Baltimore Invitational Game Notes

BFTS IS BACK – The Professional Bull Riders elite Built Ford Tough Series will commence the 2015 season by returning to Royal Farms Arena in Baltimore, Maryland, for the first time since 2012. This is the eighth year overall that the PBR has visited Charm City. The competition will begin at 8 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 2 and at 7 p.m. on Saturday, Jan. 3.

ON DECK – The Chicago Invitational at Allstate Arena is up next, as the PBR heads to Chicago, Illinois, Jan. 10-11. The event will take place at 7 p.m. on Saturday, Jan. 10 and at 2 p.m. on Sunday, Jan. 11.

PAST BALTIMORE EVENT WINNERS – PBR World Champions Justin McBride and J.B. Mauney were the first and last riders to win the Baltimore BFTS event. McBride claimed the title in 2001 and Mauney earned the win in 2012.

2012 J.B. Mauney
2010 Valdiron de Oliveira
2009 Kasey Hayes
2008 Ross Coleman
2003 Jody Newberry & Lee Akin
2002 Tony Mendes
2001 Justin McBride

FORMAT – This weekend, the Top 35 bull riders on the BFTS will compete in Round 1 on Friday night and Round 2 on Saturday night, facing one bull in each round. The riders with the Top 15 scores after two rounds will advance to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round on Saturday for an additional ride and a chance at the $30,000 event title.

POSSIBLE POINTS – There are 700 possible points available in Baltimore, as the winner of the event will receive 400 points and each of the three round wins is worth 100 points apiece.

PROVIDING PROTECTION – The Dickies® Bullfighters this weekend are Jesse Byrne of Okotoks, Alberta; Cody Webster of Purcell, Oklahoma; and Frank Newsom of Paoli, Oklahoma.

TELEVISION BROADCAST – PBR LIVE via will broadcast the Baltimore Invitational in real time at 8 p.m. ET on Friday, Jan. 2, and at 7 p.m. ET on Saturday, Jan. 3. PBR LIVE is now available at no charge to all fans and media. Visit to view.

CBS Sports Network will broadcast Round 2 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round of the Baltimore Invitational at 10 p.m. ET on Saturday, Jan. 3. Veteran broadcaster Craig Hummer will provide the play-by-play, and color commentary will be provided by nine-time World Champion and PBR co-founder Ty Murray, while Leah Garcia will handle dirt-level interviews.


© 2015 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.

Related Content