Stephenson Takes Victory at Binford PBR

By: Justin Felisko

PUEBLO, Colo. – River Stephenson went a perfect 2-for-2 to claim his first event win of the season this past Saturday at the Binford PBR Touring Pro Division event.

Stephenson was the only rider to cover both of his bulls at the annual summer event at the Binford Rodeo Ground Grounds as his 89-point ride on Acting Crazy in the championship round eventually propelled him to victory.

Stephenson needed a qualified ride aboard Acting Crazy after he entered the final round of competition sitting in fourth-place following his 85-point ride on Humberto in Round 1.

Andrew Alvidrez won Round 1 with his 89-point ride on Eagle Eye, but he was unable to reach the 8 seconds on South Texas Gangster (3.69 seconds) in the championship round. Meanwhile, Rookie of the Year contender Chase Dougherty (5.03 seconds on Cold Shot) could not build off his 88-point ride on Dusty’s Revenge and Cody Jesus (6.52 seconds on Red Moon) was unable to add a second qualified ride after converting on Big Horn for 88 points in Round 1.

Dougherty and Jesus each earned 5.5 world points, and Dougherty has inched to within 84.5 points of Rookie of the Year leader Colten Fritzlan.

There were five qualified rides in Binford.

Stephenson earned 15 points toward the world standings, his first world points of 2021, to jump to No. 83 in the rankings.

The 24-year-old is 4-for-16 at nine non-premier series events. Stephenson is next slated to compete at the Allegros PBR in Paris (Tennessee) by Cody Nance on Friday and Saturday.

The Blackfoot, Idaho, native last won an event last September at the 2nd annual Dickinson PBR in Dickinson, North Dakota.

Professional Bull Riders – Binford PBR
Binford, ND, 2021 – Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. River Stephenson, 85-89-174.00-15 Points.
2. Andrew Alvidrez, 89-0-89.00-8 Points.
3. Chase Dougherty, 88-0-88.00-5.5 Points.
(tie). Cody Jesus, 88-0-88.00-5.5 Points.
Silvano Alves, 0-0-0.00
Matt Triplett, 0-0-0.00
Stetson Lawrence, 0-0-0.00
Thor Hoefer II [1], 0-0-0.00
Thor Hoefer II [2], 0-0-0.00
Jake Gardner, 0-0-0.00
D.J. Parker, 0-0-0.00
Gage Gay, 0-0-0.00
Dalton Krantz, 0-0-0.00
Weston Hartman [1], 0-0-0.00
Weston Hartman [2], 0-0-0.00
Cory Price, 0-0-0.00
Wyatt Austin, 0-0-0.00
Morgan Rising, 0-0-0.00
Ethan Jensen, 0-0-0.00
Levi Schmucker [1], 0-0-0.00
Levi Schmucker [2], 0-0-0.00
Jay Bowen, 0-0-0.00
Ty Timmons, 0-0-0.00
Nate Hoey, 0-0-0.00
Lavon Wikey [1], 0-0-0.00
Lavon Wikey [2], 0-0-0.00
Hazen Casperson [1], 0-0-0.00
Hazen Casperson [2], 0-0-0.00
Mason Moody, 0-0-0.00
Lath Kisling, 0-0-0.00
Carson Kiefer, 0-0-0.00
Storm Howard [1], 0-0-0.00
Storm Howard [2], 0-0-0.00

© 2021 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.

Related Content