WNFR Daily News and Notes, Dec. 9

by | Dec 09, 2015

Singer, songwriter and recording artist Steve Amerson is the opening act and the national anthem will be performed by Nellis Air Force Base military personnel. Boyd Gaming is the performance sponsor.


Tonight’s Wrangler NFR presented by Polaris RANGER will be televised live and in HD on CBS Sports Net (DISH Network channel 158 and DirecTV channel 221) from 7-10 p.m. PT with Jeff Medders and Butch Knowles announcing, Joe Beaver and Don Gay providing commentary, Suzanne Alexander hosting the pre-show and Kadee Coffman as the sideline reporter. All 10 performances of the 2015 Wrangler NFR will be available live with a video-on-demand option via pay-per-view exclusively in Canada, Brazil, Mexico and Australia. ProRodeo Live is airing coverage on a network of radio stations, including Rural Radio, and also online at with Steve Kenyon the lead announcer.


Bareback rider Clint Cannon and bull rider Wesley Silcox have been doctor released from Wednesday’s Round 7 performance. Cannon and Silcox were both diagnosed with mild traumatic brain injuries after being bucked off in Round 6. Justin Sportsmedicine Team Medical Director Dr. Tandy Freeman put both cowboys through a battery of tests Wednesday morning before deciding to withhold them from tonight’s performance. Cannon and Silcox are required by Wrangler NFR rules to also sit out Round 8. Dr. Freeman will re-evaluate each cowboy Friday morning to determine if they can return to competition in Round 9.


After his record-breaking tie-down roping win on Tuesday night, Trevor Brazile is in serious contention for the third Triple Crown of his career, poised to join Jim Shoulders as the only cowboys to win three gold buckles in the same year three times. There have only been 10 cowboys in ProRodeo history to claim a Triple Crown and only Shoulders (1956-58), Brazile (2007, 2010) and Everett Bowman (1935, 1937) have done it more than once. Brazile clinched his 13th all-around world championship last night to go with his earlier triumph in steer roping last month to bring his career total to 23 and is now just $8,575 behind Tuf Cooper in the tie-down roping standings while standing fourth in the average race to Cooper’s 15th. Brazile’s rise to become ProRodeo’s first $6 million man is progressing nicely as well. Last night’s big check brought his career earnings to $5,941,936 with four rounds of team roping and tie-down roping to go, not to mention the average checks. This is the second-consecutive year that he has earned more than $100,000 in each of three events. Nobody else has done it once.


Kaycee Feild’s two round wins thus far brings his career total to 19, breaking a second-place tie with Marvin Garrett (17). Only Bobby Mote has more with 25. Steven Peebles, who is doing his level best to ruin Feild’s run of four consecutive world championships and four WNFR average titles, is leading all competitors in the RAM Top Gun Award standings with $108,683.


Bull riding is the only event which has not had a repeat winner through the first six rounds, but that is far from unprecedented. In 2012, there was a different winner each of the first nine nights before Shane Proctor won for a second time in Round 10. The odd part is that Sage Kimzey – who won the gold buckle and the average last year – has yet to win a round this year after winning an event-record-tying four rounds in 2014.


Peebles has a chance to deposit more money in his bank account tonight as he drew Andrews Rodeo’s PTSD Power Play – a horse which carried Clint Laye to an 88-point ride in Rodeo Austin March 28. Speaking of Laye, he draws Korkow Rodeo’s Inky. Tim O’Connell had an 89-point ride on Inky to win the Dixie (Miss.) National Rodeo Feb. 18. Feild had an 88-point ride on that horse to win the Spanish Fork (Utah) Fiesta Days Rodeo July 24. Feild drew Rafter H Rodeo Livestock’s Storm Cloud. Will Lowe had an 88-point ride on Storm Cloud to win the Sikeston (Mo.) Jaycee Bootheel Rodeo Aug. 8. Seth Hardwick drew Growney Brothers Rodeo’s Beaver Fever, the same horse Peebles won Round 2 on with an 84.5-point ride. Bradley Harter drew Beutler & Son Rodeo’s Killer Bee, who owns three of the top 17 saddle bronc scores of 2015. Rusty Wright drew Frontier Rodeo’s Tip Off. Wade Sundell took second place on Tip Off in Round 2 with an 82.5-point score. Bull rider Parker Breding draws Andrews Rodeo’s Bell Ringer, who carried Joe Frost to the win in Round 4 with an 85.5-point ride. Clayton Foltyn is matched with United Pro Rodeo’s Maximum Justice, a bull that Kody DeShon rode in Round 4 to split third place and Brennon Eldred rode for 86 points to win the first round at Cheyenne (Wyo.) Frontier Days.

Record times and scores for the seventh round of the WNFR:

Bareback riding: 91.5 points, Bobby Mote, 2008 (equals arena record)
Steer wrestling: 3.1 seconds, Matt Reeves, 2013
Team roping: 3.6 seconds, Derrick Begay/Cesar de la Cruz, 2009; Clay Tryan/Travis Graves, 2012
Saddle bronc riding: 90 points, Billy Etbauer, 2009
Tie-down roping: 6.7 seconds, Trevor Brazile, 2007; Cody Ohl, 2013
Barrel racing: 13.47 seconds, Taylor Jacob, 2013
Bull riding: 94.5 points, J.W. Harris, 2010

Courtesy of PRCA