PRCA for the Record: Prescott

The Prescott, Ariz., rodeo predates Arizona becoming a state by nearly a quarter of a century. Prescott’s first official rodeo was July 4, 1888, and by 1913 the competition had moved to its current location while taking the name Prescott Frontier Days. By 1985, it had trademarked the name “World’s Oldest Rodeo.”

Today, it’s a vital part of the summer run with large payouts and some of the biggest names in ProRodeo vying for their share of Prescott’s prize money. But only the best leave their marks in the Prescott record book.

Steer roper Garrett Hale made Prescott’s record 9.9-second run in 2016 and has qualified for the Clem McSpadden National Finals Steer Roping the last two years.

Hale started the 2020 season strong by earning $4,388 for placing second in the average at the RAM Turquoise Circuit Finals Rodeo in Prescott Valley, Ariz., Oct. 5.

The 28-year-old, Texas cowboy didn’t let the COVID-19 hiatus from competition impact his winning ways. Hale earned $1,787 at Cave Creek (Ariz.) Rodeo Days, May 24, $1,740 at the Guns Up Steer Roping in Levelland, Texas, June 2 and $3,177 at the Coleman (Texas) PRCA Rodeo, June 13.

Hale is 10th in the PRCA | RAM World Standings, and a successful trip to Prescott this weekend is sure to increase the odds of Hale making his third consecutive NFSR.

ProRodeo athletes will be competing for valuable ProRodeo Tour Points in Prescott. Fans can catch the action on the PRCA on the Cowboy Channel Plus App and on The Cowboy Channel June 29 through July 5.

Rodeo records

• Total payout: $261,068, 2013
• All-around: $8,241, Ryan Jarrett, 2008
• Bareback riding: 91 points, Brian Bain, 2012
• Steer wrestling: 3.4 seconds, Tim Tierney, 1979 (7.4/2, Tim Tierney, 1979)
• Team roping: 4.1 seconds, Mark Simon/Bret Tonozzi, 2001 (10.7/2, Trevor Brazile/Michael Jones, 2005)
• Saddle bronc riding: 88 points, Cody DeMoss, 2005
• Tie-down roping: 7.8 seconds, Scott Kormos, 2002; Kyle Hughes, 2006
• Barrel racing: 16.93 seconds, Christy Loflin, 2013 (34.04/2, Christy Loflin, 2013)
• Steer roping: 9.9 seconds, Garrett Hale, 2016 (37.3/3, Bryce Davis and Mike Chase, 2017)
• Bull riding: 93 points, Cody Whitney, 2012

Courtesy of PRCA