Thrice as Nice: Foltyn Wins Third Reno Xtreme Bulls Title

RENO, Nev.(June 19, 2015) — Clayton Foltyn isn’t sure if any magic is involved, but there is something about the Reno Xtreme Bulls that fits him well.

The El Campo, Texas cowboy won his third Reno Xtreme Bulls title and did it in as dominating of a fashion as possible, posting the high score in both the first round and the finals and collecting $16,945 in the process.

“I don’t know if it’s magic, but I sure love riding here,” said Foltyn, who also won the Reno title in 2008 and 2010. “It was badly needed.”

Foltyn started the night in front of a sold out crowd of 8,200 at the Reno Rodeo Arena with an 86-point ride on the Rosser Rodeo Co., bull Jeepers Creepers. It put him a point and a half ahead of Brett Stall, who rode Superior Pro Rodeo’s bull Blowing Smoke for 84.5 points.

In the championship round, Foltyn was the final rider to go, and rode Growney Brothers Rodeo Company’s bull Snapshot for 84 points to seal the victory.

“That was just a good little bull,” he said. “He came out nice and then he kind of threw some stuff at me at the end but I was able to hang on and it worked out.”

Ty Wallace of Collbran, Colo., finished second overall, riding Flying U Rodeo Co.’s Houla Hoop for 83 points in the championship round after posting an 82 in the first round. He won $10,252 on the night.

Caleb Sanderson of Halletsville, Texas finished third overall, collecting $7,024 on the evening.


First round: 1, Clayton Foltyn, 86 points on Rosser Rodeo Company’s Jeepers Creepers, $4,272; 2, Brett Stall, Detroit Lakes, Minn., 84.5, $3,275; 3, Ty Wallace, Collbran, Colo., 82, 2,423; 4, Caleb Sanderson, Halletsville, Texas, 79, $1,556; 5. Dylan Vick, Escalon, Calif., 78.5, $996.

Second round: 1, Foltyn, 84 points on Growney Brothers Rodeo Company’s Snapshot, $3,227; 2, Wallace, 83, $2,373; 3,4 Sage Steele Kimzey, Strong City, Okla., 82, $1,424; Sanderson 82, $1,424; Vick 74, $664.

Overall: 1, Foltyn, 170 points, $7,120; 2, Wallace, 165.5, $5,459; 3, Sanderson, 161, $4,034; 4, Vick, 152, $2,610; Kimzey, 148, $1,661.

Reno Xtreme Bulls Champions

2015 — Clayton Foltyn, El Campo, Texas

2014 — Reid Barker, Comfort, Texas

2013 — Tyler Smith, Fruita, Colo.

2012 — J.W. Harris, Mullin, Texas

2011 — J.W. Harris, Mullin, Texas

2010 — Clayton Foltyn, El Campo, Texas

2009 — Colin McTaggart, Las Vegas

2008 — Clayton Foltyn, El Campo, Texas

2007 — Wesley Silcox, Santaquin, Utah

2006 — J.W. Harris, Mullin, Texas

2005 — Wesley Silcox, Santaquin, Utah

2004 — Matt Austin, Wills Point, Texas

2003 — Jason McClain, Lewis, Colo.