Barbosa Wins Round 2 in Chicago

By: Heather Croze
January 14, 2017

Rubens Barbosa opened Saturday night with an 88.75-point ride on Machinery Auctioneer’s Little Joe. Photo: Andy Watson /

CHICAGO – On the second day of the PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Chicago Invitational the night belonged to seven-year veteran, Rubens Barbosa (Uberlandia, Brazil) who claimed the victory in Round 2 Saturday night at Allstate Arena.

Barbosa opened the night with an 88.75-point ride on Machinery Auctioneer’s Little Joe (Rocking I Rodeo Co.) to set the pace for the rest of the riders and never looked back. It was the second bull Barbosa has ridden this weekend and leaves him in third place in the event heading into Championship Sunday.

Barbosa picked up 100 points toward the world standings with the finish.

Countryman Alex Cardozo (Indaiatuba, Brazil) finished in second place Saturday night after his 87-point ride on Ram It (K-C Bucking Bulls). Cardozo has also gone 2-for-2 this weekend in Chicago and leads the event going into Championship Sunday.

Including his performance earlier in the week at the Real Time Pain Relief Velocity Tour event in Denver, Cardozo has ridden four of the last five bulls he has seen this week. He picked up 60 points toward the world standings Saturday night.

Australian Cody Heffernan (Singleton) came in third place in the round. He covered Cracker Jack (Rocking I Rodeo Co.) for 85.75 points and earned 50 points toward the world standings with the finish.

Brady Sims (Holt, Missouri) continued making the most of his trip to Illinois when he rode Bad Moon Rising (Dakota Rodeo/Berger/Struve/Heald) for 85.5 points to finish in fourth place in Round 2. Sims picked up 40 points toward the world standings and has also gone 2-for-2 so far on the weekend. He heads into Sunday’s Round 3 second in the event standings.

Matt Triplett (Columbia Falls, Montana) and Mason Lowe (Exeter, Missouri) rounded out the Top 5 after both turning in 85.25-point rides. Triplett covered Lip Trick (Rocking I Rodeo Co.) while Lowe reached 8 seconds WSM Auctioneer’s Dew Rag Dan (Rocking I Rodeo Co.). The pair earned 22.5 points toward the world standings apiece.

The Top 35 bull riders in the world will go at it one more time in Chicago for Round 3 of the Chicago Invitational Sunday afternoon. Each riders will face one more bull before the Top 15 moved on to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round for one more ride where a winner will be crowned.

The action begins on PBR LIVE at 2:15 p.m. ET.

PBR Digital Editor Kristian Limas contributed to this report.

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
Chicago Invitational
Allstate Arena, Chicago, Illinois, 2017
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Round 4-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Rubens Barbosa, 82.25-88.75-0-0-171.00-100 Points.
2. Brady Sims, 85.75-85.5-0-0-171.25-85 Points.
3. Alex Cardozo, 85.25-87-0-0-172.25-82.5 Points.
4. Kaique Pacheco, 86.25-79.75-0-0-166.00-80 Points.
(tie). Gage Gay, 86.25-0-0-0-86.25-80 Points.
6. Cody Heffernan, 0-85.75-0-0-85.75-50 Points.
7. Mike Lee, 85.75-0-0-0-85.75-45 Points.
8. Matt Triplett, 0-85.25-0-0-85.25-22.5 Points.
(tie). Mason Lowe, 0-85.25-0-0-85.25-22.5 Points.
(tie). Nathan Schaper, 85.25-0-0-0-85.25-22.5 Points.
11. Ryan Dirteater, 85-0-0-0-85.00-5 Points.
(tie). Silvano Alves, 0-84.5-0-0-84.50-5 Points.
13. Justin Paton, 82.75-84-0-0-166.75
14. Marco Antonio Eguchi, 84-68.75-0-0-152.75
15. Stormy Wing, 84.5-0-0-0-84.50
16. Derek Kolbaba, 0-84.25-0-0-84.25
17. Paulo Ferreira Lima, 0-83.5-0-0-83.50
(tie). Shane Proctor, 0-83.5-0-0-83.50
(tie). Keyshawn Whitehorse, 83.5-0-0-0-83.50
(tie). Stetson Lawrence, 0-83.5-0-0-83.50
21. Jess Lockwood, 83-0-0-0-83.00
22. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-82.25-0-0-82.25
23. Fabiano Vieira, 82-0-0-0-82.00
(tie). Guilherme Marchi, 82-0-0-0-82.00
Reese Cates, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Eduardo Aparecido, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Kurt Shephard, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Cooper Davis, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Cody Nance, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Nevada Newman, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Dener Barbosa, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Brant Atwood, 0-0-0-0-0.00
J.W. Harris, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Robson Aragao, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Luis Blanco, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Tyler Harr, 0-0-0-0-0.00

© 2017 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.