Barbosa and Mitchell Split Round 1 Win at PBR Ariat Invitational in Milwaukee

By: Mandi McCary

MILWAUKEE – Marking the first time the PBR (Professional Bull Riders) premier series has visited Milwaukee since 2018, Round 1 of the PBR Ariat Invitational on Friday night ended with Dener Barbosa (Paulo de Faria, Brazil) and Bob Mitchell (Steelville, Missouri) tied for the win with matching 87.25-point scores.

As the night began and snow flurries started to fall outside of Fiserv Forum, Mitchell brought the heat, paired with American Gangster (Jane Clark/Gene Owen). Firing out of the chutes, fans were at full volume as the 19-year-old from Missouri was in complete control, besting his bovine opponent.

Arriving in Wisconsin in the No. 19 spot in the world standings, the win propelled Mitchell to No. 12.

Later in Round 1, Barbosa was matched with War Dress (Jane Clark/ Gene Owen). As the steadfast young Brazilian launched from the chutes and made the 8, he clinched his second round win of the 2022 season. He now holds the No. 7 spot in the world standings.

Both cowboys collected 23 world points for their efforts.

Despite placing outside the Top 5 in Round 1, current world leader Joao Ricardo Vieira (Itatinga, Brazil) collected 11 world points for his 85.5-point ride aboard Stunt Man Ray (Next Level Bucking Bulls). Heading into Round 2 in Milwaukee, he maintains his hold at the top of the world standings.

A mere 7.5 world points behind Vieira in the world standings, No. 2 Kyler Oliver (Roy, Utah) gained ground as he tied for sixth place and collected 13 world points for his 86.25-point ride aboard Crime Time (C Check Bucking Bulls).

Reigning PBR World Champion Jose Vitor Leme’s (Ribas do Rio Pardo, Brazil) night was less than ideal as he was unseated after 4.26 seconds in his matchup with Lonesome Fugitive (Bierema Rodeo Inc).

New York’s Daylon Swearingen (Piffard, New York) finished in third place in Round 1.

With his signature slight grin, Swearingen stood quietly on the back of the chutes before his ride aboard Spastica (Bierema Rodeo Inc). Showcasing what drove him to the top of his high school and college rodeo career, the 22-year-old proved his talent with an 87-point score.

For his efforts, Swearingen earned 17 world points to maintain his hold on the No. 3 spot in the world standings.

2021 PBR Rookie of the Year Eli Vastbinder (Statesville, North Carolina) put it all on the line as the two-day event began. His pairing with Cherry Bomb (Flinn/ D&H Cattle Co) was the perfect match as he finished in fourth place.

His resounding 86.75-point score earned the new father 16 world points. Starting the night at No. 11, he moved up one spot to begin Saturday at No. 10 in the world standings.

Seven-time PBR World Finals qualifier Matt Triplett (Canton, South Dakota) rounded out the Top 5 in the round after he bested Friendly Fire (Lari Crane/ Gene Owen) for a rewarding 86.5-point score. His Top-5 finish brought the 30-year-old rider 15 world points to climb from No. 21 in the world standings to No. 18.

The PBR Ariat Invitational will continue on Saturday, Feb. 4 at 6:45 p.m. CST with Round 2, followed by the championship round.

PBR RidePass on Pluto TV will offer re-airs and on-demand replays of every PBR Unleash The Beast event. PBR RidePass is available on desktops, laptops and mobile devices via Tune to channel 720 for the latest programming schedule.

PBR Unleash The Beast – PBR Ariat Invitational
Fiserv Forum -Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Dener Barbosa, 87.25-0-0-87.25-23 Points.
(tie). Bob Mitchell, 87.25-0-0-87.25-23 Points.
3. Daylon Swearingen, 87-0-0-87.00-17 Points.
4. Eli Vastbinder, 86.75-0-0-86.75-16 Points.
5. Matt Triplett, 86.5-0-0-86.50-15 Points.
6. Kyler Oliver, 86.25-0-0-86.25-13 Points.
(tie). Cody Teel, 86.25-0-0-86.25-13 Points.
(tie). Jess Lockwood, 86.25-0-0-86.25-13 Points.
9. João Ricardo Vieira, 85.5-0-0-85.50-11 Points.
10. Rafael Henrique dos Santos, 85.25-0-0-85.25-10 Points.
11. Eduardo Aparecido, 85-0-0-85.00-9 Points.
12. Marco Eguchi, 84.5-0-0-84.50-8 Points.
Mauricio Gulla Moreira, 0-0-0-0.00
Stetson Lawrence, 0-0-0-0.00
Dalton Kasel, 0-0-0-0.00
Luciano De Castro, 0-0-0-0.00
Mason Taylor, 0-0-0-0.00
Marcelo Procopio Pereira, 0-0-0-0.00
Alex Cardozo, 0-0-0-0.00
Cannon Cravens, 0-0-0-0.00
Chase Dougherty, 0-0-0-0.00
Andrew Alvidrez, 0-0-0-0.00
Jose Vitor Leme, 0-0-0-0.00
João Henrique Lucas, 0-0-0-0.00
Claudio Montanha Jr., 0-0-0-0.00
Marcos Gloria, 0-0-0-0.00
Brady Oleson, 0-0-0-0.00
Brennon Eldred, 0-0-0-0.00
Keyshawn Whitehorse, 0-0-0-0.00
Silvano Alves, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Jesus, 0-0-0-0.00
Boudreaux Campbell, 0-0-0-0.00
Paulo Ferreira Lima, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Nance, 0-0-0-0.00

© 2022 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.

Related Content