with its second annual luncheon to honor each of the recipients. The rookies received airfare, tickets to the rodeo and hotel rooms to attend the special occasion.

Five Resistol Rookies qualified for the WNFR and two of them, in the bullriding, were vying for the final title once results were tabulated after the WNFR. Both bullriders, Roscoe Jarboe and Garrett Tribble, were recognized for their achievement with the final rookie championship saddle and buckle going to Roscoe Jarboe. Other rookie WNFR qualifiers were saddle bronc rider Ryder Wright, bareback rider Clayton Biglow, and WPRA barrel racer Cayla Melby Small.

Family, friends and industry people enjoyed music, food and fellowship as the rookies were honored and individually introduced during the noon hour at the South Point Hotel and Casino on the WNFR’s Resistol Day. The PRCA Resistol Rookies were presented with a custom, personalized 20X Resistol Black Gold hat, trophy carrying case, a beautifully fully tooled trophy Cactus Saddle, a Cactus saddle pad, Yeti Travel Cooler, and a Resistol Rookie leather trophy jacket from Caroll Original Wear.

World Champion and past Resistol Rookie of the Year Joe Beaver, World Champion Tuff Hedeman and past Resistol Rookies of the Year Cash Myers and Rusty Wright each addressed the well-attended event with congratulations to the rookies and sentiments of what the title means. Their messages praised the 2016 Resistol Rookies’ hard work, and noted that is this a once in a lifetime achievement that only a special few achieve and a title they will carry throughout their career. PRCA Commissioner Karl Stressman, Pro Equine Group COO Dustin Noblitt and Resistol General Manager Ricky Bolin also congratulated the Resistol Rookies noting that they are the future of the sport and the PRCA. The Resistol Rookies of the Year were again recognized in the arena during Round 8 of the WNFR and presented their Montana Silversmiths champion buckles.

Taylor Santos, All Around Resistol Rookie of the Year, pictured with all of his awards. Photo Courtesy of Resistol

Taylor Santos, All Around Resistol Rookie of the Year, pictured with all of his awards. Photo Courtesy of Resistol

Resistol also invited and introduced the 2016 National Little Britches Association Resistol Rookies of the Year. Congratulations to these amazing youth rodeo athletes: Shalee King, Senior Girl, Utah; Allen Morse, Senior Boy, Kentucky; Grace Nelson, Junior Girl, Minnesota; Sam Massengill, Junior Boy, Arkansas; Saige Ewing, Little Wrangler, Oklahoma.

Resistol will be promoting the 2016 Resistol Rookies through print and social media and looks forward to returning to the South Point Hotel in 2017 for the 2017 Resistol Rookie Celebration!

Congratulations to the all 2016 PRCA Resistol Rookies of the Year:

All-Around – Taylor Santos, California
Saddle Bronc – Ryder Wright, Utah
Team Roping Header – Dustin Egusquiza, Florida
Team Roping Heeler – Dalton Pearce, California
Tie-Down Roping – Westyn Hughes, Texas
Steer Wrestling – Stephen Culling, Canada
Steer Roping – Matt Garrett, Oklahoma
Bareback – Clayton Biglow, California
Barrel Racing – Cayla Melby Small, Oklahoma
Bullriding – Roscoe Jarboe, Idaho

Since 1927, the Resistol hat brand has been synonymous with providing cowboys with the finest headwear available for the western lifestyle. A division of Hat-Co, Inc, the world’s largest fur-felt hat manufacturer, Resistol Hats are manufactured in Garland, Texas. Resistol is proud to be the only fur-to-felt cowboy hat manufacturer in the United States: American made, Texas proud. Each felt hat goes through over 200 processes under the company’s high standard quality control, thereby producing the most consistent and finest hat known to the world. Resistol provides a full line of felt and straw cowboy hats, as well as full line of men’s and women’s apparel.
For more information check out or; #resistol1927 #teamresistol #weliveiteveryday #bestallaround on all social media.