PRCA For the Record: Prescott

By Matt Naber

The Prescott, Ariz., rodeo predates Arizona becoming a state by nearly a quarter of a century. Prescott’s first official rodeo was July 4, 1888, and by 1913 the competition moved to its current location while taking the name Prescott Frontier Days. By 1985, it trademarked the name “World’s Oldest Rodeo.”

Today it’s a vital part of the Cowboy Christmas run with large payouts and some of the biggest names in ProRodeo vying for their share of Prescott’s prize money. But only the best leave their marks in the Prescott record book.

Bareback rider Brian Bain set the Prescott record in 2012 with a 91-point ride on Harry Vold Rodeo’s Pillow Talk. The Oregon cowboy went on to make his second consecutive qualification to the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo.

The 2012 regular season was one of his best with wins at the Sisters (Ore.) Rodeo and the RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo. He also was the co-champion at California Rodeo Salinas, the Oakdale (Calif.) Saddle Club Rodeo and the Livingston (Mont.) Roundup.

Bain was a little late to the roughstock game. As a teenager, he competed in team roping but he didn’t start riding bucking horses until he was 22 years old in 2004. Three years later he started his ProRodeo rookie year and went on to win $394,827 during 10 years of competition.

Cowboys will have a shot at leaving their mark in the Prescott record book July 1-7 while collecting valuable ProRodeo Tour points.

Rodeo records

Total payout: $261,068, 2013
All-around: $8,241, Ryan Jarrett, 2008
Bareback riding: 91 points, Brian Bain, 2012
Steer wrestling: 3.4 seconds, Tim Tierney, 1979 (7.4/2, Tim Tierney, 1979)
Team roping: 4.1 seconds, Mark Simon/Bret Tonozzi, 2001 (10.7/2, Trevor Brazile/Michael Jones, 2005)
Saddle bronc riding: 88 points, Cody DeMoss, 2005
Tie-down roping: 7.8 seconds, Scott Kormos, 2002; Kyle Hughes, 2006
Barrel racing: 16.93 seconds, Christy Loflin, 2013 (34.04/2, Christy Loflin, 2013)
Steer roping: 9.9 seconds, Garrett Hale, 2016 (37.3/3, Bryce Davis and Mike Chase, 2017)
Bull riding: 93 points, Cody Whitney, 2012

Courtesy of PRCA