Four Teams Make Roster Changes Ahead of Final Weekend of Division B Play at Monster Energy Team Challenge

PUEBLO, Colo. – The Division B playoff race at the PBR Monster Energy Team Challenge, presented by U.S. Border Patrol, remains extremely tight with one game separating teams No. 2-5 in the divisional standings.

Four teams – No. 5 Team Boot Barn (1-2), No. 6 Team Cat (0-3), No. 3 Team Pendleton Whisky (2-1) and No. 2 Team South Point (2-1) – opted to make roster changes this week before the action gets underway on Friday night at the Pendleton Whisky Let ‘Er Buck Saloon at South Point Arena in Las Vegas as they look to qualify for Championship Weekend in Sioux Falls, South Dakota July 10-12.

The new rosters for the four teams are below.

Team South Point: Colby Yates (General Manager), Cody Nance (Captain), Shane Proctor, Aaron Pass* and Denton Fugate*

Team Boot Barn: J.B. Mauney (General Manager), Daylon Swearingen (Captain), Braden Richardson, J.C. Mortensen and Andrew Alvidrez*

Team Pendleton Whisky: Justin McBride (General Manager), Marco Eguchi (Captain), Lucas Divino, Amadeu Campos and Boudreaux Campbell*

Team Cat: Paulo Crimber (General Manager), Clayton Sellars (Team Captain), Alex Cerqueira*, Joao Henrique Lucas* and Manoelito de Souza Jr.*

*New rider debuting at the Monster Energy Team Challenge

Division B leader Team Ariat (3-0) and No. 4 Team Lucas Oil (1-2) made no changes.

All 27 riders set to compete this weekend have tested negative for COVID-19 as part of the PBR’s on-site testing protocols.

Team South Point is second in the Division B standings, but General Manager Yates had to make a change when Ty Wallace informed him Tuesday that he is not able to compete this weekend because of an injury to his riding elbow he sustained on Sunday.

Therefore, Yates has added Fugate to his team, after already electing to replace alternate Cody Casper with 2014 NFR qualifier Pass earlier in the week. Fugate, 25, is ninth in the PRCA standings and won the bull riding at the San Antonio Stock Show & Rodeo in February with a 90-point ride. He also posted a 93-point ride at Rodeo Houston. Pass finished tied for third two weeks ago at the Coleman, Texas, rodeo.

Team Boot Barn and Team Pendleton Whisky each made one roster move.

Boot Barn dropped Kache Moosman and added No. 29 Alvidrez, while Pendleton Whisky General Manager McBride added Campbell for Junio Patrik Souza as his team clings to the third, and final, playoff spot.

Campbell – the No. 3-ranked rider in the PRCA standings – was a member of McBride’s victorious Team USA Eagles squad this past February at the 2020 PBR Global Cup USA.

Finally, Team Cat General Manager Crimber made three roster moves this week as Cat attempts to get its first victory, dropping Ouncie Mitchell, Kyle Jones and Dakota Louis for No. 22 Cerqueira, No. 27 Lucas and No. 171 Souza.

The Monster Energy Team Challenge is a televised tournament on CBS Sports Network and CBS running from June 5-July 12. Forty-eight of the world’s top professional bull riders compete on 12 teams and in two divisions, all vying for their share of the $400,000 event purse and the title of PBR Monster Energy Team Challenge Champion.

The competition continues Friday night at 9 p.m. ET on CBS Sports Network and RidePass. On Sunday, CBS will air a Game of the Week on national television at 2 p.m. ET.

The Top 3 teams in the final Division B standings on Sunday will join the Top 3 teams from Division A – Team Cooper Tires, Team Las Vegas and Team Can-Am – in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, for Championship Weekend July 10-12.

Every game in Division B in Las Vegas will be comprised of 12 collective outs, with each team attempting six bulls. The winner of each game will be the team with the top combined aggregate score from their six outs. Should the aggregate score be a tie, the game will be recorded as such in the teams’ overall win-loss-tie record.

As part of the event payout, the PBR Monster Energy Team Challenge, which will not offer points toward the 2020 world standings, will award one rider with a $10,000 Built Ford Tough MVP bonus. This individual honor will be presented to the rider with the top aggregate score at the conclusion of the series.

© 2020 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.

Related Content