Smith Raises a Little Cain at Fort Worth Xtreme Bulls

By Johnna Craven/For the Fort Worth Stock Show Rodeo


FORT WORTH, Texas – Oregon cowboy Cain Smith made the most of his opportunities during Bulls’ Night Out at the Fort Worth Stock Show and Rodeo, earning the first win of his three-year ProRodeo career.

Smith, one of 42 cowboys to compete in this Xtreme Bulls Tour event Jan. 21, was up in the second section, but his bull, Morris of 4L and Diamond S Rodeo, stumbled as he left the chute and the judges awarded Smith a re-ride.

The Pendleton, Ore., cowboy had to wait until all the other riders had competed before trying his luck on the re-ride – United Pro Rodeo’s Bird in a Glass. The bull spun to the left and Smith stayed with him for a score of 84.5 points. That tied Guthrie Murray of Miami, Okla., on Smith, Harper & Morgan Rodeo’s Highball, for the highest score of the round.

“I just made the best of my re-ride,” Smith said. “It feels really good because it’s my first win in my PRCA career. I just thank God for the opportunity to ride bulls and do what I love to do.”

The Oregonian began riding sheep when he was just 2½ and continued on through rodeo’s junior high, high school and college ranks. A two-time qualifier at the College National Finals Rodeo, Smith earned associate degrees in animal science and agricultural business at Walla Walla (Wash.) Community College. He’s now on the rodeo trail fulltime, since his graduation in December.

Wednesday’s riders were also competing against the 42 cowboys who rode in Tuesday night’s performance. Scores from both nights were tallied to determine the winners.

Ten riders each night compete in the short round, composed of the 10 highest scores from the night’s long round. If fewer than 10 qualified rides were made, a random draw from all those who were bucked off fills the remaining slots.

None of Tuesday night’s cowboys made a qualified ride in the short round, which left a big opportunity for Wednesday’s riders. The short round starts with the 10th place qualifier and continues down to the first-place qualifier.

Dylan Vick Hice of Escalon, Calif., one of two random replacements, became the first cowboy to ride a short round bull during the 2015 edition of Bulls’ Night Out with an 87-point effort on Hurst Pro Rodeo’s Cactus Jungle. The next seven riders bit the dust until Smith, the final rider of the night, took another turn on a bull that spun to the left.

He rode United Pro Rodeo’s Texas Chrome until the eight-second buzzer, winning the championship with 151.5 points as the only cowboy to make a qualified ride in both the long and short rounds. That feat earned Smith first place in the average and $5,386. He also earned $512 by tying for fifth place in the long round with three other cowboys. His second place in the short round was good for $3,303 and he left Bulls’ Night Out with earnings of more than $9,200, or about three-quarters of what he earned last year in his first full season as a pro.

Ricky Aguiar of Stephenville, Texas, who competed on Tuesday night, won the long round and was second in the average for total winnings of $7,361. Vick Hice, who won the short round, earned $3,878.

The World’s Original Indoor Rodeo takes the arena at Will Rogers Coliseum beginning Friday, January 23, and continues for 29 performances over 16 days.

SWELS – Division 2 Qualifying Event Xtreme Bulls Fort Worth, Texas, Jan. 20-21 Bull riding: First round: 1. Ricky Aguiar, 87.5 points on Hurst Pro Rodeo’s Iron Horse, $3,232; 2. Reid Barker, 86.5, $2,478; 3. Nile Lebaron, 86, $1,831; 4. Shane Proctor, 85.5, $1,185; 5. (tie) Guthrie Murray, Cody Teel, Brett Stall and Cain Smith, 84.5, $512 each.Finals: 1. Dylan Vick, 87 points on Hurst Pro Rodeo’s Cactus Jungle, $2,370; 2. Cain Smith, 67, $1,795; no other qualified rides.Average: 1. Cain Smith, 151.5 points on two head, $5,386; 2. Ricky Aguiar, 87.5, $4,129; 3. Dylan Vick, 87, $3,052; 4. Reid Barker, 86.5, $1,975; 5. Nile Lebaron, 86, $1,257; 6. Shane Proctor, 85.5, $898; 7. Cody Teel, 84.5, $718.Total payoff: $35,369. Stock contractor: Various PRCA Stock Contractors. Sub-contractors: United Pro Rodeo, Andrews Rodeo, Smith, Harper & Morgan, Silver Spurs Club, Hurst Pro Rodeo and 4L & Diamond S Rodeo. Rodeo secretary: Eva Chadwick. Officials:Allan Jordan Jr., Joe Bob Locke, Mike Jones and DeWitt Forrest Jr.. Timers: Kathi Myers and Jolee Jordan. Announcers: Don Gay and Bob Tallman. Bullfighters: Wolverine Burelle, Dusty Tuckness and Nathan Harp. Chute boss: Jim Gay. Pickup man: Josh Edwards.

2015 Rodeo Season

Courtesy of PRCA