Wing Wins 15/15 Bucking Battle in Tulsa

By: Heather Croze
August 12, 2017

Stormy Wing’s 15/15 Bucking Battle win Saturday tied him with Chase Outlaw for the most round wins in the BFTS with six. Photo: Andy Watson /

TULSA, Okla. – Stormy Wing (Dalhart, Texas) started the second half of the PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS) right where he left off in May when he won the 15/15 Bucking Battle at the Express Employment Professionals Classic, presented by Osage Casino, Saturday night in Tulsa at the BOK Center.

Wing turned in an 89.5-point ride aboard Wired Child (01 Cattle Co) to win the special round, netting him 150 world points and $7,000. The victory was Wing’s sixth round win of the season, tying him with Chase Outlaw(Hamburg, Arkansas) for the most in the BFTS.

The No. 8 ranked rider in the PBR world standings now trails current world leader Eduardo Aparecido (Gouvelandia, Brazil), who was bucked off in the 15/15 Bucking Battle, by 1,220 points.

Matt Triplett (Columbia Falls, Montana) finished in second place in the 15/15 Bucking Battle after he rode Cochise (Jane Clark/Gene Owen) for 88 points. Triplett became only the second rider to cover the bull on the BFTS this season, and it earned him 90 points toward the world standings and $5,000.

Fellow Montana cowboy Jess Lockwood (Volborg, Montana) came in third place after he made a statement 87.5-point ride on Seven Dust (Jane Clark/Gene Owen). Lockwood broke Seven Dust’s 14 consecutive buck off streak with the ride, and joined Australian Lachlan Richardson(Thackerville, Oklahoma, in 2016) as the only riders to cover the bovine athlete on the BFTS.

Lockwood secured 75 world points and $4,000 for the effort. He trails Aparecido by 690 points heading into Sunday’s Round 2.

2016 PBR World Champion Cooper Davis (Jasper, Texas) rode his way to fourth place after an 86-point trip on Right Turn Clyde (Samford/Schroeder). Davis, who placed sixth in Round 1 earlier in the evening, ended Saturday night with 75 total world points and $3,600.

Kaique Pacheco (Itatiba, Brazil), the No. 2 ranked rider in the world, narrowed Aparecido’s lead even further when he rode Lester Gillis(Folds/Strickland) for 85.5 points to finish in fifth place. Pacheco picked up 45 world points and $2,000, and cut Aparecido’s lead to just 60 points.

Current PBR Rookie of the Year frontrunner, Cody Teel (Kountze, Texas), rounded out the Top 6 in the 15/15 Bucking Battle when he rode Big City (Jane Clark/Gene Owen) for 82.5 points. Teel earned 25 world points for the performance.

Fans can catch the 15/15 Bucking Battle on CBS at 1 p.m. ET on Sunday, Aug. 13.

Earlier in the evening, Lockwood won the first round of the second half when he conquered Astro (NIP Ranch/Melton Bull Co.) for 87.5 points. Lockwood, who is starting the stretch run of the season as the No. 3 ranked rider in the world after earning 372.5 world points over the summer break, kept his momentum rolling Saturday with the round win.

The 2016 PBR Rookie of the Year picked up an additional 100 points toward the world standings and $3,580.

Oklahoma native Ryan Dirteater (Hulbert, Oklahoma), took second place in Round 1 after he reached the 8-second mark aboard JJ (JK Elite/Young Bird/Cord McCoy) for 87 points. It has been a productive weekend for Dirteater, who hosted a team roping event with some of the PBR’s best to raise money for the Make a Wish Foundation on Friday.

On Saturday, he rode that wave of good will to 60 world points and $2,750 on Saturday.

2008 World Champion Guilherme Marchi (Itupeva, Brazil), 2017 PBR Australia Champion Troy Wilkinson (Upper Horton, Australia) and Emilio Resende (Santa Helena do Goias, Brazil) all tied for third place after recording matching 85.5-point rides.

