2023 Nutrena Horse of the Year Presented by AQHA Announced

By: Tracy Renck

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Success in the sport of rodeo doesn’t fall on just the cowboys and cowgirls. Their horses play just as big of factor when they step foot in the arena. The Nutrena Horse of the Year presented by AQHA awards provide recognition to ProRodeo’s top horses. The 2023 Nutrena Horse of the Year presented by AQHA awards were unveiled Oct. 11. The top three horses in each category are listed below.

Team Roping Header

Mr Joes Shadow Bar, “Joe,” ridden by Clint Summers – owned by Clint Summers
(Tie) Espuela Bro, “Spur,” ridden by Tyler Wade – owned by Tyler and Jessi Wade
LR Gatlin, “Colt,” ridden by Nelson Wyatt – owned by Nelson Wyatt

Team Roping Heeler

Kadabra King, “Turbo,” ridden by Patrick Smith – owned by Patrick and Christi Smith
Two Socks Chic Cody, “Garfield,” ridden by Hunter Koch – owned by Hunter Koch
(Tie) Apolo Oak, “Apollo,” ridden by Paul Eaves – owned by Paul Eaves
TRR Freckles Holidoc, “Cantina,” ridden by Logan Medlin – owned by Logan Medlin

Steer Roping

Son of a Glow, “Junior,” ridden by Slade Wood – owned by Slade Wood
JS Frosty Badge Badger, “Goose,” ridden by Scott Snedecor – owned by Scott Snedecor
Mesquitewood, “San Antone,” ridden by Cody Lee – owned by Cody Lee

Steer Wrestling

EDS Famous Bar, “Eddie,” ridden by Dalton Massey, Tanner Milan, Stephen Culling, Ryan Shuckburgh, Curtis Cassidy, Mike McGinn, J.D. Struxness – owned by Tanner Milan
Dashin Haze, “Tyson,” ridden by Jesse Brown, Dakota Eldridge, Kyle Irwin, Curtis Cassidy – owned by Curtis Cassidy
Be Dun By Three, “Benz,” ridden by Clayton Hass, Ty Erickson, Will Lummus – owned by Clayton Hass

Tie-Down Roping

Stylish Bugsy, “Bugsy,” ridden by Shane Hanchey, Caleb Smidt, and Hunter Herrin – owned by Shane Hanchey
Chuchara Sal, “Sally,” ridden by Ty Harris, Joel Braden Harris – owned by Ty Harris
Seven S Tomahawk, “Smoke,” ridden by Haven Meged – owned by Haven Meged

Barrel Racing

Fame Fire Rocks, “Poprocks,” ridden by Taycie Matthews – owned by Mission Ranch LLC
Jets Top Gun, “Benny,” ridden by Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi – owned by Busby Quarter Horses
Fiery Miss West, “Missy,” ridden by Jessica Routier – owned by Gary A. Westergren

Breakaway Roping

No Wimpy Turns, “Onna,” ridden by Shelby Boisjoli – owned by Shelby Boisjoli
Kits Tiana Play, “Little Man,” ridden by Kelsie Domer – owned by Kelsie Domer
Baybe Bullet, “Baybe,” ridden by Joey Williams – owned by Taylor and Joey Williams

Pickup Man

Baby Hes Hot, “Baby,” ridden by Tyler Kraft – owned by Tyler Kraft
Buckle Set, “Wiggles,” ridden by Josh Edwards – owned by Josh Edwards
DriftersDocsClay, “Bay,” ridden by Tommy Pettit – owned by Tommy Pettit

Courtesy of PRCA.

Related Content