Talon Roseland Advances to Rodeo Austin Finals with Top Run

AUSTIN, Texas – Talon Roseland is no stranger to the ProRodeo ranks. He’s been competing in the PRCA for seven years. Throughout those seven seasons the Marshalltown, Iowa, cowboy has experienced plenty of ups and downs.

He may have had his biggest and brightest moment Friday night at Rodeo Austin. Roseland had a blistering 3.4-second run to win his semifinal grouping. In the process, he also clocked the fastest steer wrestling time of the 2022 PRCA season.

“I have a really good horse underneath me right now,” said Roseland, 26. “I bought him last fall in October, and he’s been good to me ever since.

“It’s also a big plus that I had Marc Joiner hazing for me. I travel with him and live with him. So, we spend a lot of time practicing together. Everything is just working out to where I feel very comfortable with him on that side, and it’s just been really good lately.”

The $5,640 payday in the playoff round for Roseland bumped his total up to $8,777 for the week. He’ll have an opportunity to add to that and then some Saturday night in the finals of the NFR Playoff Series rodeo presented by Pendleton Whisky.

He said in a format where one run decides the winner, he’s not leaving anything on the table. It’ll be all of nothing for the 26-year-old when he backs into the box.

“I’m just going to go at it the same way, I’m not going to hold back one bit,” he said. “It’s not an average, who ever is the fastest tomorrow night wins Austin and a big check.

“I ain’t backing in the box tomorrow for my health, I’m doing it to pay my bills. It doesn’t pay to get fifth. It pays to get first and I have my sights set on that.”

You can follow the action live on The Cowboy Channel broadcast or stream it online on the PRCA on The Cowboy Channel Plus App at 8 p.m. (ET).

Below, is the list of qualifiers for Saturday night’s final round at Rodeo Austin.

Bareback Riding
Tilden Hooper
Cole Franks
Lawrence Cooke
Kody Lamb
Clint Laye
Gauge McBride
Clayton Biglow
Caleb Bennett

Steer Wrestling
Sterling Walton
Tim Sparing
Laramie Warren
Eli Lord
Taz Olson
Sam Goings
Jason Thomas
Talon Roseland

Team Roping
Jake Clay/Billie Jack Saebens
Nick Sartain/Reagan Ward
Paul Tierney/Tanner Braden
Quisto Lopez/Cody Thornton
Kaleb Driggers/Junior Nogueira
Garrett Rogers/Justin Davis
Colby Lovell/Paul Eaves
Tanner Tomlinson/Patrick Smith

Saddle Bronc Riding
Zeke Thurston
Spencer Wright
Mitch Pollock
Isaac Diaz
Leon Fountain
Lefty Holman
Tegan Smith
Stetson Wright

Tie-down Roping
Ryle Smith
John Douch
Quade Hiatt
Lane Livingston
Jake Pratt
Shane Hanchey
Caleb Smidt
Shad Mayfield

Bull Riding
Garrett Smith
Roscoe Jarboe
Clayton Savage
Cullen Telfer
Maverick Potter
Parker Breding
Sage Kimzey
Stetson Wright

Courtesy of PRCA

Related Content