Kyle Jones Leads After Round 1 of the Wheeling Invitational

By: Andrew Hatfield

WHEELING, W.V. – In front of a sold-out WesBanco Arena for night one of the Professional Bull Riders (PBR) Pendleton Whiskey Velocity Tour (PWVT) Wheeling Invitational, Kyle Jones (Troy, Missouri) sat tall atop Walking Tall (CO Cattle Co. / Bob Whisnant) for 85.5 points to win Round 1 Friday night.

Hot on his spurs was Justin Bates (Temple, Georgia), who danced with Bet the Red (John Brennan/ Bucking Stock Talk) for 83.5 points. Alex Marcilio (Macaubal, Brazil) rode Crossin’ the Delta Line (Dana White/ UBT/ DD) for 83 points, tying for third in Round 1 with Grayson Cole (New Ringgold, Pennsylvania), who lasted the 8 atop Whiz (TC Bucking Bulls) also for 83 points.

Rounding out the six qualified rides on Friday night were Zane Cook (Fort Gibson, Oklahoma), who rode Hammerhead (Cornwell Bucking Bulls) for 78 points, and Matt Allgood (Saline, Michigan), who hung onto Slick (Obernagel / Sho-Me Rodeo) for 77.5 points.

All six riders, along with the top 30 remaining cowboys, will return to WesBanco Arena tomorrow, Saturday, March 18, at 7 p.m., with the top 12 riders remaining after Round 2 advancing to the championship round.

PBR RidePass on Pluto TV will offer re-airs and on-demand replays of every PBR Unleash The Beast and Pendleton Whisky Velocity Tour event. PBR RidePass is available on desktops, laptops and mobile devices via Click here for on-demand PBR programming.

Wheeling, WV, 2023 – Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Kyle Jones, 85.5-0-0-85.50-28 Points.
2. Justin Bates, 83.5-0-0-83.50-18 Points.
3. Grayson Cole [2], 83-0-0-83.00-16.5 Points.
(tie). Alex Marcilio, 83-0-0-83.00-16.5 Points.
5. Zane Cook, 78-0-0-78.00-7 Points.
6. Matt Allgood, 77.5-0-0-77.50-13 Points.
Grayson Cole [1], 0-0-0-0.00
Carlos Garcia, 0-0-0-0.00
Michael Lane, 0-0-0-0.00
Dakota Eagleburger, 0-0-0-0.00
Jake Morinec, 0-0-0-0.00
Afonso Quintino, 0-0-0-0.00
Brandon Chambers, 0-0-0-0.00
Vitor Losnake, 0-0-0-0.00
Elijah Mora, 0-0-0-0.00
Guilherme Valleiras, 0-0-0-0.00
Brandon McDowell, 0-0-0-0.00
Justin Ethridge, 0-0-0-0.00
Garrett Jones, 0-0-0-0.00
Keith Hall, 0-0-0-0.00
Dylan Smith, 0-0-0-0.00
Dakota Warnken, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody McCandless, 0-0-0-0.00
Alex Cerqueira, 0-0-0-0.00
Dustin Herman, 0-0-0-0.00
Braden Richardson, 0-0-0-0.00
Patterson Starcher, 0-0-0-0.00
Bryan Titman, 0-0-0-0.00
Quentin Vaught, 0-0-0-0.00
Alex Jenks, 0-0-0-0.00
Beau Caplinger, 0-0-0-0.00
Bennie Shetler, 0-0-0-0.00
Joao Paulo Fernandes, 0-0-0-0.00
Storm Howard, 0-0-0-0.00
Cody Casper, 0-0-0-0.00
Jake Goodson, 0-0-0-0.00
Jason Landing, 0-0-0-0.00
Eder Barbosa, 0-0-0-0.00
Lane Nelson, 0-0-0-0.00
Trevor Taghon, 0-0-0-0.00

Photo courtesy of Gary Wendell Photography

© 2023 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.

Related Content