Marchi rode Livin’ Large (Martinez Bucking Bulls) in Round 1, his record 602nd qualified ride on the BFTS. Wilkinson answered with his own ride on Big Crush (Dunlap/Halpain). Resende grabbed his share of third place when he rode Bezerk (Jeff Robinson/BMC).

Each rider earned 40 points toward the world standings and a check for $1383.33.

Davis rounded out the Top 6 when he rode Fur’d Up Cookie (No Credit Bucking Bulls/Sam&Shannon Mitchell) for 84.25 points.

The elite riders of the BFTS will return to the BOK Center for Championship Sunday of the PBR Express Employment Professionals Classic tomorrow afternoon. Each rider will face one more bull in Round 2 before the Top 15 advance to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round where a winner will be crowned.

The action will begin at 2:30 p.m. ET on PBR LIVE and the PBR LIVE app, both of which are free to fans. CBS Sports Network will also broadcast the championship round at 5:30 p.m. ET.

PBR Digitial Editor Kristian Limas contributed to this report. 

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
15/15 Bucking Battle, Express Employment Professionals Classic, presented by Osage Casino
BOK Center, Tulsa, Oklahoma
Event Leaders (Round 1-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Stormy Wing, 89.5-89.50-150 Points.
2. Matt Triplett, 88-88.00-90 Points.
3. Jess Lockwood, 87.5-87.50-75 Points.
4. Cooper Davis, 86-86.00-60 Points.
5. Kaique Pacheco, 85.5-85.50-45 Points.
6. Cody Teel, 82.5-82.50-25 Points.
Eduardo Aparecido, 0-0.00
Derek Kolbaba, 0-0.00
Chase Outlaw, 0-0.00
Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0.00
Shane Proctor, 0-0.00
Cody Nance, 0-0.00
Claudio Montanha Jr., 0-0.00
Marco Antonio Eguchi, 0-0.00

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
Express Employment Professionals Classic, presented by Osage Casino
BOK Center, Tulsa, Oklahoma
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Round 4-Round 5-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Jess Lockwood, 87.5-0-0-87.50-100 Points.
2. Ryan Dirteater, 87-0-0-87.00-60 Points.
3. Guilherme Marchi, 85.5-0-0-85.50-40 Points.
(tie). Troy Wilkinson, 85.5-0-0-85.50-40 Points.
(tie). Emilio Resende, 85.5-0-0-85.50-40 Points.
6. Cooper Davis, 84.25-0-0-84.25-15 Points.
7. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 84-0-0-84.00-5 Points.
8. J.W. Harris, 83-0-0-83.00
9. Stormy Wing, 82.5-0-0-82.50
10. Eduardo Aparecido, 82.25-0-0-82.25
11. Nevada Newman, 74.5-0-0-74.50
12. Tanner Byrne, 74.25-0-0-74.25
13. Cody Nance, 53.5-0-0-53.50
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0-0-0.00
Derek Kolbaba, 0-0-0-0.00
Chase Outlaw, 0-0-0-0.00
Matt Triplett, 0-0-0-0.00
Mason Lowe, 0-0-0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Teel, 0-0-0-0.00
Shane Proctor, 0-0-0-0.00
Claudio Montanha Jr., 0-0-0-0.00
Marco Antonio Eguchi, 0-0-0-0.00
Fabiano Vieira, 0-0-0-0.00
Silvano Alves, 0-0-0-0.00
Dener Barbosa, 0-0-0-0.00
Luciano De Castro, 0-0-0-0.00
Stetson Lawrence, 0-0-0-0.00
Mike Lee, 0-0-0-0.00
Gage Gay, 0-0-0-0.00
Brennon Eldred, 0-0-0-0.00
Koal Livingston, 0-0-0-0.00
Dakota Buttar, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Rodeo Tyler, 0-0-0-0.00
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0-0-0.00

© 2017 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.