Arena Record Caps off 2019 WPRA World Finals

Tillar Murray
Photo by James Phifer |

WACO, TEXAS — The 2019 WPRA World Finals came to an electric finish with Wrangler NFR qualifier Tillar Murray setting a new arena record inside the Extraco Event Center in Waco, Texas.

Murray, of Fort Worth, Texas, won the short round in the WPRA Card Holder Race on Sunday, October 27 stopping the clock in a time of 15.534 seconds. The previous record prior to today was held by Taylor Langdon with a 15.57 set earlier this month at the Heart O’ Texas Fair & Rodeo. That time was bested twice during the WPRA World Finals with two-time WPRA World Champion Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi running Ima Famous Babe stopping the clock in 15.564 seconds as the ninth runner out on Sunday. Murray came eight runners on Royal Star Commander later and turned in the record run.

“I can always tell when Commander walks down the alley if it’s going to be a nice run and today he came to win,” said Murray after the record run. “Win or lose though, I treasure every run I get to make on him.”

Alex Lang captured the average title in the cardholder race an earned a spot in the 2020 RodeoHouston. Lang finished with 47.223 on three runs on Angels On The Moon, barely edging first-time Wrangler NFR qualifier Dona Kay Rule who finished with a 47.225 on the 2019 Barrel Racing Horse of the Year High Valor. Pozzi Tonozzi was third in a total time of 47.250 and Murray took fifth with a 47.481.

Pozzo Tonozzi took the average title in the Derby division riding Ima Famous Babe with a two –run time of 31.336, followed by Kelsey Lutjen on VF Chasin Cans with a 31.440. Hilary Van Gerpen won the world title aboard PC Judge Cash N Lace the same mount she won the WPRA Futurity World Title a year ago.

Kassie Mowry aboard Famous Ladies Man took the futurity average title at the WPRA World Finals with a 31.712, while Cayla Small on Slick N Black was second in 31.993. Karen Gleason won the world title aboard Mobetta Fame. Colleen Vondra took home the Futurity 2D World Title on SCF Lakewood Fame.

In the Junior Division it was McKenzie Morgan taking home her first WPRA Junior World Championship. Morgan of Maryville, Tennessee won over $40,500 on the year and although she didn’t compete in Waco, her lead was too great for anyone to catch her. Taking home the average title in the junior division from Waco was Paige Jones on High Cotton Lane. She finished with a two run time of 31.577 to edge Alexis Lynch on Firin To Be A Hero with a 32.165.

Winning the Permit only race was Jessie Domann with a 48.422 on three runs. She easily filled her permit picking up $1,036 for the average alone.

A full list of results can be found at

Courtesy of WPRA