Veteran Malone back on BFTS

By: Jordan Marie Johnson April 01, 2014@ 09:10:00 AM

Jason Malone is competing at the upcoming DeWALT Guaranteed Tough Invitational. Photo by Andy Watson /

PUEBLO, Colo. ― At the Professional Bull Riders BlueDEF Velocity Tour stop in Omaha, Neb., last weekend, Jason Malone (San Antonio) was the only rider to cover both of his bulls for his second Touring Pro Division event win of the 2014 season.

Malone tied for third in the long round with an 89-point effort, and although his short-go ride was only scored 59.5 points, that was all the 30-year-old needed to claim the victory and earn $4,371.12 in winnings.

Budd Williamson (Ayr, Australia) landed in second place with his 90-point ride in the long round for $3,395.75, while Kurt Shepard (Atherton, Australia) finished in third place with 89.5 points and $2,167.50.

A runner-up two weeks ago at the Velocity Tour event in Wheeling, W.V.,Chad VanAmburg (Archdale, N.C.) entered the Wilkes-Barre, Pa., Invitational this past Friday and successfully earned the “W”.

VanAmburg’s 87-point, first-place finish in the short go catapulted him from a tie for fifth place with 84 points after the long round into a victory and a payout of $4,070.23.

Peyton Stewart (Charlotte, N.C.) landed second place with 170 points overall and $2,735.73. Rounding out the Top 3 was fellow North Carolina native Josh Faircloth with 167.5 points and $1,267.78.

Thad Newell (Haskell, Okla.) picked up 86.5 points in the long round and 88 points in the short go of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation PBR event Saturday for a total of 174.5 points and the win. Newell took home $4,840.75 in earnings.

Dakota Beck (Moses Lake, Wash.) and up-and-coming Brazilian sensation Kaique Pacheco de Oliveira notched 172 points apiece to tie for second place, earning $2,131.37 and $2,456.37, respectively.

Malone, VanAmburg and Newell have all earned alternate bids to the Built Ford Tough Series DeWALT Guaranteed Tough Invitational in Boise, Idaho, April 4-5 at the Ford Idaho Center. Both VanAmburg and Newell will be making their BFTS debuts.

The TPD will stop in Illinois, Texas, Washington, Utah and Alabama this weekend.

The PBR Peoria Invitational is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. on both Friday, April 4, and Saturday, April 5, at the Peoria Civic Center. Blanco and Matt Bohon(Cole Camp, Mo.) are scheduled to ride.

The Waco PBR event will also take place at 7:30 p.m. on Friday and Saturday at the Extraco Events Center featuring Brant Atwood (Pampa, Texas) and Pacheco de Oliveira.

Beck, Shawn Best II (Omak, Wash.) and Stetson Lawrence (Williston, N.D.) are all expected to compete at the Northwest Washington Fairgrounds during the Lynden PBR event on Friday and Saturday, beginning at 8 p.m. both nights.

On Saturday at 7:30 p.m., the Mobile PBR Challenge will begin in Mobile, Ala., at the Mobile Civic Center with Scottie Knapp (Stephenville, Texas) and J.T. McDowell (Bayonet, Ala.) ready to ride.

Salt Lake City will host Travis Briscoe (Edgewood, N.M.), Dusty Ephrom(Kenosee Lake, Canada) and Montana Hand (Wittman, Ariz.), as well as many other PBR bull riders this Saturday as The PBR’s BlueDEF Velocity Tour makes a stop at the Maverik Center. Competition will begin at 7 p.m.

Professional Bull Riders Touring Pro Series Event Results:
March 28-29 at the Century Link Center in Omaha, Neb.
Final Results (Round 1-Round 2-Total Points-Earnings)

1. Jason Malone, 89-59.5-148.5 points, $4,371.12
2. Budd Williamson, 90-0-90 points, $3,395.75
3. Kurt Shepard, 89.5-0-89.5 points, $2,167.50
4. Clint Connelly, 89-0-89 points, $1,336.62
5. Brant Atwood, 86-0-86 points, $606.90

March 28-29 at the Mohegan Sun Arena in Wilkes-Barre, Pa.
Final Results (Round 1-Round 2-Total Points-Earnings)

1. Chad VanAmburg, 84-87.5-171.5 points, $4,070.23
2. Peyton Stewart, 83.5-86.5-170 points, $2,735.73
3. Josh Faircloth, 82-85.5-167.5 points, $1,267.78
3. Luis Blanco, 82.5-85-167.5 points, $1,161.02
5. Joshua Baker, 80-87-167 points, $1,174.36

March 28-29 at the Tulsa RV Ranch Arena in Beggs, Okla.
Final Results (Round 1-Round 2-Total Points-Earnings)

1. Thad Newell, 86.5-88-174.5 points, $4,840.75
2. Dakota Beck, 85.5-86.5-172 points, $2,131.37
2. Kaique Pacheco de Oliveira, 86.5-85.5-172 points, $2,456.50
4. Jesse Van Nek, 84.5-87-171.5 points, $1,553.37
5. Derek Powell, 84-86.5-170.5 points, $715.27

Top 10 Touring Pro Division Rankings

1. Jason Malone, 995.00 points
2. Jay Miller, 905.75 points
3. Chad VanAmburg, 880.12 points
4. Gage Gay, 844.87 points
5. Josh Faircloth, 813.68 points
6. David Scott Mason, 710.12 points
7. Brady Sims, 671.00 points
8. Brenton Chaffin, 668.18 points
9. Tanner Byrne, 560.75 points
10. Jared Farley, 547.75 points


© 2014 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.