Teel Wins 15/15 Bucking Battle in Nampa

By: Heather Croze
October 07, 2017

Cody Teel’s victory Saturday night was his first career 15/15 Bucking Battle win. Photo: Andy Watson /

NAMPA, Idaho. – With the 2017 PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Built Ford Tough World Finals only three weeks away every point toward the PBR world standings matters. Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS) leading rookie Cody Teel (Kountze, Texas) knew that and picked up some crucial points after winning the final 15/15 Bucking Battle of the season Saturday night at the Ford Idaho Center in Nampa.

Teel rode Beaver Creek Beau (Chad Berger/Clay Struve/PBR Rock Bar) for 87.25 points on his way to his first career 15/15 Bucking Battle victory. The ride was Teel’s third ride in his last five outs and it helped the 2012 PRCA champion pocket 150 world points and $11,500.

The ride moved Teel to No. 9 in the world standings and padded his lead in the Rookie of the Year race.

Not to be outdone, fellow rookie, and 2016 PBR Brazil Champion, Dener Barbosa (Paulo de Faria, Brazil) finished in second place after riding Moto Moto (Jane Clark/Gene Owen) for 87 points. Barbosa earned 90 world points and $9,500 points for the finish, and trails Teel in the Rookie of the Year race by 312.5 points.

Meanwhile, Pearl Harbor (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Clay Struve/H&C Bucking Bulls) regained the lead in the World Champion Bull race after disposing of Chase Outlaw (Hamburg, Arkansas) in the 15/15 Bucking Battle to the tune of a 46.25-point bull score. Pearl Harbor was previously in a tie for the lead with reigning World Champion SweetPro’s Bruiser (D&H Cattle Co.) who is not competing this weekend.

No rider in the Top 5 of the world standings recorded a qualified ride in Saturday’s extra round of competition.

Fans can see the 15/15 Bucking Battle exclusively on CBS national television at 3 p.m. ET, check your local listings.

Earlier in the evening No. 6 Outlaw took home the Round 1 victory after riding Blackberry Smoke (New West Rodeos) for 88.75 points. The ride was crucial for Outlaw, who picked up ground on No. 1 Eduardo Aparecido (Gouvelandia, Brazil) by earning 100 world points and $3,580.

With the round win, Outlaw has a second-best nine round victories on the season and now trails Aparecido by 1175.84 points.

Australian Lachlan Richardson (Gresford) also picked up some big points when he secured a second-place finish in Round 1. Richardson covered Long Haired Outlaw (New West Rodeos) for 88.25 points and picked up 60 world points and $2,750.

The points moved Richardson No. 35 in the world standings.

Brazilian rookie Luciano de Castro (Santo Antonio da Barra, Brazil) finished in third place after turning in an 87-point trip aboard Roll Your Own (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Clay Struve). Castro secured 50 world points and $2,000 for the effort.

Stormy Wing (Dalhart, Texas) and Dakota Buttar (Kindersley, Saskatchewan, Canada) tied for fourth place Saturday in Nampa after recording matching 86.75-point rides. Wing covered Mayhem (Nunes Livestock) while Buttar reached the 8-second buzzer on Voo Doo Too(Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Clay Struve). Each rider took home 35 world points and $1,075.

Round 1 will be available on demand at starting at 8 a.m. ET on Oct. 8.

The Top 35 bull riders in the world will return to Ford Idaho Center on Sunday for Championship Sunday of the DeWalt Guaranteed Tough Invitational, presented by Ariat.

Each rider will face one more bull in Round 2 before the Top 15 will move on to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round where a winner will be crowned.

The Championship Sunday action will be available on demand at starting at 8 a.m. ET on Oct. 9. CBS Sports Network will also broadcast Championship Sunday starting at 6 p.m. ET Oct. 8.

PBR Digital Editor Kristian Limas contributed to this report.

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
15/15 Bucking Battle
Ford Idaho Center, Nampa, Idaho
Event Leaders (Round 1-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Cody Teel, 87.25-87.25-150 Points.
2. Dener Barbosa, 87-87.00-90 Points.
Eduardo Aparecido, 0-0.00
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0.00
Derek Kolbaba, 0-0.00
Cooper Davis, 0-0.00
Chase Outlaw, 0-0.00
Stormy Wing, 0-0.00
Fabiano Vieira, 0-0.00
Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0.00
Stetson Lawrence, 0-0.00
Claudio Montanha Jr., 0-0.00
Marco Antonio Eguchi, 0-0.00
Silvano Alves, 0-0.00

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
DeWalt Guaranteed Tough Invitational, presented by Ariat
Ford Idaho Center, Nampa, Idaho
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Chase Outlaw, 88.75-0-0-88.75-100 Points.
2. Lachlan Richardson, 88.25-0-0-88.25-60 Points.
3. Luciano De Castro, 87-0-0-87.00-50 Points.
4. Stormy Wing, 86.75-0-0-86.75-35 Points.
(tie). Dakota Buttar, 86.75-0-0-86.75-35 Points.
6. Shane Proctor, 86.5-0-0-86.50-15 Points.
7. Mike Lee, 86-0-0-86.00-5 Points.
8. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 85.5-0-0-85.50
9. Cody Campbell, 85-0-0-85.00
10. Troy Wilkinson, 84-0-0-84.00
11. Eduardo Aparecido, 83.5-0-0-83.50
12. Nathan Burtenshaw, 82-0-0-82.00
13. Gage Gay, 79-0-0-79.00
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0-0-0.00
Derek Kolbaba, 0-0-0-0.00
Cooper Davis, 0-0-0-0.00
Fabiano Vieira, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Teel, 0-0-0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0.00
Dener Barbosa, 0-0-0-0.00
Stetson Lawrence, 0-0-0-0.00
Claudio Montanha Jr., 0-0-0-0.00
Marco Antonio Eguchi, 0-0-0-0.00
Silvano Alves, 0-0-0-0.00
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0-0-0.00
Guilherme Marchi, 0-0-0-0.00
Emilio Resende, 0-0-0-0.00
Ramon de Lima, 0-0-0-0.00
Brennon Eldred, 0-0-0-0.00
Koal Livingston, 0-0-0-0.00
Jordan Hansen, 0-0-0-0.00
Alex Marcilio, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Rodeo Tyler, 0-0-0-0.00
J.W. Harris, 0-0-0-0.00
Jake Gowdy, 0-0-0-0.00

© 2017 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.