Jones Wins Round 1 of Bangor Classic

By: Easton Colvin

BANGOR, Maine – The top bovine athletes in the world dominated Round 1 of PBR’s (Professional Bull Riders) Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour (PWVT) Bangor Classic on Friday night. The toughest human athletes on Earth were no match against the 39 head of rank bucking stock trucked into the Cross Insurance Center for Round 1 of the three-day event.

After being the last fan attended event in the Cross Insurance Center prior to COVID-19, PBR’s Bangor Classic was the first event to bring fans back into the arena over 15 months later.

One of only two riders to reach the 8-second whistle in the opening round, Kyle Jones (Troy, Missouri) won the round with a 79-point ride in the PBR’s return to Bangor.

Besting Free Loader (J Bar W) for 79 points, Jones earned seven world points.

Seth White (Statesville, North Carolina) was the other rider to reach the requisite 8 seconds. Drawing Mad Muley (Lucas Manning Bucking Bulls) to start the Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour’s three-day event, White converted for 72 points and earned four world points.

On the night of bull domination, two 43.5-point bull scores were posted, one by The Undertaker (Cornwell Bucking Bulls) and later again by Kish This (Lucas Manning Bucking Bulls). The Undertaker dispatched Devon Weaver (Harrisburg, Pennsylvania) in 2.89 seconds, while Kish This tossed Charlyson Oliveira (Conselheiro Pena, Brazil) in 3.13 seconds.

Round 2 of the 2021 PBR Bangor Classic will begin at 6:45 p.m. ET tomorrow, Saturday, July 24 inside Cross Insurance Center.

Fans can watch the conclusion of the 2021 Bangor Classic Sunday at 2 p.m. ET on RidePass on Pluto TV.

Professional Bull Riders – BANGOR CLASSIC
Bangor, ME, 2021 – Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Round 4-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Kyle Jones, 79-0-0-0-79.00-7 Points.
2. Seth White, 72-0-0-0-72.00-4 Points.
Michael Lane, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Grayson Cole, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Bob Mitchell, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Carlos Garcia, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Triston Dean, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Keith Hall, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Dylan Smith, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Devon Weaver, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Alex Jenks, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Eduardo de Oliveira, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Trace Brown, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Bryan Titman, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Dalton Krantz, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Marcio Luis Lima, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Elijah Lankford, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Wesley Goncalves, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Levi Hershberger, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Eloisio Boaventura, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Tristen Marshall, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Matt Oliver, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Vinicius Rainer, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Eder Barbosa, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Warlen Aquino, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Eduardo Perez, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Joao Paulo Fernandes, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Jaron Hughes, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Jose Morales, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Ben Morales, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Cimarron Rucker, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Charlyson Oliveira, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Steven Smith, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Jay Bowen, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Dakota Brown, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Cody McCandless, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Felipe Nogueira, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Gabriel Igor, 0-0-0-0-0.00

© 2021 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.